We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We chose Quinta Jardins do Lago because of its rating at TripAdvisor. Our room was large with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and the hills of the city. The gardens are really one of the highlights of the hotel. They are extremely well kept and offer a big variety of plants and flowers. The service staff was always friendly and helpful, however the breakfast guys (not the lady) sometimes chatted a bit too much with each other. Internet access was a problem during the first days but reception staff never got tired to try and after the third day it worked properly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GTraveler1791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    127
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
146
962
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ormskirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

For anyone seeking peace and tranquillity with a friendly but very proffesional service with food which bears comparison to the highest standards, this hotel will rise to your expectations.It is a hotel I would have no hesition in recommending to the most discerning of clientele.

Room Tip: Select a room with a garden view on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We chose Madeira and Quinta Jardins do Lago on a whim in the hope of a bit of respite before the Christmas frenzy. We couldn't have done better. The island is a real discovery: unpretentious, dramatic (the volcanic landscape is extraordinary - much more to return to); but our best hit was this hotel. It was a real pleasure to return to Jardins do Lago after each brief foray further afield. The gardens are beautiful. The view of the city from the balcony was stunning: it spills down the hillside; at night-time, lit up with strings of lights criss-crossing the hillside which slants down into the sea. Our kids (2 & 4) loved the children's supper (served in style), feeding the fish, Columbo the tortoise, Ruby (who looked after them for an afternoon in the children's wonderfully equipped Den), the gardens and the pool. The food in the hotel was the best on the island; the staff went out of their way to be friendly without ever being invasive. You are really well looked after. Simply being there is relaxing. Would recommend looking at the video link on hotel website to take a look around: it's really like that!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have great views. They put a protective but unobtrusive netting round the balcony if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I couldn't fault this hotel at any level. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would not hesitate to return.
The service is top class in fact everything about the place is top class. A very friendly atmosphere with staff that could not do enough for you to enjoy your stay.
Thanks very much for a wonderful hoilday.

Room Tip: Our room narrowed a bit due to being in a corner. Still a good room and quite large but would have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We took a punt on booking this hotel in the summer of 2011, thinking that we would need a bit of sun towards the end of the year. Seeing as we rent out a holiday home through the summer it makes sense for us to book our holidays outside the main season.

I have to say we were pretty much bowled over by the hotel. I would say that it is more adult oriented than aimed at people with families, most of the other guests were pushing or past their half century, but as a bolt hole for catching the last sun of the year within Europe it has a lot to offer.

The hotel is not in the main part of Funchal but set up the hill. Its about a ten minute walk into town and if you don't want to kill yourself then I'd recommend taking a cab back. Funchal is fundamentally just one big cliff.

We were made very welcome on arrival and were glad to get into our room. We had a really well prepared light lunch by the enormous swimming pool (no shouting, no running, no diving - as you see not too child friendly). The hotel has really great gardens where you can meet Coluimbus, an enormous Galapagos tortoise who likes having his chin and neck scratched.

Service was impeccable although breakfast was a bit eccentric, no matter how many times I asked for tomatoes they always brought bacon first. Never mind, if that was the only problem it was easily borne and always immediately corrected.

They do have a very talented cocktail bar tender who makes an excellent Manhattan.

I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris_Morrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

It was the first time that we visited Madeira and it won't be the last one. The hotel is located in a "normal" neighbourhood which is one thing which makes the hotel quite unique! Once you step into the hotel you feel really comfortable and directly relaxed. The hotel staff is really really friendly - everybody without any exceptions! The rooms are great - with a great view to the sea in front and parts of Funchal to the left. The big garden - actually you could/should call it a private park - is amazing and not to forgot to mention COLOMBO the "house turtle"! The food is really really good and the selection of wines as well. We really enjoyed every minute of our stay and we will definitively come back and recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the second floor and we had a great view - but all rooms seem to have a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VivianaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had a fantastic, relaxing holiday. The staff were genuinely friendly and extremely attentive to the comfort of their guests. Sabino and his team worked hard and made us feel very comfortable during our evening meals. Nothing was too much trouble for him and his team. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon7278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,039 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
820 reviews
1.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing