We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed here for one week for our wedding anniversary. I e-mailed the hotel before we went & asked if they did anything by way of marking our special day. They couldn't have done more. We had fresh fruit, flowers, bottle of bubbles on ice & instead of eating off the set 5 course menu we could eat a la carte on the day of our anniversary. The set menu was always excellent & there was something different to choose from every day. The day we went a la carte, we both had the steak tournados; absolutely fabulous, best steak we've eaten in a long time. As people have said before, the staff at this hotel help make it what it is. How anyone could complain about this hotel I don't know. We did hear, that a while back, somebody complained big time about a member of staff on here & unfortunately that person lost his job. He was married with two children, how cruel & so sad. Nobody had ever complained about him before,& the power of TA went too far we think. However, I guess it shows how seriously this hotel's management takes it's part in guest's holiday experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you ask for a top floor room. We were on the ground level & we could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minim0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    118
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
136
894
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I have just had a week at this hotel, and had a wonderful time . The rooms are large with plenty of room to sit and relax either inside or on the veranda(all of which face onto the gardens). The pool is great with plenty of sunbeds and the food is excellent. The staff are helpful and polite and helpful. The hotel is a 15 minute walk into Funchal and a 6 euro taxi ride back (the hill is a real killer!! ). Perhaps the courtesy bus could be run more frequently, but this is a very minor point. All in all a great place for a holiday!!

Room Tip: Would go for the higher rooms as these give a better view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From the moment we arrived, after almost a day travelling, we felt very much at home in this hotel. The old colonial atmosphere, the incredibly beautiful gardens, the beautiful swimming pool, were all wonderful, but best of all were the staff who made us feel like members of a family. When we arrived, although we were late, Rubinha made us feel so welcome, she gave us a little tour of the hotel while showing us to our room. The breakfast was sumptuous, (I counted 10 kinds of fresh fruit one day!) As we left, I told the young man checking us out that the only problem with the hotel was that it spoiled us for any other hotel.
We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoryandAnnaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I decided to come to Madeira to celebrate a significant birthday. We have been to the island before, but wanted to try a hotel we had not previously stayed at. Choosing the Quinta Jardin do Lago was a fantastic decision. The staff are friendly and attentive and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We had a superior room up on the third floor overlooking the spectacular tropical gardens. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a super king size bed. We decided on a half board stay and again we were not disappointed as every course from the five course menu was superb. If the hotel and food are great, the pool area is exceptional, having a larger pool than you would expect from a hotel of this size and a poolside bistro offering an extensive lunchtime menu. The birthday celebrations were made even more special by the complementary cake and champagne provided by the hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing break with great service at a superb hotel you could not do better than the Quinta Jardin do Lago. One final point, don't forget to pay a visit to Columbo, the 56 year old giant tortoise who resides in the gardens! We will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was a fantastic break. The staff were all lovely and could not do enough for us. We received a bottle of champagne on arrival, as well as a 5 course meal complementary on the day of our choice.

The pool is lovely and is was great to not to have to fight for a sun lounger. Towels provided for the pool area is a nice touch. The gardens were fantastic.

We would recommend this to anyone who likes a small hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at Quinta Jardins do Lago in June 2014. As soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice - the Reception staff were very friendly and after a late arrival due to delayed flight we were shown quickly to our room. The room was spotlessly clean with flowers, fruit and water which we were glad of, and a large modern bathroom with bathrobes. We had a lovely large balcony which had a delightful view of the gardens.

The breakfasts are plentiful -lots of choice and everything topped up regularly. The breakfast room is part of the original Quinta and is cool and beautifully decorated and there is also a balcony and patio in the garden where breakfast can be eaten. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening as we wanted to try out some of the many restaurants in Funchal, but the meal we had there was delicious -served by attentive waiters. Children (under 12 I think) are not allowed in the restaurant in the evenings and as a result there atmosphere is calm and peaceful (children eat earlier in the breakfast room).

The gardens lead to the swimming pool which is large and heated - and there is a bar for food and drinks. We used the pool quite a lot and were relieved that as everywhere else in the hotel, it was a haven of calm - no noisy adults or children , just adults winding down and relaxing. The large botanical gardens were full of beautiful plants - flowers everywhere. The People of Madeira are certainly proud of their botanical gardens -and Quinta Jardins do Lago even has it's own enormous tortoise.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at this beautiful hotel. The staff throughout the hotel are so helpful and friendly with a hello whenever they see you - nothing is too much trouble. From the moment we walked in we felt relaxed and indulged. Both my husband and I didn't want to leave this special place, on a special island.....but we will return! Thanks to everyone who made our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Any room will delight you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlecandEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you want the perfect place to stay - this is it.
Beautiful accommodation situated in beautiful grounds and supported by really helpful staff.
The food is also great.
There is also a large supermarket nearby which allows you to buy a nice wine for 10 euros instead of 30 euros at the hotel
Management note:
On the day we left the management obviously had some sort of large meeting by the pool which created an awful lot of noise when your trying to chill out by the pool. The attendees were also paraded through the pool area which made me personally feel we were being used for show - no one should let this comment put them off, its more a note to their management.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank converging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
1,076 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing