We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing pool but old fashioned hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing pool but old fashioned hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The highlight of this hotel for us was the pool area, which is one of the best I've ever been to. The pool itself was large and clean and the loungers very comfortable, not too crowded to get a good seat everyday, and the bar was well stocked and food tasty (especially the chips). It's very quiet in this part of town and with the gardens surrounding the pool you can really feel like you're on another planet. Truly getting away from it all.

That said we found the hotel itself to be a little too old fashioned for our tastes. We were expecting a colonial style of course but some of the decor felt dated, like armchairs that looked like they had been there 20 or 30 years. The hallways look like a 1980s country club and some of the common areas looked a bit 'Golden Girls' -- the clientele when we were there were mostly over 60s so they didn't seem to mind!

There are definite highlights to the place -- it has a lot of character and charm, and the rooms were very big. The tortoise Colombo put a smile on our faces everyday, the fruit at breakfast was superb, the library was a nice touch.

But I feel the need to point out that they are very much charging five-star prices for what is in my opinion a four-star property. For example -- pool tiles that need repairing, a lukewarm hot tub, being charged for the wrong bottle of wine at dinner, not being served tea at breakfast when requested, room key cards that only work on the 5th attempt, awkward to have your neighbours overlooking balconies at very close range -- these are obviously not big problems in life but they were signs to us that the place might not quite hit the five-star mark.

But like I said, that pool area is tops!

And when we needed to change the length of our stay, the manager was accomodating to our request. Also they arranged a very good airport transfer for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indiewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    128
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
154
977
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The other trip advisor reviews are not far wrong. This is a very good hotel. The gardens are amazing , the food excellent.
My preference would be for a proper walk in shower rather than a shower over a bath but other than that minor point the week we recently spent at the Quinta was great. It certainly deserves it's 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A superb hotel with every facility one could wish for. The room, the dining room, the gardens and all the recreational facilities could not have been better and the staff were without exception first class, professional, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The bonus of a courtesy bus from the hotel into Funchal was much appreciated. We shall definitely look forward to visiting this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

From entering the hotel we were made to feel at home, the staff on reception welcomed us as if we were passed guests, before showing us to our room they showed us all the downstairs areas.
Our room on the 3rd floor was quite large with a balcony over looking the gardens and in the distance the sea. There was plenty of storage space in the room, also tea and coffee was supplied, there was also a mini bar, but we did not use but we did use the fridge.
The vegitation in the gardens was a delight with so many different types of plants. walking through the garden you come to a large swimming pool with plenty of beds for all the guests, by the pool there is a bar that serves drinks and snacks.
walking back to the main building we found a small pond which was home to 2 swans of which one seemed to be sitting on her nest, the other was very protective for her. Then we found the star of the hotel Columbo the tortoise, he is 58 years of age
The hotel is situated a distance from the main part of Funchal, but takes about 15 - 20 mins to walk down the hill, coming back does take a lot longer, but there is a hotel bus there and back, taxis cost about 6 euro and there is also the local number 15 bus which stops outside the hotel.
We were on flexible dinning so we had 4 evening meals in the hotel and 3 meals in town, the dinners were 5 course and the food for all courses was well presented and well cooked, the breakfasts were also of a good quality, which you could either eat inside or outside.
All areas of the hotel were spotless.
Would we go back YES would we recommend to others YES

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor over looking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel upon the recommendation of friends and the hotel and island certainly lived up to the recommendation... We were half-board; the food was varied and of very high quality - breakfast is a veritable feast and the 5 course dinner was always beatifully presented and did not leave us feeling over-full! The staff were friendly and attentative, the accommodation superb, and the gardens are beautiful. The pool is a wonderfully interesting shape with islands to swim around with an under cover part crossed by a wooden bridge... We have not had the opportunity to return but we will do so as soon as we can...

It's so good to read the current reviews and see that the excellence continues!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bearess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beautiful gardens and a magnificent view from this lovely, comfortable hotel. Service and food were excellent - although there is a separate 'no-choice' menu for half-board with the option to swop one course if you don't like it - or 25% off the a la carte if you choose that instead. An option would be to book B+B and pay there for the a la carte, but nevertheless the food is well-cooked and presented and the dining room is quiet and relaxed - no good if you have children as they are not allowed - one evening we noticed a family eating in the breakfast area as they weren't allowed in the dining room.
The pool is beautifully relaxing, but again wouldn’t be much fun for children (there is a separate little paddling pool around the corner for them). Really, this is a hotel for adults who want to relax quietly and peacefully – for which it’s absolutely ideal. Lots of places to sit and read or chat around the pool, in the garden or the library, which has lovely, comfortable chairs and opens on to the gardens.
The location gives beautiful views over Funchal and the sea, but means it is high up – about a 15 minute walk to the centre, downhill – we always opted for a taxi back up! It’s basically in a quiet residential area, but therefore there’re no shops or other facilities nearby – but again ideal if what you want is peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Worth having a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyGNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thought the reviews on trip adviser must be over the top before we stayed for three weeks in March ....they were not. The hotel, gardens and pool are stunning, the staff attentive yet friendly, food of a high quality and the courtesy bus very welcome.We will be back again soon as we miss the star of the hotel Colombo!!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have sea and garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancashireTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#6 of 86 in Funchal
2,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
827 reviews
1.5 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing