We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing week's holiday here. Before writing this review, I read the more negative reviews to see if I'd missed something, as we both thoroughtly enoyed our stay. A few people appeared concened about the steep hill into town. It took no more than 15 minutes walk to the Old Town. Granted, the climb back is steep for about 500m, but is quite do-able if you are of average fitness, and there are numerous buses that stop very close by. The no 15 runs about every hour, and till quite late, and there are other buses too. We didn't use a taxi once. There isn't too much for children here, but those who were staying seemed perfectly happy. Didn't try the wi-fi....I'm on holiday, but if you were to need access, I suppose it might be an issue. I personally didn't care. I read some reviews that complained about lack of choice at breakfast. This bewildered me...I couldn't see what else would be needed? The gardens are beautiful, the staff are discretely attentive, the reception staff are very helpful and efficient. If you need entertainment, DVDs, spa etc, then there are many hotels in Funchal that can provide these, but for our tastes, this hotel was the best we have stayed in. We have stayed in the Cliff Bay, which was nice enough and had these extra features that some reviewers felt were missing, but a little impersonal. Here, we were greeted by our names.

Room Tip: Junior suite 201 has a surpise private balcony, accessed through the wardrobe, Narnia style. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    121
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
137
915
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here last week and had a really good time. Excellent little hotel; quiet, clean, well-furnished and well maintained. Lovely gardens - despite probably not quite the right time of year to enjoy them. We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to a junior suite, which was excellent. Ours had access to a private roof terrace which got 360 degree sun, so was brilliant. We also had a small balcony which got the evening sun and was sheltered from the breeze. The room was well furnished and the bathroom big and again very clean.

The pool area is very good and the pool was exceptionally clean

We stayed B&B. the breakfasts were expansive - 6 - 7 fruit juices; masses of fruit; cereal; yoghurt; bread and pastries; cheese and meats and hot food. Coffee was OK but they can't make tea to save their lives! (But minor point). If I had an issue about breakfast it would be that the bain marie that kept the hot food warm was only heated by hot water and had no ongoing source to maintain the heat.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

We ate a couple of time in the restaurant. Food was Ok but massively overpriced. You can eat for 1/2 to 2/3rds the price in the town - same sorts of dishes. Plus it is the first place that I have ever been openly charged for the bread on the table! Also the service was very slow. I'm all for not rushing meals but 2 hours to consume 2 courses is a bit too laid back!

They have entertainment 2 evenings a week which can be a bit loud, but I'm splitting hairs here.

The hotel is in a residential district and generally quietly located - if anywhere is quite in Funchal! There is a hotel minibus four times a day, but we purchased a Bus Giro and used the local buses. No 15 goes from around the corner and if you walk over the rise opposite the main entrance you can catch another 4 buses (17, 49, 12, etc.) into the centre. Do be a bit careful in the evening as they change the routes in the evening. We caught a bus back one evening that we'd used during the day and ended up goodness knows where! But the bus drivers are very helpful.

Overall we had an excellent time and really enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: We had Junior Suite 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gr0mitp0et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed here last week. Once again the Trip Adviser community didn't let us down. A beautifully furnished small hotel as described - antiques, original oils, marble, polished wooden floors with rugs. Staff generally very very helpful and Luis makes the best dry Martini ever. We went half board and were delighted with the excellent buffet breakfast (eaten outside every day whilst the UK shivered with snow). Dinner was a set 5 course menu which offered huge variety, imagination and skill. Drinks and wine were reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard. We met lovely people and had a great second visit to a wonderful island.

We stayed at Reads 18 months ago and whilst Reads was great, so was Jardins do Lago. And Jardins is just about affordable whereas current Reads prices look affordable to Russian oligarchs but not us!

Things which could make it even better? First the coffee was really pretty poor. I've had good coffee in Madeira but this time ended up having to get a really good galao in the Golden gate cafe in the main square. A cappuccino isn't a small black coffee with a squirt of cream from an aerosol can! And second, the wifi is rubbish. None in the bedroom, intermittent and poor bandwidth on the balcony. And the staff on reception said all I needed to do was stand still and it would connect. Not true and as a rule its good not to have the staff patronise the guests. Most guests at this standard of hotel will expect IT to work painlessly. No more feeble excuses. It costs very little to fix this sort of hotel facility so just fix it! And thirdly,the gym equipment was the worst I've seen in a top quality hotel. It needs a rower, a cross trainer and a decent bike. Hardly a fortune given the turnover of the business. Niggles. Hardly the end of the earth. But all are needed to get from very good to fabulous.

So will we be back. To Madeira, undoubtedly! To Jardins do Lago? If you are booked, relax, you'll have a great holiday here. We may well see you there. But first lets test out the Cliff Bay! If they've got a decent spa, surely they'll have a decent gym? :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sunny balcony. Ours was shaded from mid morning. Others were better positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

In February, my daughter and I spent a blissful week of much needed total relaxation at this peaceful Quinta. We were fortunate that we were able to be out in the sun by the pool every day (except one) and enjoy the amazing botanical garden. We had a 2nd floor superior twin room which was beautiful and spacious with a balcony overlooking the garden and views to the sea. The 5 course dinners were excellent and meals at the poolside bar were also delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just got back from a week at the delightful Jardin do Lago and despite atrocious weather - rain and gales - we had a wonderful relaxing break. We opted for a superior room and this was in the "extension" on the first floor (they called it the second floor but one storey up to me is the first!)
The room was large with balcony - first class.
All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful - reception booked us restaurants in Funchal and organised taxis etc. When eating in the Hotel the food was first class both at lunch - served by the pool when weather permits - and dinner.
Prices are high but this is a genuine 5* establishment.

We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We would avoid the ground floor, and the room we were in (206)had a large tree which shaded the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JolsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Our choice of hotel for our first visit to Madeira was spot on. Sadly the stormy weather and absence of sunshine prevented us from enjoying the lovely pool and other hotel amenities. It also did not allow us to see as much of the island as we had expected.

Despite this however, the hotel more than delivered. Food was exceptional and the staff courteous and helpful. Our room on the second floor was spacious and comfortable with a fine marble bathroom. Like the rest of the hotel, the room was spotless.
Public areas are elegant and calm with beautiful floral arrangements throughout.

It is a long steep walk downhill to town centre but has the benefit of passing a couple of fine museums and the Santa Clara Convent on route. A bonus in the inclement weather.

Speaking personally, we much preferred the Quinta's location, to that of Reid's Palace on the western edge of Funchal.

We definitely hope to return, but will try May/June and hope to see more of island and its gardens (and of course the sun!).

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ronaldoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Delightful hotel in a very lovely garden with well-labelled plants (actually maybe better labelled than in the Botanic Garden). All the staff were very cheerful and helpful and the food was excellent. We enjoyed the five and ten year old Sercial at the bar! We hope to come back another time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing