We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Madeira Mountain Expeditions tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Funchal
from US$69.08
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$28.78
More Info
from US$19.57
More Info
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
245
30
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
30
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road fabulous days great fun rum factory jeep tour bumpy ride full day tour different perspective island history day trip great tour short stop nun's valley highly recommend this company flora and fauna informative guide
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Second trip with this company, each time easy to book, on time and quality drivers. Best of South with Ricardo, knowledge of island history, fauna was excellent. He loved land rovers too so we were bound to have a great time as he showed us how capable it was on and off road. Brilliant fun, I recommend booking if you want to see the island from a different perspective than usual.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank juliefB8072RM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

This really was an outstanding way to see parts of Madeira I had never before been to. The pick up was bang on time and the driver made you feel that at all times you were in a safe pair of hands and that his main concern was to give you a great experience. There was was a perfect balance of rough off road travesty and stopping to see things.

I highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank kinder1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We took the Sunday tour 'Best of the South'. We were picked up directly from our Airbnb promptly by our driver Luis and taken on an all day trip around the South and Southwest of the island. We climbed in the Land Rover up through the tiny side roads for miles with Luis stopping to explain some of the crops growing in the houses and fields as we went.

We went off road and as we were sat in the back of the Land Rover, it was a little bumpy, but still very enjoyable. Plenty of rest stops and places to take photos and we went up to the top of island above the clouds with some great views across wooded ravines.

Lunch isn't included, but we stopped near the Western most point Ponto do Pargo at a restaurant for lunch. We called at several places on the way back including coming down to a small town on the coast and a rum factory with a short tour explaining how the local rum is made.

If you're susceptible to insect bites, I'd suggest you wear repellent.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ukorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

As it says on the tin. A very enjoyable Off Road experience culminating in a visit to a typical village bar for refreshments and a snack.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Our guide Abrao was excellent and we had a great time in a 4x4 exploring right up into the clouds. The hillsides are lined with glorious agapanthus, Pride of Madeira purple spurs, tumbling nasturtiums and elegant arum lilies. Madeira is an amazing island.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank BeverleyW828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We booked a full day tour and it was great. A well organised excursion to the north of the island and then some off roading which was great fun. Ricardo, our tour guide was knowledgeable and funny and did whatever he could to make sure everyone enjoyed the trip. We visited the A framed houses with lunch served (wine included) at a little restaurant there. This would have been better if it had been a snack or a lighter lunch. The food was great but there were 14 of us in our party and no-one wanted a full 3 course lunch with large servings. It was such a shame to see so much wasted and not because of the quality. We headed back to Funchal through the fog and mist but with a brief Poncha stop. Overall a great day out and would have scored higher if the meal provided had been a little more "lunch like" and a little less "3 course dinner".

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Atini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews