We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was our second stay in JdoL, so it is now a 'tradition' that we will go every year. Returning guests get a bottle of champagne delivered to their room as well! There is really not much more to be added to all the positive comments, but one thing I noticed is that the hotel seems to listen to its reviewers. The only complaint I had last year was about the hairdryer (tube from the wall); this year there was a proper hairdryer in the wardrobe. I have read complaints about having to pay for cappuccino at breakfast, well, you don't now. Out of seven breakfasts one was a bit chaotic because there were a lot of demands for room service breakfasts, so they were a member of staff short. It was also Ana's day off...but, seeing we were sitting outside, in a fabulous garden, in February, I can't say I was overly bothered.
Luis the barman is one of the highest ranking cocktail makers in the world, and they are GOOD.
The strength of this hotel is its staff, there is a family atmosphere and the interaction with the guests is brilliant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 448WCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

A historic quinta (country house) hotel, away from other touristy hotels and the bustle of downtown Funchal, set above the city in beautiful botanic garden quality grounds. Everything was of the best - service, food, rooms, surroundings, couldn't be faulted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fellowtraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in beautiful and well maintained gardens in a peaceful residential part of Funchal. The hotel was immaculately clean and comfortable from the room, throughout the hotel and to the pool area. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and very genuine in their approach to looking after their guests. The food at breakfast was excellent and both the a la carte and table d'hôtel dinners were well presented and of high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our family and friends and will definitely stay here again when we return to Madeira. Soon we hope.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We first stayed in this gem of a hotel in 2013 and were so impressed it was almost an automatic response to return when the British weather became unbearable. Expectations were high and fully met. The hotel has history, exudes quality and class - "flash" it is not! Staff are exceptional. Their service is personal, sincere and spontaneous - not just compliant with a manual on "Customer Service." We have already pencilled in the diary a return for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A hotel that deserves its 5 star rating. Located away from the resort hotels in wonderful well kept gardens. Fantastic views overlooking the gardens and sea, from our third floor room. All staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The service in the restaurant was excellent, as was the quality and presentation of the food. However, guests, who like us, who were there for a three week stay, will find the menu somewhat lacking in variety. Perhaps the introduction, one or two nights a week, of a completely different menu/style would be worthy of consideration. We are looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on third floor have the best views over the gardens and the sea beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB101B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent hotel and a delight for garden lovers. The quality of the displays, planting and upkeep are RHS standard. The facilities truly 5 star, beautiful room overlooking the gardens. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful, booking activities, taxis etc. The food was very high quality - can recommend the 5 course fine dining - as good as any of the best in London. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterdE4884DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

What a lovely hotel this - one can hardly fault anything. Lovely clean spacious rooms with good views over garden, sea beyond and surrounding area. Helpful and very friendly staff. On the whole we thought the food varied from excellent - quite good; ( the a la carte dinner menu was a little bit limited). Swimming pool area and gardens beautifully maintained and lovely to walk around.. Ate out a few times - can really recommend The Fort, but you need to book. One way taxis to Funchal vary from 6 - 10 euros.

Could I suggest that waiting staff wear rubber soled shoes! With a large expanse of wooden floor the "clomping" around was at times a little intrusive!!

Room Tip: We had room on second floor, which was absolutely fine. Views better from the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsPSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
943 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
8.6 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £162 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing