We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$51.79
More Info
from US$28.77
More Info
from US$36.83
More Info
from US$28.77
More Info
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
248
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun jeep tour rum factory sea cliff bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company exotic fruits
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2016

After two pretty mediocre run of the mill Madeiran tours, how we wished we'd discovered this company earlier. Highly enjoyable day-long jeep tour of the East section of the island with very personable guide who gave a lot of information on plants, history etc. One of the selling points of the jeep tours is the travel on the minor Madeiran tracks and paths through hilltop villages, valleys and forests. Spectacular scenery. This tour was the highpoint of our holiday. If we go back, we know where to go for a great tour.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Mersey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My wife and I took 2 trips with Mountain Expeditions and enjoyed both of them enormously. Touring the island in an open top Land Rover is an excellent way to view the wonderful Mountains and Forests of Madeira - you get a real feel for the rugged landscape - and it's an exciting ride. The Driver/Guides all seem to be multi-linguists and their knowledge of the countryside is exceptional. I would highly recommend an expedition with this organisation.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank StrollerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Nice way to see more of the island and the off road part was good fun. Not for those with bad backs. Roberto was very friendly too. Thank you

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank hollydog1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had an awesome time on our tour. I was in Madeira for a press trip, so this was a great way to see the island from a different perspective. Our driver, Ricardo, was very knowledgeable and told us a lot of information during the tour. When I go back (because the island is so amazing!) I will definitely book another tour with them. I highly recommend!!!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Took a half-day trip with Madeira Mountain Expeditions in August 2016. Easy arrangement with online booking, and pickup and drop off at the hotel in Funchal. Very good, knowledgeable guide.It lasted about 4 hours and included both mountain and sea level. Mostly on road (some steep and narrow, which was nice), a couple of off-road parts, a lot of beautiful views. Furthermore, Land Rover Defenders are something special. Recommended for anyone wanting to see the island or and Land Rover fans. A good range of alternatives with regard to areas and length (half-day or full day options). Fair prices.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank catohem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews