We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quinta Jardins do Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

A very nice place to stay in Funchal with not so many rooms, so that you immediately feel well and home like. There is a lush garden with a nice pool. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the service is friendly and efficient. The food is good. Our young children liked it very much as well. Prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NovaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    115
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
133
883
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have stayed twice at Jardins do Lago and have come back having loved it even more the second time than the first. The service is excellent; the staff are so friendly and helpful without intruding on your time at all. The standard of the hotel is exceptional. The gardens are beautiful. The hotel has such an atmosphere of calm. The food is delicious. We really can't rate this place highly enough and we are certain that we will visit again.

Room Tip: The view from the top floor is beautiful - all rooms offer excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tividale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We are going back for the forth time in September and cannot wait. lovely Quinta and beautiful gardens. Staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Do not hesitate to stay at Quinta Jardins do Lago. This is not an ordinary hotel; it is a paradise and has all the amenities that you would want. As we traveled from the USA we researched the island and hotels. It is a quaint location and near Funchal yet not in the heart of the city. The hotel is beautiful, clean (spotless), the gardens are spectacular, the hotel staff is so pleasant and personable, the pool is fabulous, the food delicious and the island is magnificent. Our room was upgraded to the Presidential Suite, and it was beyond words. Words can not express how impressed we were with the hotel and all it had to offer. The hotel photos are true to life , it was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Our balcony overlooked the breakfast area of the hotel and we could see the ocean, city, stars, moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen_RayRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

many 5 star hotels are grossly over rated, this was pure 5 star plus from beginning to end. great accommodation, superb food and outstanding service. made our honeymoon a memorable experience.

Room Tip: room 309 had lovely views and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

What a last minute decision was became a wonderful week of relaxing, enjoying the food & drinks and lovely staff, not to forget the beauty of the hotel and island in general. The gardens are beautiful set with in the middle hidden from the hotel the peaceful swimming pool with jacuzzi and pool bar with excellent food (so does the restaurant). We enjoyed our breakfasts every morning on the terrace. Special thanks to all the staff, who are hardworking and keep smiling and very helpful. The rooms are spacious, we enjoyed even a suite, so had a nice view on the gardens. The beds are big although a bid to hard for us. Easy to reach the city centre, although for your way back you might prefer a cab. We rented a car which is handy to explore the rest of the island (worthwhile!) For sure we will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICELY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is an oasis of calm and tranquility in the bustle of Funchal. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind: stroll through the tropical gardens, enjoy a cocktail or two, or swim in the outside pool. If you can drag yourself away from all this activity, Funchal centre is a 20 minutes downhill walk, but definitely a taxi back (€4 - €5).
The Beresford restaurant is one of the best on the island, where a three course a la carte meal with wine will set you back €90 for two, but very good quality.
The staff are excellent: friendly, helpful and professional.
I cannot praise this hotel enough. It will be our hotel of choice for future breaks.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra as they have a private balcony overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandSStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Holiday Gems so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing