We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this hotel. It is noteworthy that most of the staff have been there for each of our visits implying that they find it as good a place to work as we find it good to stay in. The hotel is in beautiful gardens and is very comfortable and the restaurant is first class, but it is the staff which makes it special. They are friendly but efficient with just the right amount of informality.
The only thing that makes me reluctant to give it a glowing report is that I might not be able to book in next year, which I certainly intend to do.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,382 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked this hotel because it came top on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The decor was excellent and very relaxing as was the whole atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and attentive and I felt that I could have asked them for anything.The pool area, gardens and views were so lovely to return to after a hot and noisy day in Funchal. We stayed for 4 nights and kept finding new facilities ,library,snooker room,cards,table tennis. I would love to return to this hotel.What a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: Superior garden view worth the extra. We spent ages gazing at the view over a bottle of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 3,574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

From the moment you arrive you are in holiday mode. Total relaxation nothing too much trouble for the attentive but discreet staff. Food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced.
Outside the gardens were wonderful. The weather in May was very pleasant, 7 days just wasn't long enough. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie95508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A wonderful place, with extremely friendly helpful staff and incredible botanical gardens. It really is an incredible place.

We intend to return very soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I think you can get a flavour of the hotel from other reviews and I generally agree that the hotel is very peaceful and the garden rather splendid. We saw it nearly empty when we arrived and full when we left and, while the service was gracious, they did lose their way a bit. If you consider it as an old fashioned four star rather than the 5 star it's rated at (sort of a hotel lavinia in sri lanka after a facelift) then you will know what you are buying into. The service is friendly but then it is everywhere on Madeira, it's very clean but it is everywhere in Madeira, so you do have choices of a good standard. There isn't the absolute smooth seamlessness you'd get with a perfectionist management at the top of its game and the quality of the food is a little disappointing. Breakfast was a haphazard affair with orders for omelettes or fried eggs being forgotten and even twice once (two waiters both forgot) and there isn't a huge variety with some items "running out" a bit easily. We got a good deal and at about £120 a night we were pretty happy, but the price would have shot up beyond Reids if we'd booked a week later which seemed puzzling. For the price we paid it was good value. We were the youngest there I think and we are in our 50s. All told I'd like to see them make small improvements: advertise that the mattresses are amazingly hard and ask if you want a topper as you check in, put in some resort literature and a city map in the rooms and above all get rid of the horrid small TV in a cupboard where you have to watch it straight on because the cupboard doors block viewing from the bed. I'd have liked to have seen a dvd player with a hotel dvd library for this standard of hotel, and less general staff noise behind closed doors. It would be nice to stay by the pool in the late evening or have a drink there but pool and bar close at 6. The breakfast kitchen is very noisy considering they forget half the egg orders!
Don't get me wrong though. I'd quite probably stay here again and I gave 4 stars because it deserves it for the wonderful oasis of calm it exudes with some lovely old furniture dotted about the main rooms but I wasn't as enamoured as I could have been with little more effort and if you are used to going 5 star you may find the imperfections annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Froggydatjive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was quite simply the best hotel that we have ever stayed in - it is an old colonial style Quinta set in the most beautiful botanical gardens. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and the service generally was excellent. The food was superb and the suite extremely comfortable. Flowers and a complimentary bottle of madeira wine awaited our arrival and champagne was gifted on the actual anniversary date together with an evening dinner. The hotel is located above Funchal and is therefore a 20 minute walk down steep hills to the city centre - a courtesy bus is provided 4 times a day however and taxis are readily available. The pool area was never overcrowded - free towels were provided and a small bistro offered a range of snacks

Room Tip: Choose a Junior Suite in the old part of the hotel overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I very strongly recommend Jardins do Logo for anyone wanting a comfortable,relaxing holiday. The staff are efficient,friendly and thoughtful;nothing seems too much trouble for them. There are always plenty of smiles. The bedroom, with its balcony,was excellent. The food,whether breakfast in the garden,or dinner in the dining room, is delicious. Other bonus points are; the Courtesy bus service;the charming and scented garden;the beautiful pool, where you can have an alfresco lunch,or tea with delicious cakes. In summary a delightful Quinta which"ticks all the right boxes", to which we will return.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely; did'nt see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
953 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £162 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing