We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Curry!! (changed Location)”

Indian House Restaurant
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Indian House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 638 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$16
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Curry!! (changed Location)”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The location on here is wrong, they are now in different place, if you go on there website you can find the location easily! The curry was outstandingly good, it was very good as you could choose your spice level meaning if you do not like spicy curry's you can have tamed down versions. Overall we think this is the best curry house in the Funchal area!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    123
    38
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's not closed down thank goodness - it's just moved!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We ate at The Indian House last year and enjoyed it so much decided we had to visit again this time so trekked over to where it used to be only to find it closed down. Fortunately a friendly cafe owner across the street explained that it had moved and kindly gave us directions to the new location. Have to say, the new location is much better than the last - much more atmosphere and tables outside in the narrow street. The food didn't disappoint - very tasty and went down really well with all of us including our 11 year old daughter who loves spicy food. Service was top notch and nothing too much trouble. Overall, great food, service, location and value for money. Made a good change from steak and fish. Will definitely be back next August!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty indian food, good service”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Located on the 'nicer restaurant street' Rua Carreira in the city center, Indian House gave us a delicious break from the portuguese flavors we we happy to have every other day of our vacation in Funchal. The four of us had all different dishes and we all were happy with our choices.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simo0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indian House is Really Great ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Really good please to eat, I love Asian food and this was really one of the best places I went. The staff was very professional (for a casual restaurant) the food is really great. The space could get some atmosphere, but it's still okay.

Helpful?
Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New location, same excellent food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great new location and food excellent as always. Excellent value for money and a must for Indian food lovers. The chefs are more than willing to adapt to suit individual customer requirements. Great to see Ganesh doing so well after taking the plunge and going out on his own last year. A must if you fancy a change from Espetada or Espada!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Indian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing