We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was our second stay ay QdL - and we will return again. We were given a superior room with views over the sub-tropical gardens - a lovely large room, comfortable beds and a view. All the staff are excellent - we were greeted back by everyone, even the waitressed in there pool area - now that is attention to detail!
Breakfast offers one of the widest choices we have come across for some years - excellent choice of tropical fruit and juices - coffee/tea (my wife likes Earl Grey) - cakes and pastries - plus your own personal choice of eggs (boiled, fried, poached, omelette etc) all cooked as you like it - and this to accompany a good choice of bacon, mushrooms etc. Certainly a breakfast to keep you going all day!!
The gardens area treat and the pool area is just the place to relax and take a small snack if needed.
We had one table d'hôte meal - very nice cooking and presentation. We noted that this year the gardens below the pool area are now used for growing vegetables - what a fantastic soil - anything will grow here.
The hotel is in a quiet area - but there is a hotel bus 3 times/day down to Funchal, but we found that we could rely on the number 15 and got a number of trips on our rover ticket - it is worth it to see more of Funchal. I suppose you have a choice of being closer to town and accepting a "noisy" area.
We will return to QdL in 2014 - could there be a better positive comment?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a 4 day stay based on tripadvisor recommendations, rooms were good, breakfast OK and service good and friendly. All around a good choice about 6 euro cab ride to Funchal town, we did not eat in the hotel. We are 60 but atmosphere felt old even for us

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have to agree with the previous comments about the food. Although well prepared there wasn't much choice and the evening menu was the same all week and quite expensive. There was no other choice other than the fine dining in the evening, no bar meals or informal dining options after 6pm. Room service came as a hefty 7 euros extra. We ate in the restaurant once then got taxis into town the rest of the week (about 5 euros each way). The shuttle bus timings are very limited and there are none to tie in with evening dining in Funchal.The breakfasts for a 5 star hotel were quite basic. Some mornings there were 3 heated serving dishes of mushrooms, fine if you like mushrooms! The service was also disappointing some mornings as we had to keep asking for coffee. Most visitors will be staying for at least a week so the menus especially in the evening could be more varied, we would have struggled to find something every night of our week's stay. Apart from that everything else was excellent but dining constitutes a large part of your holiday so on that score we were disappointed, nowhere need as good as good as other 5 star hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: For a good view room 214 seemed to have everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Bit of a late review, but I can't believe how positive all reviews are. Just felt I had to write a review from a younger point of view. (49 & 50!)

The rooms. Wonderful and clean, everything you need. Garden and pool area immaculate and stunning. However, location very poor. The hotel is in the middle of a residential area, with nothing at all to do outside and nowhere to go. The walk to/from Funchal is extremely challenging, even for a fit 49year old! The constant noise of barking dogs at night is intolerable, even with the windows shut.

The restaurant. The food in the evening is wonderful but the atmosphere is very formal and stiff. Even on a busy night it was so quiet you felt the need to whisper, very stuffy. The breakfast was quite poor. Choice very limited, egg orders often forgotten or wrong even after several requests. I've stayed in much cheaper hotels and had far better breakfasts.

This is an ideal hotel if you want to relax and spend the whole week there and eat there. However, if (your under 70) and like an evening stroll and a choice of restaurants near by, this isn't the hotel for you.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
18  Thank haptrav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of the few places we've stayed which was as nice in the flesh as it looks on the pictures.
It has character, and a historic feel. There is a large 'new' wing attatched to the hotel but it blends in seamlessly with the old.
It has a lovely relaxed ambience both inside and outside, in the gardens and pool area.
The staff are warm and friendly (especially at the front desk), they know how to make you feel welcome.
Just to keep this real, I would echo some of the comments from others that the shuttle bus could perhaps be a little more frequent and offer a later pick-up from town. The only other issue for me was that I did miss being close to the sea, but I knew the hotel's location when I made the booking, so that was my choice.
The breakfast was very good for a buffet, and though busy, the breakfast dining area never felt crowded. We did not eat there in the evening as we like a change of scenery for dinner.
In summary, this hotel is exactly how it looks in the pictures, and will fully live up to your expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helvellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

. We were upgraded to the President's Suite, which was as stunning in appearance as was the care taken in its preparation. The gardens are jaw-droppingly beautiful. The food (Oh the breakfasts!) was beyond reproach, with everything available to from "A Full English" that would shame most British hotels to exotic fruit salads. The evening meal was a delight to the eye and the palate showing conclusive evidence of a competent and caring chef. The staffs' charm and helpfulness made for a relaxing experience of world class

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dominic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were at this hotel in early December 2013 and found it very welcoming and comfortable. The room was delightful with stunning views from the balcony. Nothing was too much trouble for the helpful staff. We would add that we arranged half board and found the 5 course evening meals a bit too much although the food was good. We were very pleased that so much fresh fruit was available. Perhaps a more regular shuttle service to the centre of Funchal is desirable as the hotel is about a 20 minute walk up a very steep hill from the town and in warmer weather it would be taxing!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
941 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £163 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing