We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Jardins do Lago. Small (40 rooms), luxury in a colonial style (no bling), great food & service, beautiful gardens and pool area and whilst we were there, no children ;). Superior room was spacious, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast outside every morning was very good. Ate twice in the main restaurant and was very impressed. The hotel is set away from the main tourist strip of hotels and is really a peaceful oasis in the middle of Funchal. The walk into the centre of Funchal is about 20mins steeply downhill and a taxi back is 5-6 euro. We hired a car for 4 days from reception and toured the island - well worth doing. Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ludensian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

First visit to this hotel - a superb 10 day stay in superior garden view room (spacious and great balcony to soak up sunshine). A really charming hotel with country house feel and quality and staff and management who gave outstanding service throughout to make this a most relaxing holiday.
Excellent breakfast choices in seperate garden room, lunches around the outstanding pool with gym and saunas all well served, and dinners in the Beresford Restaaurant (named after General Beresford who resided here in Napoleonic Wars) when we were given choice in our booking to vary menu to suit our whims with some half board and some a la carte. Food on both was modern in style and cooked to choice - did not fault it!
Hotel is in beautifully laid out and maintained sub-tropical gardens with running water which create a delighhtful atmosphere with arboretum, lake (with swans), aviary and 'Colombo' the 54yr old galapagos tortoise on the lawns.
The 20 min. walk to Funchal centre is downhill with much to see on way via the fort, and several historic houses and gardens, but recommend a taxi back (6 euro average). Also used the hotel run excellent bus to/from town on weekdays.
Highly recommend this for all ages wanting a quiet, relaxed and pampered holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have balcony but best are facing south and overlook both the gardens and have sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EnglandD&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We would certainly return to this small charming luxory hotel set in lovely Gardens. It is set away from the main hotel zone in peaceful back streets above the bay.It's a short but steep walk down to to the main sights. We took advantage of the hotel taxi service but the buses are easy and taxis inexpensive.Our room was large with all mod cons and comfortable bed and chairs. The rooms all seem to have little balconies and chairs and tables.There are some suites. The hotel atmosphere is quiet and peaceful.The food was first class, truly excellent and the service unobtrusively first rate. The staff were all excellent and very attentive and pleasant. I would say this was hotel was 5 star country house style rather than "metro" and so it suited us

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichandHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I rarely leave home over the Christmas holidays but without children and grandchildren this past year it seemed a good idea to return to Madeira staying in a small hotel.
The Quinta Jardins do Lago seemed to fit the bill (sic). The hotel has only 40 rooms and was half full at the time. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and loved the pool area especially as there were never more than half a dozen other guests there. Unfortunately the pool was bitterly cold! The food without exception was excellent and we eat entirely a la carte. Service always friendly though sometimes a little chaotic!
The rooms are dated, the TV's elderly and the reception poor. I am told this is to be changed soon? I was annoyed being charged 10 euros (I think) every day for having breakfast in our room especially as my wife is somewhat disabled. This I feel most unnecessary especially as I don't use a travel company to make my reservations. The canned music was much too loud and always playing - 100% carols at Christmas!
Fabulous gardens with a splendid and enormous Galapagos Tortoise that had lived there for at least 50 years! Also excellent to see a fine kitchen garden providing most of the vegetables for the restaurant. The main 18th century house is perched on an outcrop overlooking Funchal so there is a minimum of noise and an instant taxi service whisks you into the town in five minutes.
We did enjoy ourselves and apart from the above suggestions (?) would return in the future.

Room Tip: Corner suites give a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afspyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spend wonderful days at Quinta Jardins do Lago. The fantastic garden, the pool and surroundings are excellent and it is beautiful to spend hours to study all kinds of plants. Our room was quiet and luxury and the restaurant is really a nice place to stay. The stuff is very attentive and friendly und the food was excelent. This is the perfect place to spend a wonderfull time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Quinta Jardins do Lago for a week at the end of January, booked to cheer ourselves up after a 'flu ridden Christmas and New Year. We now feel totally rested and invigorated at the same time.
The rooms, views, ambience, food and service all make this a special hotel. How lovely to walk in the beautiful gardens. Anyone with the slightest interest in plants or gardening would be amazed at the extraordinary variety of exotic and unusual species of trees and shrubs. However the friendly and attentive sevice from the management and staff was what made this such a wonderful break. My wife Linda is so unhappy if the environment is noisy, and everything was done to ensure that our wishes were accommodated.
I think this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, and we hope to return. It is well worth saving up for!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had the most wonderful week here in September. The suite was lovely & the staff were very attentive & helpful. The food was excellent & the waiters in the restaurant were just fantastic - very professional, but friendly too. The pool, surroundings & Columbo (the resident tortoise) just made it all such a pleasure to stay in this beautiful place. If you want a relaxing holiday, in a quiet & peaceful hotel then book it NOW!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PETERandJEAN1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
964 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £167 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing