We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$69.08
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$19.57
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
245
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun rum factory jeep tour bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company flora and fauna informative guide
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

An excellent day out visiting the North coast of Madeira in a Land Rover. A superb driver, Joao, took us and a group of 4 Fench people along roads and places that are hard to reach without a 4x4. He spoke excellent English & French and gave us lots of information about the island and flora & fauna. Great fun going off-road along narrow dirt tracks. Plenty of time for lunch in Santana, a bargain at €11! If you have a Friday free take this trip, a wonderful experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Maurice_Shelagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Rocardo is a great driver, the trip was breathtaking, the sights, the company everything I can just advice to everyone. I went with my 8yrs old son and two grandparents and all of us enjoyed it. If you take the west tour dont waste your time with lunch (however for EUR 11 per person it worthy), because one hour will not be enough for the bath, what we just loved. Thanks again.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank skach_anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We went a few days ago, two adults and three teenage daughters and we loved it! We had Angelo doing our tour and he was incredible, very knowledgeable about the island and made the trip exciting and fun for everyone. I would thoroughly recommend that anyone coming to madeira to go on this jeep tour it is an unmistakable experience!!!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We took a full day trip and loved every minute of it - our driver and guide Luis(?) was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. he had the perfect way to keep everyone happy, even though there wasn't a common language - his english however was brilliant. It's a great way to see the Island, and much better than hiring a car - i would certainly recommend - as it's certainly value for money. Be sure to book when you first arrive at your hotel as it depends on which day you go on which trip you have - so if you want to see certain things, make sure you pick the right day

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank BrittlePeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We signed up for a full day trip for the eastern part of Madeira and did certainly not regret that decision. Lots of places was visited, lots of knowledge was shared and with a great sense of humour from the driver. And of course we used the capabilities of the Land Rover a bit to try out the small roads and track you would never experience yourself. If you have the chance to do this trip do not hesitate!

Eastern part of the island (via Santana) was 44 euro per person. Absolutely a fair price. Select the option to add lunch in Santana (11 euro).

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Knissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews