We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned to Maderia for 5th visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Oldbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Returned to Maderia for 5th visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed again at Jardins do lago, would not stay anywhere else. Very friendly and helpful staff. Small hotel with lovely botanical gardens and very nice pool area with refreshments. Rooms are very clean and extremely comfortable. If you would like a nice relaxing holiday or be able to go on trips and visit the rest of the Island the choice is yours. The Tropical and Botanical gardens are a must.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    119
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
137
898
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our 4th visit to this hotel. We usually stay in a premier suite which are large, airy and spacious. They have 3 rooms, a big bedroom, a spacious bathroom and a seperate lounge which is as big as the bedroom. They have a double size balcony too. This time we were upgraded to the presidential suite (thank you so much as we did appreciate the lovely surprise). The suite itself is the same size as the premier suites but the balcony is wider and longer, enough so that it houses the outside table and chairs plus two sunloungers and a 2nd side table. It overlooks the outside breakfast area and is a wonderful sun trap late afternoon. Highly recommend the premier or presidential suites for a special occasion.

The hotels remains as charming and peaceful as ever. The gradens are beautiful and the pool offers a welcome break during the heat of the day. The only comment I have on the accomodation is the same one I made after my last visit. Some of the tiny square tiles lining the pool are missing and need to be replaced. However, this would involve draining the pool and as Madeira is a year round resort I can see why this would be difficult.

The standard of food is high both at breakfast, poolside and in the evening with plenty of choice. The only area that could be improved is the bacon at breakfast. Its streaky rather than back bacon and personally, I prefer mine cooked much crispier than the hotel does.

Finally, and I know this is sooo lazy but in the Far East top hotels provide guests poolside with a flag so they can wave it or put it on the side tables if they require service. It would be great if Jardins could offer a similar service. Outside of the lunch hours, the poolside staff don't have a great deal to do and could easily walk to the guests to take orders rather than the guests having to walk through the dining area to place orders. Just a suggestion and one which I think would probably increase bar sales on hot days.

Room Tip: They're all good but the higher floors provide the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We selected this hotel because we wanted something special with a feel of luxury and we were not disappointed. Quality is evident in all the public areas of the hotel and the service provided by the staff in all positions was exceptional. This is perhaps not an appropriate hotel for those wanting an exciting time but is perfect for those wanting great facilities in an atmosphere of relaxation and friendship with likeminded guests. The pool area and facilities are particularly special.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful holiday in this hotel. Set up the hill from Funchal and surrounded by magnificent tropical gardens, this elegant hotel is close to perfection. It only has 41 bedrooms so you receive really outstanding service from the friendly staff, unlike the large 200 bed places. Our room was enormous, beautifully furnished and with a terrace overlooking the gardens. The pool area is lovely and the poolside cafe/bar serves food and drinks all day.
We would recommend this hotel in the highest possible terms if you are contemplating a holiday in Madeira.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent a 12 days holidays there and we were really had a great time. The place is very nice with a big swimming pool, a nice bar, a good restaurant and a beautiful garden. The service at the reception is outstanding, they arrange everything for you, you just have to ask. The rooms are big and very clean. I spent my 50th birthday there and in the morning we already had a cake and a glass of champagne which was a very nice attention. We will definitely not look for another place next time we go to Madeira !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haacht Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Excellend hotel, in Funchal, but in a quiet spot, splendid room, excellent restaurant, wonderful swimming pool, and excellent, capable and friendly staff. Better located than the "posh" hotels squeezed between sea and rocks - the Jarins Quinta do Lago has a great garden which is well kept, and in which you ca see the bananas and other exotic plants grow, and which even hosts a magnificent almost 60-years old giant turtle. We have seen families with small children being as happy as we were.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

In this great elegant and old villa you find beatiful antique furniture, paintings, art objects etc. but of course with the modern comfort everywhere. Large comfortable room, great dining room and grat food, far from the city traffic, near to the highlights of Funchal . The complete personal very friendly and eager to asist. Great gardens and pool and spa areal, good food at nice open air restaurant at the pool .
In the wide gardens full of flowers and tropical plants you can sit in different places and read, heaving the feeling of beeing alone in a quite, colonial park. Perfect stay !
N.T.

Room Tip: ground floor viewing the garden. It gives you the feeling while sitting outside that you are in a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing