We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit stuffy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Bit of a late review, but I can't believe how positive all reviews are. Just felt I had to write a review from a younger point of view. (49 & 50!)

The rooms. Wonderful and clean, everything you need. Garden and pool area immaculate and stunning. However, location very poor. The hotel is in the middle of a residential area, with nothing at all to do outside and nowhere to go. The walk to/from Funchal is extremely challenging, even for a fit 49year old! The constant noise of barking dogs at night is intolerable, even with the windows shut.

The restaurant. The food in the evening is wonderful but the atmosphere is very formal and stiff. Even on a busy night it was so quiet you felt the need to whisper, very stuffy. The breakfast was quite poor. Choice very limited, egg orders often forgotten or wrong even after several requests. I've stayed in much cheaper hotels and had far better breakfasts.

This is an ideal hotel if you want to relax and spend the whole week there and eat there. However, if (your under 70) and like an evening stroll and a choice of restaurants near by, this isn't the hotel for you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
18  Thank haptrav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of the few places we've stayed which was as nice in the flesh as it looks on the pictures.
It has character, and a historic feel. There is a large 'new' wing attatched to the hotel but it blends in seamlessly with the old.
It has a lovely relaxed ambience both inside and outside, in the gardens and pool area.
The staff are warm and friendly (especially at the front desk), they know how to make you feel welcome.
Just to keep this real, I would echo some of the comments from others that the shuttle bus could perhaps be a little more frequent and offer a later pick-up from town. The only other issue for me was that I did miss being close to the sea, but I knew the hotel's location when I made the booking, so that was my choice.
The breakfast was very good for a buffet, and though busy, the breakfast dining area never felt crowded. We did not eat there in the evening as we like a change of scenery for dinner.
In summary, this hotel is exactly how it looks in the pictures, and will fully live up to your expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helvellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

. We were upgraded to the President's Suite, which was as stunning in appearance as was the care taken in its preparation. The gardens are jaw-droppingly beautiful. The food (Oh the breakfasts!) was beyond reproach, with everything available to from "A Full English" that would shame most British hotels to exotic fruit salads. The evening meal was a delight to the eye and the palate showing conclusive evidence of a competent and caring chef. The staffs' charm and helpfulness made for a relaxing experience of world class

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dominic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were at this hotel in early December 2013 and found it very welcoming and comfortable. The room was delightful with stunning views from the balcony. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. We would add that we arranged half board and found the 5 course evening meals a bit too much although the food was good. We were very pleased that so much fresh fruit was available. Perhaps a more regular shuttle service to the centre of Funchal is desirable as the hotel is about a 20 minute walk up a very steep hill from the town and in warmer weather it would be taxing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in November 2013 where the average temperatures were 25 degrees and the Hotel itself and all the staff were absolutely fantastic - set in a residential area but surrounded by its own stunning gardens we could not fault the place. We have already vowed to return in the near future - I can see why people rate this hotel so highly and also return on multiple occasions.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a superior garden room and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alanp2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife organised this 8 day holiday as a surprise for me, and oh boy what a lovely surprise. From first arriving at the hotel to leaving the hotel 8 days later the stay was amazing. The hotel is very well decorated and had lots of lovely touches every where you looked. The staff were very polite and most helpful. We had a lovely spacious room over looking the beautiful gardens and the islands capital Funchal. We walked in the very well kept gardens every day, lots to see and enjoy. The hotels food was great, lots of choice for breakfast. (which could be eaten inside, outside on their terrace or in your room). The evening dinners were to die for. Their chef is just incredible. We made use of the hotels facilities, which included a heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. I cant recommend this hotel enough and am looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Request rooms on 2nd/3rd floors (1st floor is ground floor) with view over the gardens,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bartiwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were a bit dubious, since so many reviews were so, so positive. But we were delighted. The gardens, staff and service are outstanding. Why did we bother going to the Jardim Botanicos, since the labelling, flowers and upkeep at the hotel were much better!
Our only caveat - which others have highlighted - is that the wine and evening meals are pretty pricey. On the other hand, you really should make the most of the happy hour for their truly delicious and strong (hic) cocktails. All the recommendations for other restaurants were just great.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Feline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.6 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £173 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing