We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of A Vela Branca

A Vela Branca
Ranked #253 of 620 Restaurants in Funchal
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
gloucester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Came upon this restaurant by chance. Went back three times. Wish we had found it sooner.
Lunch special - good sized portion, glass of wine and a coffee to finish - 7.50 Euros. What a bargain! Food excellent, staff very friendly and efficient, restaurant very well set out. Highly recommended. New restaurant ( 6 months ) deserves to succeed. Hope they are there when we return to Funchal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    67
    9
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant three times whilst we were staying at the Porto Mare hotel. We were offered a free starter the first time we went in and the meals were so big we couldn't finish them, the following nights we only had the main meals, which were excellent. The service was good and very friendly, especially the guy who was outside touting for business, he did a great job of getting customers in, he was very entertaining! The prices were very reasonable and we were given a free glass of poncha with the bill. We will definitely visit this place again next time we go to Funchal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe trying too hard”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We ate here twice having been enticed by the offer of a free starter the first time. The food was good, the number of waiting staff erred on the excessive and the presentation of the food could be thought a little pretentious.
The napkin (not cloth unfortunately) folded into a candle, the name of the restaurant, was a nice touch.

The whole experience was really no better than it's neighbours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What value for fresh food!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Unfortunately for us we 'discovered' this restaurant on our last evening, having been put off slightly by the pushy tactics of the man trying to lure us in every time we passed! We need not have worried because he succeeded in enticing many customers. We relented and decided to venture in. As well as receiving a free bottle of delicious white wine, we ordered fish - sea bass for my wife and the mixed platter for me- and it was perfect. The choice of food was varied, the bill was very reasonable and the ambience great as it was full. Cannot wait to return in July.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jojo13-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go Here!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This restaurant opened about 5 or 6 months ago and has yet to acquire the indifference symptomatic of so many of the restaurants in the area, servicing the captive tourism market. Great food, fabulous service, fresh fish and excellent wines. Go now before it's too late!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Vela Branca also viewed

 

Been to A Vela Branca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing