We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home from home in Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our home from home in Madeira”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have returned to Jardins do Lago many times over the last 9 years, drawn back to the hotel by the excellent staff, first class restaurant and beautiful gardens.
Funchal is a great base from which to do so many activities. Our interest is mainly walking and then ending the day with a couple of hours by the pool.
We are already planning our next visit with our family in 2015.

Room Tip: It is a relatively small hotel and all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    121
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
137
913
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for ten nights for bed and breakfast. Our room was on the ground floor and even though we had a smaller balcony the room was fairly large. We arrived with fresh fruit and water on the table.

Breakfast has a wide array of choice from cooked to fresh fruit, served either in the pink dining room or out on the terrace or garden. Where you can see Columbo wake up and wait for his breakfast from the passing guests. There are also some swans and their cygnet who they are very protective of and I would advise people to let them be, and watch from a distance.

The pool side is clean and quiet,surrounded by beautiful flowers. Plenty of sun loungers for all guests and only noticed the annoying "reserving with towels" act on a couple of days in the mornings which is unnecessary.

The hotel restaurant only serves A la carte, and I found we were rather rushed through our courses, and not offered the full menu. I had only just lifted up the wine menu to view it and was asked what would I like and what the waiter thought we would like...I found this rather off putting. We ate here once and ate out mainly in Funchal in the evenings.
The reception staff are more than helpful and arranged tours and picnics for us.
They also arranged for a Birthday cake and sparkling wine for my partners birthday, which was lovely!
The hotel was spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet, beautiful hotel situated in stunning gardens, it is a good 25 minute walk into Funchal town downhill and a taxi on return is about 7euros so easily to do every night.
This place will be quite special to us as we got engaged whilst staying here...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have just returned from our trip to Madeira and what a fantastic place it is. All the staff were so helpful and friendly and kind. The cleaning ladies were very considerate in their job. The food was fantastic. The hotel is just beautiful. Our room was lovely. The gardens are glorious. Colombo (the tortoise) was just so cute and the swans (in their own wee bit) were scary! My husband and I were really relaxed. I couldn't rate this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katadam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We recently stayed here for one week for our wedding anniversary. I e-mailed the hotel before we went & asked if they did anything by way of marking our special day. They couldn't have done more. We had fresh fruit, flowers, bottle of bubbles on ice & instead of eating off the set 5 course menu we could eat a la carte on the day of our anniversary. The set menu was always excellent & there was something different to choose from every day. The day we went a la carte, we both had the steak tournados; absolutely fabulous, best steak we've eaten in a long time. As people have said before, the staff at this hotel help make it what it is. How anyone could complain about this hotel I don't know. We did hear, that a while back, somebody complained big time about a member of staff on here & unfortunately that person lost his job. He was married with two children, how cruel & so sad. Nobody had ever complained about him before,& the power of TA went too far we think. However, I guess it shows how seriously this hotel's management takes it's part in guest's holiday experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you ask for a top floor room. We were on the ground level & we could hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minim0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I have just had a week at this hotel, and had a wonderful time . The rooms are large with plenty of room to sit and relax either inside or on the veranda(all of which face onto the gardens). The pool is great with plenty of sunbeds and the food is excellent. The staff are helpful and polite and helpful. The hotel is a 15 minute walk into Funchal and a 6 euro taxi ride back (the hill is a real killer!! ). Perhaps the courtesy bus could be run more frequently, but this is a very minor point. All in all a great place for a holiday!!

Room Tip: Would go for the higher rooms as these give a better view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

From the moment we arrived, after almost a day travelling, we felt very much at home in this hotel. The old colonial atmosphere, the incredibly beautiful gardens, the beautiful swimming pool, were all wonderful, but best of all were the staff who made us feel like members of a family. When we arrived, although we were late, Rubinha made us feel so welcome, she gave us a little tour of the hotel while showing us to our room. The breakfast was sumptuous, (I counted 10 kinds of fresh fruit one day!) As we left, I told the young man checking us out that the only problem with the hotel was that it spoiled us for any other hotel.
We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoryandAnnaWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I decided to come to Madeira to celebrate a significant birthday. We have been to the island before, but wanted to try a hotel we had not previously stayed at. Choosing the Quinta Jardin do Lago was a fantastic decision. The staff are friendly and attentive and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We had a superior room up on the third floor overlooking the spectacular tropical gardens. The room was large and spotlessly clean with a super king size bed. We decided on a half board stay and again we were not disappointed as every course from the five course menu was superb. If the hotel and food are great, the pool area is exceptional, having a larger pool than you would expect from a hotel of this size and a poolside bistro offering an extensive lunchtime menu. The birthday celebrations were made even more special by the complementary cake and champagne provided by the hotel. If you are looking for a relaxing break with great service at a superb hotel you could not do better than the Quinta Jardin do Lago. One final point, don't forget to pay a visit to Columbo, the 56 year old giant tortoise who resides in the gardens! We will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Property: Quinta Jardins do Lago
Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#4 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing