We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$69.08
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$19.57
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
245
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun rum factory jeep tour bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company flora and fauna informative guide
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We booked a full day tour and it was great. A well organised excursion to the north of the island and then some off roading which was great fun. Ricardo, our tour guide was knowledgeable and funny and did whatever he could to make sure everyone enjoyed the trip. We visited the A framed houses with lunch served (wine included) at a little restaurant there. This would have been better if it had been a snack or a lighter lunch. The food was great but there were 14 of us in our party and no-one wanted a full 3 course lunch with large servings. It was such a shame to see so much wasted and not because of the quality. We headed back to Funchal through the fog and mist but with a brief Poncha stop. Overall a great day out and would have scored higher if the meal provided had been a little more "lunch like" and a little less "3 course dinner".

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Atini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

A full day of fantastic views and a bit of adventure with the off-road parts. We had a great driver and guide Vitor, who took us to places we would never have found ourselfs. Apart from his knowledge of Madeira he was also very funny!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Our family of 5 traveled to the beautiful island of Madeira in March. We had a great week in part thanks to two full days with Angelo who showed us as much of the island as he could in our time there. One day we toured the east and the other the west. He knows the island so well and was able to customize the tour for us. It included a mix of levada hikes, wonderful lunches and stops for coffee. He also suggested his favourite spots for dinner and these meals were great! He kept us thoroughly entertained as well as he is very funny. If we are ever lucky enough to return to Madeira we would book more tours with Angelo in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ottawatraveller2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Yesterday my wife and I went to a Jeep tour with Mountain Expedition. We really wanted to see Porto Muniz pools but to profit from the entire day! Leonardo was our driver and our guide and he was great. He knew a lot about the Island history and culture. He was also very funny and kind to us. The 11€ for the meal was a very reasonable price as well. It was a shame the weather in the north part of the island was not the best on the day of the trip, so we could not swim in the pools, but other than that, the trip was great and i recommend their jeep tour

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We had a great time today with our guide Luis, he was funny,drove fantastic and helpfull!!! the muddy road in the forrest was amazing
Annica o Joakim

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 517annicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews