We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O Leque

O Leque
Ranked #10 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Funchal
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, European, Pub, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great spot for people watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We came across this place by chance while looking for a late lunch in central Funchal. It seems to be popular with the locals, which is always a good sign. We had their excellent chicken sandwiches on some of the local bread. For tea drinkers, they offer a good range of Lipton teas. The afternoon we were there, the waitress was run off her feet so service was rather slow, but that just gave us more time to enjoy the atmosphere and watch the people coming and going in the Praco da Municipo (the square behind the Museum of Sacred Art).

Definitely a good choice if you are looking for a light lunch in the centre of Funchal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oz654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We came across this cafe/restaurant when looking for lunch, it is a great little place. Mainly used by locals, the staff are friendly and speak english with menu in several languages. They offer a good variety of food at a very good price. It was so good we came back several time for lunch and sampled the steak sandwich, sword fish sandwich, marinated swordfish and the hamburger, all very tasty with some local beer (Coral).

I would recommend to anyone visiting to try it, it looks a lot more genuine that the othe rplaces full of tourist and chargin higher prices.

They also have some lovely cake but we did not try their coffee.

The place is well sheltered which is handy when the it is raining which happened to us twice).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank didgit74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varazdin, Croatia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice small Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Not far from the center or Funchal, where you can not find so many tourists, just 5 minutes walking from the cathedral, you can find this small nice bar with inside and outside seating. There you will find more local people, and enjoy the local atmosfere while you have your rest during your walk through the streets of Funchal. The stuff was very kind, it looked very clean, and at the end the prices are very good. They also have a free wifi .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

After chatting to a local resident we decided to explore the area behind the cathedral that is used by the locals rather than the tourists. We then found an absolute gem of a snack bar. Leque can be found on the city square and serves absolutely delicious coffee, pure freshly squeezed orange juice, yummy scabbard sandwiches, local quality cakes etc. Its open from breakfast time too! The staff are attentive and very keen to please. We were surprised just how cheap our bill was too. Forget the tourist haunts and head off to the proper Funchal- you wont be dissappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lesedington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Leque also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Leque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing