We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$69.27
More Info
from US$28.86
More Info
from US$28.86
More Info
from US$19.63
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
245
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun rum factory jeep tour bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company flora and fauna informative guide
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Took a half-day trip with Madeira Mountain Expeditions in August 2016. Easy arrangement with online booking, and pickup and drop off at the hotel in Funchal. Very good, knowledgeable guide.It lasted about 4 hours and included both mountain and sea level. Mostly on road (some steep and narrow, which was nice), a couple of off-road parts, a lot of beautiful views. Furthermore, Land Rover Defenders are something special. Recommended for anyone wanting to see the island or and Land Rover fans. A good range of alternatives with regard to areas and length (half-day or full day options). Fair prices.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank catohem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

From start to finish it was a great time the driver which I'm not 100% (sorry) was called Michael was amazing. He spoke fluent English and French as it was a mixed party. His knowledge was first class also was his driving as there are some steep winding roads ha. Would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Gary_84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainExpedition, Gerente at Madeira Mountain Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks a lot for leaving ur comment see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I was trying to book a tour with Mountain Expeditors, after reading all wonderful reviews, but failed even to do so. I had to cancel my appointment as I found staff that is going through booking procedure sarcastic, careless, dismissive and rude.

Through e-mailing I wanted to find out the details of the tour: simple things , like meeting point, or pick - up place, deposit cost, and transaction details. to which I received inaccurate answers, as "send it to my account", and "meet at pizza hut".
When I asked to specify the account number to transfer the deposit, and asked which pizza hut - Ive received a sarcastic answer saying, "we told you, but here we go again...".
Also I was offered to meet next day, but I have mentioned in my Application that I'm arriving only in a week. It was an effort through about 6 - 7 emails to get all the information I need.

So I ended up writing a complaint letter with pointing out what went wrong. To which I was answered that I am the rudest person within their 12 years of experience. And that they are not even reading my letters. In the end they replied with phrase in capital letters, not to book with them ever again, and to find another place.

This pretty much set a bad mood even before my holiday began. And showed how unprofessional and insulting their behaviour is.
The person I talked with via e-mails was CEO Mountain Expeditions Cristiano Andrade.

Im not a happy customer.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank niktea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainExpedition, Gerente at Madeira Mountain Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks for you feedback even that you had never did a tour with us.

It was the best you could do it NOT booking a tour with us.

I have my business more than 10 years..and ther is always a first time.

And here why i didnt want you to join my trips: (2 reply of my mail)

1. If you would read my application form correctly in the first place, you would know that I am not in Madeira tomorrow.
2. in first letter you did not tell me what is your account, nor did you in the second letter. You just said "send it to my account". Id prefer to be more specific when i am sending money to someone.
3. instead of saying 30% of payment, you should specify the sum that must be sent by a customer.
4. not all of your customers are local. actually most of them must be tourists. so no one knows how many Pizza Hut restaurants are there in Madeira.
1? or 65? And you corrected your own e-mail later by adding that it is Pizza Hut in Funchal. So I was right that u did not give me all details. And you are wrong.
5. there was no need for your sarcasm. this is not the way to deal with customers.
And you may not care because you have many customers without me,but you have just wasted all day writing e-mails to me, because you can not manage to put all info in one sentence.

The language barrier sometimes can be tricky, we dont accept negative and stressthfull people on our trips..this is not the kind of reply for a simple booking.

Cristiano Andrade
CEO Mountain Expeditions

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Allways use this company for my jeep trips booked through Happy Tours.Did 3 trips this time Drivers Victor and David were as usual good drivers friendly and know their island. As a regular visitor to Madeira allways use this company jeep is a great way to see the mountains and forrest of Madeira.All in all in my view the best in Madeira.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank bobbarclay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainExpedition, Gerente at Madeira Mountain Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thanks for you feedback the message will be passed to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Just spent a fantastic 4 hours touring Madeira with our guide David. He was very informative and funny. Made the whole experience a lot of fun. Told us all about the culture of the island and about the plants. The off roading was great fun in the Land Rover.
We booked this experience through the cruise ship, Ventura. We would definitely go again.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Lynseybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews