We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$505
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
1,289
133
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
133
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardenscourtesy busbeautiful hotelpool areacourse menufive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardenscountry housea la carte menuextensive gardenssteep walksmall hotelspecial hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Very happy with our choice of hotel and superior room. The breakfasts were excellent and most of the 5 dinners we ate there were delicious. The hotel and gardens are really beautiful, and the atmosphere is traditional but relaxed. All the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lucy186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

we recently spent a week in november 2012 at this hotel having seen the reviews on trip advisor. We had booked a superior room B&B but were upgraded to a junior suite on arrival which was an enormous room with palatial bathroom with a balcony overlooking the garden/sea.
It was in the original house and one definitely felt as if one was staying in a country house hotel with a beautiful library, entrance hall and furniture etc. It was also very quiet, the only thing about the room was that if you left your evening bath/shower too late there was not an over abundance of hot water to be enjoyed ! The gardens are absolutely fabulous as was the pool area, food at the pool was very good as was the food in the restaurant, we eat in 4 times and always had very good meals. The breakfasts are to die for, worth staying here for these alone and of course you can eat breakfast outside in the gardens too. Service was always very friendly and attentive. If you are reasonably fit you can walk into the centre and back which we did for dinner 3 times also using 3 recommendations from TA. Armazem do Sal was the best followed by Mozart who had a very entertaining and customer focussed Maitre'D. This was not the case at the Fort where the Maitre'D was not interested and the 'concept' idea of a meal receded in attractiveness. We hired a car for a week and saw the whole island and the hotel location makes it easy to access the dual carriageways. Really nice hotel, we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PatrickW671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Booked this hotel due to its rating on tripadvisor. Have to say we were quite disappointed. While there are some fabulous aspects to the hotel, unfortunately they did not compensate for the negative experience. To be fair, the gardens, pool area and cleanliness of the hotel are excellent. Also some staff are very friendly and in this regard, I highlight the lady at reception and the household staff who were exceptionally helpful.


We booked a superior room in order that we would have a view of the sea. I don't exaggerate when I say that there was a tiny triangle of water visible through the trees. When this was pointed out to the manager on the day we were leaving, his comment was we don't have sea views on the second floor then why do they they advertise and charge extra for them and why have other reviewers commented on the fabulous sea views? We had originally booked an anniversary package but cancelled it in favour of making sure we had a superior room with a sea view so this was very disappointing. The hotel did give us a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival but apart from this no other reference was made to this special occasion. Again in comparison to other reviewers experience, this was disappointing.

As noted by other reviewers, the Internet access was frustrating, dropping frequently. In the end, I gave up. The shower is over the bath and on the first day there was an overwhelming smell off the shower curtain. This appeared to be replaced but again this was disappointing given the hotel rating. Please note the only shower is over the bath and given the age profile of the guests this must make access to the shower difficult. The shower head was small and more reminiscent of the 1980's. Also there was no hair conditioner available, a small point but annoying for such a highly rated hotel. Most irritating of all was frequently been woken every night by the hum of a motor for approximately 10 minutes every hour. I don't recommend room 212 for all these reasons.

The breakfast choice was excellent and the range of fresh fruit and bread some of the best we have had. However, it seemed quite difficult to have eggs boiled as requested. One morning a request for a medium boiled egg required three attempts. Hardly impressive especially as it wasn't particularly busy. We ate in the restaurant on the last night. It was by far one of the poorest meals we had on our holiday. Overlooked meat, cold food and poor service. The food in the pool area was good if pricey.

Overall I think the hotel has become complacent with its five star rating. It is in a beautiful setting but that's not enough to compensate for the issues highlighted above.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank drimbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Quinta is situated in a quiet area high above Funchal and surrounded by a beautiful garden stocked with a wide selection of plant species from around the world. The hotel itself is a clever blend of old and modern. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel and whilst only a standard room was spacious and well fitted out. The twin beds were very comfortable. The balcony was large enough to have a table and two chairs with room to move about as well. Breakfast is taken in the "pink" room. There is a good selection of food available on the buffet and eggs of your choice can be ordered. Lunch is provided at the pool in the form of light meals and sandwiches. The swimming pool itself is large and free form in shape. It even has an island and is partly convered.The towels provided are of very good quality and dry you off well. There is also a small childrens pool (although I would say that this is not really a hotel for children). Dinner is served in the main restaurant (called the Beresford) and is of a reasonable standard, but those on a longer stay may find the choice limited as the menu is not changed. The bar is well stocked and is located in the lounge with comfortable settees and tables.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and all the staff are cheerful, helpful and friendly, in this I include Colombo the resident giant tortoise. It was lovely to stroll arround the gardens looking at the plants and seeing the swans on the lake.

The staff on reception were especially helpful to us recommending a brilliant restaurant in the town and arranging taxis.

One point to be aware of is that our room had a shower in the bath and given the ages of many of the guests a walk in shower would be more appropriate.

We had a lot of rain during our two weeks it would have been even better in the sun!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_johnson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I stayed here in November with my girlfriend in a sea view double room. The room was spacious and clean with a small balcony with a beautiful view of both ocean and the city of Funchal. One of the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in but with some definite niggles - the shower was luke warm at best, the free internet was so intermittent that I gave up, the hairdryer was seriously underpowered and the balcony was not slanted away from the room so any time there was any rain it was awash for hours afterwards.

I travel a lot in my job and stay in a lot of hotels and the issues above would normally cause me to complain and give a low rating but I just can´t on this occasion. The gardens are utterly beautiful and relaxing as mentioned by others and the staff are the friendliest I have ever come across - and this was universally true, not one or two nice staff but all of them from reception to bar staff to the maids to the restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb both in variety and quality of food and we found that we skipped lunch every day as we were still full. The whole atmosphere and charm of this hotel made me forget its imperfections - it is so relaxing and I came away thoroughly refreshed.

I should add that it is very definitely a hotel for couples and people over 30 - I don´t know whether it sets out to be this but it is some way out of town and there is very little for children to do aside from swim and play pool but for a 40-something couple looking to unwind for a few days like us it was just perfect. I would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view - it is definitely worth it and make sure you have breakfast here. As a final point other contributors have mentioned the hotel transfer at 35 euros. We booked through the internet - I think the site was Madeira transfers or similar - and we had an excellent driver with perfect English for 23 euros.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews