We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Madeira Mountain Expeditions
from US$37.05
More Info
from US$47.64
More Info
from US$407.60
More Info
from US$47.64
More Info
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
347
39
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
39
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road driver luis levada walk full day tour our tour guide fun facts would highly recommend this tour lush vegetation great driver fruit his knowledge spectacular views pico ruivo company information island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We took the Sunday tour 'Best of the South'. We were picked up directly from our Airbnb promptly by our driver Luis and taken on an all day trip around the South and Southwest of the island. We climbed in the Land Rover up through the tiny side roads for miles with Luis stopping to explain some of the crops growing in the houses and fields as we went.

We went off road and as we were sat in the back of the Land Rover, it was a little bumpy, but still very enjoyable. Plenty of rest stops and places to take photos and we went up to the top of island above the clouds with some great views across wooded ravines.

Lunch isn't included, but we stopped near the Western most point Ponto do Pargo at a restaurant for lunch. We called at several places on the way back including coming down to a small town on the coast and a rum factory with a short tour explaining how the local rum is made.

If you're susceptible to insect bites, I'd suggest you wear repellent.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ukorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

As it says on the tin. A very enjoyable Off Road experience culminating in a visit to a typical village bar for refreshments and a snack.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Our guide Abrao was excellent and we had a great time in a 4x4 exploring right up into the clouds. The hillsides are lined with glorious agapanthus, Pride of Madeira purple spurs, tumbling nasturtiums and elegant arum lilies. Madeira is an amazing island.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank BeverleyW828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We booked a full day tour and it was great. A well organised excursion to the north of the island and then some off roading which was great fun. Ricardo, our tour guide was knowledgeable and funny and did whatever he could to make sure everyone enjoyed the trip. We visited the A framed houses with lunch served (wine included) at a little restaurant there. This would have been better if it had been a snack or a lighter lunch. The food was great but there were 14 of us in our party and no-one wanted a full 3 course lunch with large servings. It was such a shame to see so much wasted and not because of the quality. We headed back to Funchal through the fog and mist but with a brief Poncha stop. Overall a great day out and would have scored higher if the meal provided had been a little more "lunch like" and a little less "3 course dinner".

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Atini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

A full day of fantastic views and a bit of adventure with the off-road parts. We had a great driver and guide Vitor, who took us to places we would never have found ourselfs. Apart from his knowledge of Madeira he was also very funny!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Jerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews