We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lince Hotel Madeira(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$402
US$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$366
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$110
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$215
US$193
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
1,289
133
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
133
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardenscourtesy busbeautiful hotelpool areacourse menufive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardenscountry housea la carte menuextensive gardenssteep walksmall hotelspecial hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
764 - 769 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The lasting memory for us would have to be the food! The evening meals were stunning and the service first class. Chef and team, you should be very proud. All the staff do a fabulous job and cannot be faulted in any way. The hotel it's self is in a residential area, so to me it lacked a little bit of an holiday feel, but I appreciate it is a personal choice. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite,which are located in the original house, the room was located over the kitchen with a limited view. The floor was fully carpeted with a rather old and grubby carpet and the bathroom was in desperate need of a makeover. The bedroom ambience is not helped by the drab energy saving light bulbs. On a more positive note the gardens are wonderful and the pool area a little oasis, coupled by the wonderful staff and food, overall a very nice relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Don't get too exited about a free upgrade to a junior suite, limited view and you can hear the kitchen at work
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

If you are looking for a small luxury hotel set in beautiful tropical gardens with distant views of the ocean, friendly, courteous and well trained staff and spacious, well appointed rooms, then Quinta Jardins do Lago is the place for you. We have just returned from our fourth visit and would not dream of staying anywhere else. The quiet location away from the main hotel area but linked to the town by a courtesy bus or local service buses ensures peaceful nights. Most of the rooms are in a well planned wing attached to the old quinta and all are sea-facing and have views of the garden. There is a beautiful pool and a small pool-side bar/restaurant which serves refreshments through the day. The main bar, lounge and dining room situated in the old house are pleasant areas in which to spend time during the day or evening. Breakfast is buffet style and is served at tables which extend through the conservatory into the garden. Dinner is served in the extensive Beresford restaurant.
Jardins do Lago has a quiet location a short distance from the main hotel area which ensures peaceful nights. It is linked to the town by a courtesy bus and regular service buses and can be reached on foot by the energetic.
We return regularly because we appreciate the family atmosphere of this beautiful hotel which is well managed, retains its staff and maintains the same high standards of service year on year.

Room Tip: Nearly all rooms have south-facing balconies and are sunny for at least part of the day. Views are more extensive from the higher floors.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Hotel set in beautiful gardens with a very nice pool ( a bit cool in November) along with Columbus their very own turtle. The gardens were very well kept and with many off the flowers in bloom, In April/May it must be a wash with colour! and a vey nice after dinner stroll. This was the excellent setting for my wife's birthday and our Ruby wedding Anniversary. In our opinion everything was 5star the meals the staff and the rooms, nothing was to much trouble. ( we must include the taxi driver whoops!, forgotten his name) but he collected us from the airport on behalf of the hotel. if we had to find a fault it would the the firmness of the bed a little to hard for us and we like our Tea strong. We would find it very difficult to better this location and setting with the all year round warm weather climate too.

Room Tip: All rooms are good we had 207
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philhiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nice property. I think we probably had their smallest room, but it was lovely, generously sized for us, and clean. The pool was pleasant, and we really liked the little pool-side restaurant. The old turtle Colombo is fun to watch. Didn’t have dinner at the restaurant, but instead walked down the hill into town. It’s a challenging walk back up, as others have noted.

Front desk staff was very good, the food service staff was alright. At the bar we ordered a gin fizz and were given a glass of gin with lemon juice, period. When asked about the simple syrup and some carbonation (as noted in the drink menu), the young bartender was noticeably put off that we didn’t like his first effort.

The property generally was a bit stuffy for our tastes, and we (in our 40s) appeared to be some of the younger guests. Clientele seemed to be mostly older English couples – and that applied to all of Funchal. We’re glad we got to experience a bit of Madeira, but the best parts were outside Funchal – a hike up Pico Grande and along some levadas. If we were to ever return (doubtful), we’d stay outside Funchal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly & attentive staff, set in beautiful gardens and certainly recommended for those wanting a quiet and relaxed vacation. For a little more night life you can always take a taxi into Funchal and try one of the many good restaurants. A night out in the Capital is reasonable with a Taxi costing about £15 return and a 3 course meal including wine will only cost around £60 for 2.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billericay_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews