We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming small country house hotel with excellent service and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We planned to stay for three nights, but as a result of air traffic control problems and then gale force winds, ended up staying for a further four and this delightful hotel more than compensated for our disrupted plans. First impressions on arrival are that the hotel is in a somewhat suburban environment, but once through the door its elegance is revealed and the well-fitted and good-sized rooms all look out over magnificent tranquil gardens. Meals are served in the old part of the original manor house and are of excellent standard, although the menu could become limited if staying for more than one week. However, as we discovered, individual requests to vary the a la carte dishes were dealt with most obligingly by the restaurant staff who were universally friendly and efficient as were everyone we came in contact with. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2010

It was our third time at Jardins Do Lago. This time with our daughter of 14 months old. We were a bit nervous and didn't know if we could enjoy the stay. We booked for 2 weeks and really... again it was too short.
Again the exceptional service, the well-kept spacious rooms, the nice panorama, the nearness of Funchal (but not in the touristic part of it), the gastronomic kitchen (at evening), the small but nice snacks at the pool, the marvelous cocktails.... and ooh so much more. Every year I go visiting other hotels, just because I'm rather curious. You choose this hotel for the rest, the beauty, the nice swimming pool... The photos above are like it is. No fake, but real paradise. The thing is that the team is making the difference! If it is the head of the team or one of the managers or the housekeepers, they are one by one so service-oriented and they really do the best to feel you at ease and at home. That's why we allways go back. This is not a Club hotel where children are shouting and making a lot of noise, even that there are children. The guests and also the staff are doing their best to respect the rest in the hotel. When I come back of my holidays, my batteries are loaded to go for it again. I thank the whole team for this!
If you ask me to tell something that should better: 1/ the accomodation at the swimming pool (chairs) should be revised. 2/ the breakfast : there is a lot of choice, but I would prefer that during 2 weeks it isn't every day the same. 3/ the hotel gives the possibility to choose between soft and hard matrasses. They don't communicate about it and I must say this is a great plus. The advantage is that if your partner likes a hard one, you can take a soft one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leuven_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

An understated family feel hotel of excellent quality. There was nothing actually we could fault, Beautiful public rooms giveing a feel of an elegant bygone age. Everything spotlessly clean. The beds a little firm for our taste. The staff were delightful and did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our holiday. The gardens are quite magical with wonderful unusual plants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wahsnesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We spent a week here and would go back every year, the staff went out of their way to help. The little touches - chocolates on the pillows at nigh,' bowls of fruit and champagne on ice when we arrived after a 4hr delay at Gatwick . The gardens with Columbo the giant tortoise and the pool were an oasis. After a hard days walking the huge bathrooms with jacuzzi was heaven followed by an unhurried dinner. Definately one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BindyBoo1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 10 day stay in this wonderful hotel. The service is excellent and very friendly. We stayed in the basic garden room but it was very spacious and couldn't be faulted, I think the only reason for upgrading would be for a sea view, but the view of the gardens is lovely. The breakfast buffet was excellent and it was nice to have a choice of inside, terrace or outside to eat breakfast depending on the weather. All areas of the hotel and grounds are very well maintained and kept scruplously clean. We ate lunch by the pool on several days and that was excellent if slightly expensive. We had dinner in the hotel on four evening - the standard is very good and beats most of the restauarants in funchal hands down. many have said that the one drawback of this hotel is the location- it is not in the centre of funchal and the walk back from the town is very steep, we knew about this in advance and it was not a problem, for visiting Funchal during the day we timed our outings to fit in with the complimentary minibus which runs four times a day to and from the centre. In the evenings we used taxis - about 5 euros a trip. We also hired a car for part of our stay and there is ample parking at the hotel. If I was to return to Madeira I would stay at Jardins Do Lago again without hesitation. The hotel is very quiet after dinner, there is some entertainment twice a week which was pleasant, we were quite happy to simply relax with a drink, but I would say this hotel may not be for you if you are looking for lively entertainment, but for a wonderful hotel in which to relax it is spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saabbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We reviewed trip advisor prior to booking and found the positive comments to be in keeping with our experience. The hotel is located in beautiful gardens and gives a good blend of old colonial and something more modern in the hotel itself. We stayed in a junior suite and had bed and breakfast, choosing to eat in the hotel from the a la carte menu on 5 occasions. We found the staff and service to be excellent and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to those who want a quiet holiday away from the centre of Funchal. Having said that walking distance is about 15 minutes downhill and 30 - 40 uphill! Taxis however, were reasonably cheap - about 6 euros back from Funchal.

We hired a car for 3 days but frankly it would have been better all round to have hired a taxi as and when required. The roads (apart from the Rapidos) are quite challenging!

Climate pleasantly warm without being over hot. Some heavy showers.

If we had any negative comments about the hotel it would have been that our bed was harder than we are used to and the a la carte menu did not change in the 2 weeks we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

A great location, very friendly and professional service and really good food. It is expensive but it's worth the extra because it's small and friendly so feels far more relaxed than the larger hotels. The staff are excellent, helpful, kind and efficient. Only downsides - the rooms are not terribly well soundproofed so you can on occasion hear people walking in the room above you and the lighting in the dining room needs to be warmer. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.6 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
863 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Jardins do Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Jardins do Lago

Address: Rua Dr. Joao Lemos Gomes 29 | São Pedro, Funchal, Madeira 9000-185, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £163 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Jardins do Lago 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Botanical Garden with more them 500 different spices of plants and a variety of pleasant and relaxing areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Jardins do Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Funchal
Jardins Lago
Quinta Jardins Do Lago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing