We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We chose this hotel for a week in Madeira to celebrate our Silver Wedding. It was everything we hoped it would be - small, luxurious, exclusive, discreet - all without being snooty. Wonderful service from kind and smiling staff. Great food, lovely pool, beuatiful rooms. If you want something a bit different from your run of the mill 5 star hotels, then this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardav612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is truly a lovely property deserving of its first place status on Trip Advisor. Everything all the previous reviewers stated in glowing terms is appropriate, starting with the caring and knowledgeable people at the front desk and the courteous, efficient and friendly servers at dinner and breakfast.
Our room (110) was very attractive and comfortable with its nice patio looking out onto the beautiful garden with views of the hills in the distance. We could not see the ocean from the first floor, but certainly enjoyed the sunsets.
We dined at the property twice and while the food was not outstanding, it was fine. However, the breakfasts were delicious with made-to-order eggs, rolls, breads, juices, and a wonderful assortment of fresh tropical fruits.
We enjoyed the piano music and vocalist one evening in the lounge which was a welcome treat at a beautiful day's end.
The Quinta arranged for a private taxi driver whom I would like to recommend to all guests. Mr. Esmeraldo Caldeira whose prices are very reasonable and who speaks perfect English along with several other languages, picked us up and returned us to the airport. We also went with him on his all day tour of the western portion of Madeira ("West is best!") which was well planned, included a stop for lunch and offered us numerous opportunities for snapping photos of the breathtaking coastline.
In addition, upon request, he suggested a levada walk of about 6 km. for the next day in which he dropped us off and picked us up at the other end. This was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and I am so glad we did it through Mr. Caldeira instead of on a tour.
Madeira is a gorgeous island full of beautiful sights and friendly, welcoming people.
I can, without reservation, highly recommend that you spend your sojourn at the Quinta Jardins do Lago and you book your island explorations with Mr. Caldeira.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jean4510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We spent a very few precious days in this wonderful hotel in Madeira. With many hotels there is usually something you can find fault with but at the Qunita Jardins do Lago, there was nothing to criticise at all - the staff were friendly and the facilities were very good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to seek out a haven of relaxation with the ability to get out and explore in the knowledge that you will be returning to a lovely location with good food!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hotel is a jewel.
The gardens are beautiful and the service is exceptional. The rooms were all fully booked when we were there but you wouldn't know it.

Any criticism I can give is over tiny things that the hotel could improve but overall the stay was memorable for all the right reasons.

The points I will make are:
1. The live music is too loud. A singer and a keyboard player who are undeniably talented utilise a synth (tucked behind a magnificent grand piano) and PA to perform various tunes. These don't sound very authentic due to synthesised sounds and drum tracks. Given the duo's talent and the availability of a fantastic piano why not make it an authentic live, acoustic sound and not prevent background conversation in the bar. We stayed in a junior suite and we could hear the synth's drum machine and programmed sounds clearly in our room - it kept us awake on nights we went to bed early. If the duo performed a repertoire suited to a vocal accompanied by solo piano they would provide entertainment much more suited to the style of the hotel, what the typical guest would want to hear and not at a volume that makes it difficult to enjoy a drink.

2. They need to serve proper tea at breakfast! The stuff they serve us too weak and tastes disgusting. Any good brand would work - Yorkshire Tea, Twinings, Liptons etc. There are quite a few British guests and the waiting staff smile knowingly when you ask for additional tea bags to be put in your pot so come on guys get this fixed!

3. The bathroom in our suite could do with a refurbishment or at least a tidy up of the shower and bath area. Having said that everything worked well.

The points above, although made at length, are nitpicks. Our overall experience was fantastic. The staff without exception are exceptional, the food is delicious and the chefs were willing to conjure up one-offs for my vegetarian wife.
It was always possible to find space by the pool and everyone seemed to have sufficient manners not to bag sun loungers at the crack of dawn.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FeralPyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

What struck us most about this hotel aside from the beautiful gardens it was surrounded by, was how friendly all of the staff were during our week long stay. Nothing was too much trouble for them with the concierge in particular taking great care to book restaurants / taxis / advising us on the best locations to visit etc. The hotel was immaculately clean and the rooms were exceedingly spacious. The pool side was idyllic and the food delicious. The lounge area was a particular favourite of ours for pre and post dinner drinks whilst jazz music played. The only tiny comment we would make was the live music at weekends was too loud. We will definitely return as it really felt like home from home and was still very hot for October.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a superior garden room with a balcony - there are stunning views at night of the hillside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GnarlyMarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel. The moment we walked in the door we received a warm welcome and throughout our whole stay the staff could not have done any more for us. This was our sixth visit to Madeira and this hotel is definitely the best that we have stayed in.

The gardens are beautiful and it is such a relaxing and peaceful place to spend a holiday. Columbo the giant tortoise is an added attraction.

The only reason for rating the location as very good instead of excellent is the distance from Funchal town. There is a courtesy bus in operation. The last one is at 5:30 pm and we would have appreciated at least one evening option. Other than that, simply superb! Thanks again to all the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Having originally planned on staying at Reid's, we checked on TripAdvisor, looked at Travellers Photos, read lots of reviews and decided it looked a little too big and formal to stay for a week and thought Jardins do Lago seemed more relaxing, friendly and a lot smaller, so booked here instead.

We are a married couple, both 46, and travelled with parents 75, and wanted somewhere quiet to relax, swim, read, but must have excellent food, or the opportunity to eat out locally in good restaurants, hence we hired a car for a week. The car went out twice, which was to tour around the island, apart from this it just wasn't needed.

On arrival we were told to just leave our car and luggage, they showed us to our rooms, and then they parked the car in their car park and brought our luggage up for us. The rooms are very spacious, large bathrooms, basket of fruit awaits, and tea & coffee making facilities. There is a fridge, so we bought fresh milk from the supermarket instead of the little plastic containers they supply. Wifi signal was good in both rooms.


Breakfast had everything you could wish for. On arrival at your table they bring tea or coffee and ask if you would like eggs, poached, scrambled, fried or omelette, they then bring these when ready, and you can take your plate and help yourself to the usual bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, or little sausages, if you would like toast ask when you order your eggs. The buffet had a large choice of fresh fruit, yoghurts, selection of warm breads, croisants, meats, cheeses, juices etc.

We decided to eat in the first night, and if it was good we would maybe eat there again later in the week...well, all I can say is we only ate out one night, the food was just amazing! They have an Al la Carte menu, but also a Table d'hote which is 5 courses for 38 Euros, or 3 for 30 Euros. The food really is exceptional, beautifully presented, and just the right amount so you can manage 3 courses. It seemed to us that most people staying there didn't bother eating out, the restaurant was usually fairly full with a good atmosphere.

The Bistro menu on the website is only available during the day at the pool area, but they do a lovely cream tea, with 2 large scones, jam & cream and a pot of tea for 9 Euros, or full afternoon tea for 16.50 Euros, one to share between 2 is enough, and just order another pot of tea.

The age group in the hotel was maybe between 60 and 75, we seemed to be one of the few younger couples, but we actually would much rather it be this way and enjoy the peace. We didn't see any children there at all during our weeks stay.

Madeira is a very beautiful island in the mountains, but if we were to return it would be to experience this superb hotel again, because of its quality, helpfulness of all staff, and of course the mouth watering food, we all agreed that the food was consistently the best we had had anywhere.

A big thank you to all staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theoldtownhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
916 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 88 in Funchal
2,228 reviews
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £172 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing