We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Vicencia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vila Vicencia
Ranked #4 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tranquil Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited in May 2014 and enjoyed our stay immensely. Vila Vicencia is well located in the tourist area just west of Funchal centre. It is well run by really helpful friendly staff, daily room servicing is to a high standard and our room was immaculate with plenty of towels and good quality bedding. The spacious bathroom was well equipped and had a hairdryer.

Breakfast consisted of a choice of hot food, usually bacon or sausage, eggs were either boiled, scrambled or fried. There were plenty of yoghurt's, cold meats and cheeses available and a nice selection of bread. Yes, the cake was pretty good too!

It was pleasant to come back after a busy day and unlock the gate leading to the immaculate gardens surrounding the rooms which are located in three separate buildings within the grounds.

The was plenty of good quality garden furniture situated near the pool area and it was nice to be able to take a dip in the pool to cool down on the many warm days of our two week holiday.

We hired a car from Express Holiday Packages at the nearby Eden Mar Shopping complex, just down the hill from where the open top tour buses stand.

We tried both the red bus and the yellow open top bus tours and preferred the red buses.

Our favourite restaurant was O Dragoeiro, immediately next door to Vila Vicencia where they served lovely food and made us very welcome. We also enjoyed the nearby Nagoya Japanese restaurant where for 15.90 euros you could just keep ordering from the extensive menu, which included sushi. The Boutique Pastelaria Padaria is a small bakery and coffee shop nearby that makes nice sandwiches and has a massive selection of cakes on offer.

We hope to re-visit the island and when we do we will have no hesitation in returning to the calm and tranquillity of Vila Vicencia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Northern-traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    88
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
210
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We enjoyed a nice week in this B&B. The room was fine, clean, fairly large and with a balcony overlooking the gardens. The room was cleaned daily, sheets changed twice weekly but clean pillowslips every day and you could also have clean towels as often as you wanted. The pool and gardens were beautiful and a pleasure to sit in. Breakfast was adequate with a good choice of breads, meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt and cereal additionally each day was some hot choices of bacon eggs etc and plenty of coffee on tap. The staff were pleasant and eager to please. A nice touch was an honesty bar for poolside beers and tea/coffee and some snacks were available all day on request. There was also a kettle and mugs in the room and the local supermarkets provided tea bags and coffee of our choice. The only downside was the lack of hot water which seemed to be only available early morning and around 7 in the evening and soon ran out. We did ask about this but got an unsatisfactory reply about the 'new hot water system' We wouldn't have minded about this if they'd been up front about it.
The hotel is situated just off main coast road and there are many restaurants and cafes nearby. Getting about was easy, There is a good local bus system, we didn't try preferring to use the local taxis which are cheap and all metered. We only had one bad experience when one driver failed to put on the meter and then asked for 8 euro's for a ride into Funchal centre. We firmly told him we were only prepared to pay 6 (the usual fair) and that we were aware that he was breaking local regulations by not turning on the meter ( we had not noticed until almost there) He accepted 6 Euro with out further comment. All other drivers were great, including the one who took us to the Botanical gardens at a previously agreed price and couldn't do enough for us.

Next door to Vila Vicencia is a super little restaurant O Dragoeiro which is also in a garden and served excellent food. So good we ate there 3 times during the week.

The other guests were mostly of a similar age and consisted of couples and groups of friends and were all respectful of each others privacy and peace. The beds were hard and we were expecting to be bent over after the first night but we ended up sleeping well.

Room Tip: we had a twin with balcony overlooking the garden in a small block adjacent to the main reception/ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoubleDee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked with thomsons and expected a better standard of room than what we received. It had to be the worst in the complex( several room blocks). It was no 18 which was the first part / room that you came to upon entering the gates, right in entrance, above reception / kitchen. It was quite small with no balcony , view and was noisey at times. You couldn't have the windows open as there was no privacy from other quests walking past and being able to see and hear from the room. A kettle is provided but with no tea or coffee.
Thank god the usual standard of clientele were not late night revellers.
The breakfasts were poor, very little choice and not a lot.
They were only bad points.... The hotel itself is quaint, very clean and nice staff.
Near to restaurants and bus services.

Room Tip: Find out exactly what type of room you are getting, ours said " standard" but we seemed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3jays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this B&B as huge resorts aren't my cup of tea, and I knew I would be eating out every evening so this in many ways was the perfect choice. We booked through Thomson and on our paperwork we had booked a 'twin room with balcony and garden view' however, when we arrived what we received was more of an apartment style room with a double bed and seperate, rather spacious lounge area. Although we appreciated having a larger space and not having to squish two beds together as I was envisioning, we neither got a balcony ( which my partner was looking forward to) or a garden view. In fact our views were of a wire fence and alley way to one side and a wall the other. We didn't mind this too much, we weren't planning on spending our entire holiday sitting on a balcony or staring out a window - but the thing that did bother us was the bed. Never have a encountered a more uncomfortable bed, it was rock solid and led to us getting approximately 5 hours sleep a night, we actually think we would have been better camping out on one of the sun loungers all night.

However, negatives aside, the breakfast was good (the cakes are especially yummy) and if you're planning an excursion just ask and you can take some bits for a packed lunch. The pool is an adequate size and they have a decent amount of sun loungers. It's also relatively close to the centre of Funchal, and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharSuiBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was a lovely little hotel in the tourist area of Funchal, about 30 mins walk from the centre of Funchal. We booked this as a small and friendly hotel and it really was pretty. The gardens and pool area are well maintained and very relaxing. When we arrived the room we were given was very small and had no balcony or terrace so we asked to be changed and although we had to pay the additional cost it was well worth it as the balcony we had extended our room and gave us the outside space we wanted. The room next door to us was quite noisy and we were distrurbed most nights but this was not the hotel's fault.
The hotel was exceptionally clean and the rooms were cleaned daily.
The breakfast was adequate, plenty of choice for those wanting continental eg cheese, hams, rolls, yoghurts, fruit and the homemade cake is lovely.
Next door to the hotel is a beautiful restaurant that has lovely gardens that are lit up at night and the food was very good.
I would recommend this little hotel to couples wanting to relax in pretty surroundings but be able to access Funchal easily.
Whilst there we used Happy Tours to book an Eastern Island tour and a Levada walk and I would also say they provided very good service and did exactly what they said they would. They were located at the little shopping centre just round the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade - a couple we met, that were on honeymoon, did and they had the suite at the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrychez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived in a torrential rainstorm after 2 days of delay on Porto Santo and what a welcome. Once through the gate the hotel was a calm oasis. Many have said how nice the hotel is and we can only concur with them. Quiet garden, plenty of places to sit, a beautiful conservatory, a clean and spacious room in the old house, friendly staff and excellent service. Location wise it's a short walk in Funchal and there are many restaurant and patisseries nearby. This was a great taster holiday albeit a city-break after the delays. We'll be back!

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinWW1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tewkesbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

As weprrefer a more individual holidy experience this lovely little place was perfect. The rooms were well appointed and spacious, the breakfast selection was just right, and the hotel is ideally placed for the Lido and even the Old Town with plenty of options for eating out, and the litte Spar shop on the corner has anexcellent selection of cured meats, cheese and other snacks for a picnic lunch by the pool in the lovely gardens. with good quality wooden furniture not plastic tat! We were here for a week and it is such a perfect place for a winter retreat we booked to come for 2 weeks next Feb before we had even left!

Room Tip: a balcony or patio is definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker_bell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Vicencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Vicencia

Property: Vila Vicencia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 45, Funchal, Madeira 9000-113, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Vicencia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Vila Vicencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Vicencia Hotel Funchal
Vila Vicencia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing