We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$69.08
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$19.57
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
245
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun rum factory jeep tour bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company flora and fauna informative guide
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We had 2 unbelievable days out with David and he told us so much. You deserve comendation. Victor was the total opposite he told us very little. And seemed not to want us there. Shame on you also where we went for food with David was twice as good. But the worse thing was they we're charging some 11 euros more that's a disgusting price hike. Boo!!!!!! The whole island wants to rip off the tourist now. So be prepared

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Madeira has become very busy, but if you want to get away from the madding crowd, go on one of the 4x4 excursions offered by this company. We've done several on our last 2 visits - all you need is a sense of adventure (and sometimes a steady nerve!). You'll go to places you'd never get to on your own and where a hire car simply won't go - deep into the countryside, sometimes on tracks a donkey might baulk at! Avoid all the tourist-traps and get some photos to die for. The drivers are superb, are very knowledgeable, and have a sense of humour. We've had excellent trips with both Angelo & Joao. These excursions are highly recommended, and we certainly hope to repeat the experience in the future.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank BillC2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

We booked a 4x4 Jeep tour before coming to Madeira and having done Jeep Tours in other countries.

Our first tour was the full day North-west part of the island. Our driver and guide, Victor, picked us up right on time! He was very friendly right from the get go and conducted his tour in both English and German.

Victor explained a ton to us on our drive and was more than happy to answer any questions. He pointed out various things along the drive.

I would recommend the lunch that you can purchase (I think around 13€) on this tour.

This tour takes you to parts of the island you would never see on some of the bus tours. The roof is open so you can fully appreciate the mountains above you.

We enjoyed our first jeep tour so much we booked another one!

On this tour we did the sky walk and the Nuns Valley on this tour. Our driver (cannot remember his name) for this tour was just as knowledgable and friendly as Victor and was also right on time.

Both tours had off road components which are a blast if you like going off roading.

There are a number of bathroom breaks and stops to get out and stretch your legs on both tours.

We would highly recommend this tour group if you are prepared for some bumpy roads and want to go off the beaten path.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank blondeambition12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We asked for a recommendation for a 4x4 touring day at our hotel and the guys at Madeira Mountain Expeditions were wholeheartedly recommended. A quick call and our day to the north of Madeira was booked for later that week, couldn't have been easier.
Pick up was on time and our driver introduced himself, got us settled in the Landrover and we set off to pick up three more people.
Once all parties were onboard our driver 'David' explained the day to us all. We all quickly got to know each other, helped by Davids humour and knowledge.
The day proceeded at a relaxed pace with some spectacular views along the way. Lunch was an additional €11 and optional which we all chose. Soup, fish or steak, fruit salad, coffees, wine and water, great value.
David was very knowledgeable about the plants of Madeira and the areas we visited. The actual off-roading was entertaining if mild by past 4x4 experiences but for the purpose of this trip got us to some amazing viewpoints. The Landrover Defender used was very comfortable given it being a Landrover and once off the main highways the roof was rolled back giving a different element to the trip.
Overall we would thoroughly recommend Madeira Mountain Expeditions.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I booked because I wanted to see another side of Madeira and so I did! Pick up from the hotel was spot on time and off we went to the mountains. The driver of our group was Jona, John who although born on the mainland but has been here for 10 years and had a unique knowledge of Madeira and happy to pass that on with an ongoing running commentary to the 6 guests bouncing about in the back of the Jeep!! We stopped for traditional Puncha and after a 4 hour trip were returned to the respective hotels. Best value for money on the entire trip, thank you Jona

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank paulkingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews