We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Little Hotel”
Review of Vila Vicencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vila Vicencia
Ranked #3 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was a lovely little hotel in the tourist area of Funchal, about 30 mins walk from the centre of Funchal. We booked this as a small and friendly hotel and it really was pretty. The gardens and pool area are well maintained and very relaxing. When we arrived the room we were given was very small and had no balcony or terrace so we asked to be changed and although we had to pay the additional cost it was well worth it as the balcony we had extended our room and gave us the outside space we wanted. The room next door to us was quite noisy and we were distrurbed most nights but this was not the hotel's fault.
The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms were cleaned daily.
The breakfast was adequate, plenty of choice for those wanting continental eg cheese, hams, rolls, yoghurts, fruit and the homemade cake is lovely.
Next door to the hotel is a beautiful restaurant that has lovely gardens that are lit up at night and the food was very good.
I would recommend this little hotel to couples wanting to relax in pretty surroundings but be able to access Funchal easily.
Whilst there we used Happy Tours to book an Eastern Island tour and a Levada walk and I would also say they provided very good service and did exactly what they said they would. They were located at the little shopping centre just round the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade - a couple we met, that were on honeymoon, did and they had the suite at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrychez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived in a torrential rainstorm after 2 days of delay on Porto Santo and what a welcome. Once through the gate the hotel was a calm oasis. Many have said how nice the hotel is and we can only concur with them. Quiet garden, plenty of places to sit, a beautiful conservatory, a clean and spacious room in the old house, friendly staff and excellent service. Location wise it's a short walk in Funchal and there are many restaurant and patisseries nearby. This was a great taster holiday albeit a city-break after the delays. We'll be back!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartinWW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As weprrefer a more individual holidy experience this lovely little place was perfect. The rooms were well appointed and spacious, the breakfast selection was just right, and the hotel is ideally placed for the Lido and even the Old Town with plenty of options for eating out, and the litte Spar shop on the corner has anexcellent selection of cured meats, cheese and other snacks for a picnic lunch by the pool in the lovely gardens. with good quality wooden furniture not plastic tat! We were here for a week and it is such a perfect place for a winter retreat we booked to come for 2 weeks next Feb before we had even left!

Room Tip: a balcony or patio is definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from our mini-holiday in Funchal where we stayed in Vila Vicencia. The reason to chose this hotel was that they promise wifi coverage and indeed they have full coverage everywhere - not only at the reception area but in the rooms and at the pool.

The staff was very kind and friendly, we traveled with our 5 months old son and the hotel made our stay extremely convenient even with a baby. We got a 2 rooms apartment so when the baby slept we shouldn't have to walk on egg shelves - and we also received a travel cot where the baby had a good night sleep. When the weather turned a bit cold - cold enough for our son - we got a mobile heater as well.

We also liked the breakfast which was in a cozy restaurant near the reception. The menu was every day different and enough for a good day start. The pool area was always clean and you get your privacy while sunbathing.

We spent most of our other meals in the restaurant nearby where our baby monitor still sent a signal and I can warmly recommend that place as well. Excellent food for excellent price and nice staff!

About the location: good location, the sightseeing bus is just a minute away and the ocean is a 5 minutes walk - but be careful a bit hilly backwards. Wonderful garden and place to sit if your mobility is slightly different with a baby.

All in all with our without a child I can recommend this hotel and once we return to Funchal we definitely stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

just back from this lovely little b&b just enter the green door in the side of the wall and you are in the perfect place 3 old villas with small garden and pool in the middle we had a great room (no 3) that had a patio in the garden and just by the pool we had the sun on the room just about all day so was nice to sit out at any time breakfast was in the lovely sun room in the main villa and was continental style with a couple of cooked items each day but every day was a fresh baked cake yummy apple,coconut,pineapple etc plus the usual flakes, toast.,yogs. Room and all public places very clean staff all pleasant would go back any time.

Room Tip: if u like a patio not a balcony room 2,3,4 all in the garden by the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We came here after listening to our friends rave about it. It's our first visit to Madeira (same friends, same raving!) and we couldn't be more pleased. This little hotel is tucked away behind gates in a little side street but once inside it's an oasis : ) We are in room 45 and it has a modest but perfectly adequate balcony overlooking the garden and towards the sea. The room itself is a delight. Breakfast is perfect for us in that the choice is good and you have the option of eating inside or in the garden. The staff are all lovely and SO helpful. Wifi is very strong and the laundry service is efficient. We've hired a car to explore the island and we worried that the absence of a hotel car park would make life a little difficult. No worries there.......the car hire outfit is right opposite the hotel and they allow us to park in their underground car par........result! All in all I have to say that we are having a wonderful holiday in Madeira and this hotel is playing a big part in making it that way. We would love to return : )

Room Tip: Try to get first floor rather than ground floor and ask for a garden or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in.The staff were helpful,away from the crowds, peaceful,great choice at breakfast & also will make you a packed lunch for a days walking. plenty of choice for evening meals within walking.

Room Tip: garden rooms handy for pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,033 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.9 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 88 in Funchal
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Vicencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Vicencia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 45, Funchal, Madeira 9000-113, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Vicencia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Vicencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Vicencia Hotel Funchal
Vila Vicencia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing