We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The help from the staff when we asked directions to different places we wanted to visit!They even gave us map with directions about those places!Magnificent hotel!Our room was spacious and extra clean!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    121
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
137
915
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Jardins is a very special place to spend your holiday. My wife and I just spent four delightful days there. It is located in the middle of a middle class residential area. Twenty minute walk to old town makes it quite convenient depending on your walking. The hotel reminds you of the old French country side. The outside gardens are not to be missed. Two of the largest swans decorate the pond and are most protective of their newborn. The pool area is probably the finest in Funchal or Portugal for that matter. It only lacks being on a cliff. The hotel takes cleanliness to a new level. Inside as well as outside are meticulously maintained. Each staff member greets you with a warm hello and offers whatever they can to make your stay more pleasant. Rooms are nice size and well appointed. The hotel offers a fine breakfast buffet as well as a fine dining experience. Our only reservation and we understand why it was done was the choice of real hardwood floors for the rooms. Unfortunately they do make the typical hardwood noises and can sometimes be heard from above as well as in your room. That being said a place to relax or to be used to venture and see the beauty of Madeira, Jardins is the right choice over any in the hotel district.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent a week here.This hotel really lived up to expectations and we totally agree that it deserves the wonderful accolades it receives . The pool and gardens are beautiful, the atmosphere quiet and relaxing and the food delicious.the staff are friendly and curtious We couldn't have asked for anything more and shall definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Probably the best hotel I have stayed in for a holiday.

Most of the other reviews have already pegged it so really just adding my vote.

Perhaps I have low expectations but I always expect a few niggles with a hotel room - below the level that its worth changing rooms but not what you expect in your own home for instance - but I couldn't fault the large, light and airy room at all, everything just worked.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Nice quiet area of town. Bit of a hike up the hill if you decide to walk but there is a courtesy bus into/out of town and there are also plenty of taxis.

Of course the main point of a Quinta is the gardens and they were amazing and on a par for quality if not size with the more well known tourist attraction gardens in Funchal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dunky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I spent some days at Quinta Jardins do Lago with my family at the end of April 2014. We enjoyed very much the friendly staff, the unique botanical garden on the premises, the very comfortable and large rooms and the excellent food. The Hotel itself is a Bijou and most recommendable.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are very spacious. Higher floor, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A very nice, comfortable hotel with unobtrusive but helpful staff. Our room was large, well appointed and quiet. We very much enjoyed the 'mini botanic garden' around the hotel - with well labelled plants and a pervading scent of jasmine. The 'half board' option was generally good and at times excellent - as a 5 course meal. Occasionally one or two of the dishes were a bit limited in their culinary scope but otherwise an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeJ158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Lovely gardens with lots of interesting specimens and quiet corners, spacious luxury rooms, nice pool, interesting games and reading rooms, lovely breakfast, yes it's expensive but if you want to splash out then this is the one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardWithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing