We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, stunning service and heavenly garden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, stunning service and heavenly garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We recently held our wedding reception here and the whole experience was magical. From the beautiful hotel and gardens to the amazing food and wonderful helpful staff, our day was truly unforgettable!
We really can't rate this hotel highly enough and would recommend this to anyone wishing to experience something special.

We would just like to say a special thanks to Anabela whose friendliness and professionalism was invaluable through this amazing experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrandMrsSinclair0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    115
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
133
878
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Just returned from a week's stay at the Jardins do Lago.
The hotel was all we could wish for, a large bedroom with excellent bathroom and a large balcony overlooking the garden and the hills of Funchal in the background. All the public rooms were very comfortable and smart. There is a very pleasant restaurant with excellent food, and a separate breakfast room with indoor and outdoor seating.
The pool area with adjacent restaurant and the gardens are all beautifully kept.
A word about the staff, they were extremely pleasant and helpful
This is a hotel we will definitely return to and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barnow14l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Lovely quiet hotel in beautiful garden grounds. Comfortable accommodation, well maintained and serviced. Spoilt for choice breakfast buffet served in wonderfully relaxing surroundings. 5 course dinners each evening as part of half-board arrangements were of a high standard and variety with never repeated dishes all week. Staff, without exception, were attentive, friendly, knowlegable and professional, everyone made us feel very welcome. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonaldLeitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Spent 5 nights in Funchal is this magnificent hotel.
Situated in a quiet neighborhood. The only nitceable sounds were that of the birds in the evening and in the morning. Paradise!
The room was spacious and finely decorated. The garden around the estate was a match to the Funchal botanical garden.
The swimming pool and spa was immaculatedly clean and maintained. The staff friendly and most helpful.
Free internet access from the lower lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alex-gad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

This is a lovely hotel based around an old colonial house and set in beautiful gardens with great views over Funchal and the sea beyond - it really is idyllic. The food is excellent whilst not being brilliant but with a splendid breakfast sitting in the gardens. The service is outstanding, friendly and helpful without being unctuous. It's difficult to find anything significant to criticise - maybe the menu for the lunch restaurant beside the pool could be more imaginative with a dish of the day, and it's a pity the courtesy bus into Funchal does not run in the evening or at weekends, but these are trivial matters. We certainly will return

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinpellew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

First class Madeira hotel with great gardens and strong service. Bedrooms well appointed and spacious; a problem with the air conditioning fixed in 24 hours and fans provided in the interim. Excellent gardens and pool area with bar selling well priced lunches. Very strong service on reception, let down only by slightly rushed breakfast and dinner staff who were at times on the verge of 'aloof' but never to the point of it spoiling what is a very well presented, quiet (ideal for couples) hotel. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_A_274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This was our second visit. We decided to return after spending our 30th wedding anniversary there two years ago. We had a basic room then which was on the ground floor and had a side outlook. We decided to upgrade this time to a junior suite - wow! This was a real treat for us. The junior suites are in the oldest part of the building and are very elegant (as are all the rooms). This suite (but not them all) had a side balcony and a private roof top one which gave outstanding views. I reckon this was probably the best room in the whole hotel. If you have high expectations you will certainly not be disappointed here. The hotel helped us after Thomas Cook made a real mess of our booking, and as well as replying to my e mail promptly also phoned to discuss my situation - now that's service for you. Overall service is good, meals are delicious, staff are friendly and always polite and helpful. The garden is lovely, pool is always clean and tidy and there is a gym as well as a tennis court. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstysum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing