We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Nearby Hotels
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$373
US$353
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
US$155
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$147
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$448
US$408
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$305
US$194
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,440)
Filter reviews
1,440 results
Traveller rating
1,289
133
15
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
133
15
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalapagos tortoisepremier suiteresident tortoisebeautiful botanical gardenscourtesy busbeautiful hotelpool areacourse menufive courseshalf boardsub tropical gardenscountry housea la carte menuextensive gardenssteep walksmall hotelspecial hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
740 - 745 of 1,440 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent hotel and a delight for garden lovers. The quality of the displays, planting and upkeep are RHS standard. The facilities truly 5 star, beautiful room overlooking the gardens. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful, booking activities, taxis etc. The food was very high quality - can recommend the 5 course fine dining - as good as any of the best in London. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterdE4884DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a lovely hotel this - one can hardly fault anything. Lovely clean spacious rooms with good views over garden, sea beyond and surrounding area. Helpful and very friendly staff. On the whole we thought the food varied from excellent - quite good; ( the a la carte dinner menu was a little bit limited). Swimming pool area and gardens beautifully maintained and lovely to walk around.. Ate out a few times - can really recommend The Fort, but you need to book. One way taxis to Funchal vary from 6 - 10 euros.

Could I suggest that waiting staff wear rubber soled shoes! With a large expanse of wooden floor the "clomping" around was at times a little intrusive!!

Room Tip: We had room on second floor, which was absolutely fine. Views better from the third floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsPSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is sited well away from the mass of hotels in a residential area high above Funchal. The view over the bay is lovely. It is very comfortable & peaceful &, although we kept busy seeing the island, it is one of the few places I've stayed where I could imagine just relaxing if I was very tired or had been ill.
Although we stayed during January, the well kept botanic gardens were a joy to explore. They must be even better later in the year.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the 'Presidential Suite' but from what we could see all the rooms are comfortable. We found the staff very helpful.
In spite of the praise above, I haven't given 5 stars for 2 reasons:
1. The courtesy bus only runs Monday-Friday & the location of the hotel means that walking to & from Funchal is not an option for many people.
2. For a hotel of this quality, we were disappointed in the food which sounded finer than it usually proved. The soups were particularly poor & I don't like hot food sweating in heated trays for hours as happened at breakfast.
Re dinners:
We booked half board & the first night we assumed, as is most common in the UK, that the dinner was 3 courses with a choice of starter, main course & pudding. In fact, all 5 courses are included. Also (& we didn't find this out until the last day when it was too late), you can substitute one course from the à la carte menu if you prefer.
I was very happy with the house wines by the glass which were generous & modestly priced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WinstonSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just visited Madeira for the first time and what a memorable trip! It is a lovely island and ideal for escaping the dreary British winters but the quality of the hotel was the key ingredient. The staff made us feel very special and they went out of their way to ensure excellent service at all times. The accommodation, food and location are all first class and we will certainly be back soon! The gardens are perfectly maintained and the pool facilities attractive and spacious. Our bedroom was situated on the 2nd floor and we spent many happy days relaxing on the balcony which was south facing and with unobstructed views of the gardens and sea beyond. The large room was kept spotlessly clean and we always looked forward to our little gift of chocolates before bedtime! The hotel is in a quiet area of Funchal and we enjoyed our daily walks to and from the centre with support from the hotel's courtesy bus when needed. Undoubtedly one of the nicest hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide nicer views but all rooms seem south facing and overlook the gardens
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PowysCatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Its not often we agree with other comments in the reviews, but on this occasion we have to concede that this hotel really is excellent. Other hotel managements should visit this one to see how it is done! It may be useful to new visitors that there is a very good bus service in addition to the hotel shuttle. Route 15 passes the hotel and a few yards up the road you catch Nos 13 and 12. On your first visit to town purchase a rover for 10 journeys. Taxis of course were ubiquitous.
The hotel staff were very pleased to organize commercially available day trips for us and the efficiency of these pick ups/ drop offs was 100%. However, not being a good passenger, left me feeling rather shaky on the mountain roads with two thousand foot drops on either side!!

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the sea and lush gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomCjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews