We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 23:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Madeira Mountain Expeditions
from US$37.10
More Info
from US$47.70
More Info
from US$408.08
More Info
from US$47.70
More Info
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
347
39
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
347
39
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover off road driver luis levada walk full day tour our tour guide fun facts would highly recommend this tour lush vegetation great driver fruit his knowledge spectacular views pico ruivo company information island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

This really was an outstanding way to see parts of Madeira I had never before been to. The pick up was bang on time and the driver made you feel that at all times you were in a safe pair of hands and that his main concern was to give you a great experience. There was was a perfect balance of rough off road travesty and stopping to see things.

I highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank kinder1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Excellent tour of the Nuns Valley. The pickup was from the hotel and was punctual. The morning was very relaxed, and our guide/driver (Andre if I remember correctly) was informative and had a good sense of humour. We stopped at various points and met up with other vehicles on the same tour. The stops were relaxed and we never felt rushed to get back in the vehicle and move on.
The highlight for me was the stop at the glass floored cliff walkway (580m above the beach) at Cabo Girao.
Well worth the money and gets you into places that coaches/minibuses couldn't get. Felt very safe during the tour.
Still amazed at how steep some of the roads were!
Would definitely use again if we went back to Madeira.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank UKMarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We took the Sunday tour 'Best of the South'. We were picked up directly from our Airbnb promptly by our driver Luis and taken on an all day trip around the South and Southwest of the island. We climbed in the Land Rover up through the tiny side roads for miles with Luis stopping to explain some of the crops growing in the houses and fields as we went.

We went off road and as we were sat in the back of the Land Rover, it was a little bumpy, but still very enjoyable. Plenty of rest stops and places to take photos and we went up to the top of island above the clouds with some great views across wooded ravines.

Lunch isn't included, but we stopped near the Western most point Ponto do Pargo at a restaurant for lunch. We called at several places on the way back including coming down to a small town on the coast and a rum factory with a short tour explaining how the local rum is made.

If you're susceptible to insect bites, I'd suggest you wear repellent.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ukorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

As it says on the tin. A very enjoyable Off Road experience culminating in a visit to a typical village bar for refreshments and a snack.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Our guide Abrao was excellent and we had a great time in a 4x4 exploring right up into the clouds. The hillsides are lined with glorious agapanthus, Pride of Madeira purple spurs, tumbling nasturtiums and elegant arum lilies. Madeira is an amazing island.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank BeverleyW828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews