We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Living room.
Bathroom.
The bedroom.
The bedroom is spacious, has air-conditioning and a balcony with castle and mountain views.
Queen size bed.
The bedroom balcony.
Bathroom.
Reading area and sitting nook.
Reading area and stairs.
Small and quaint bedroom, suitable for a child.
Living room.
Desk with tourist and local information.
Dining area.
Living room balcony. Dinner al fresco?
The kitchen, which is fully equiped.
Washing and drying machine and dishwasher.
City centre.
Watch tower of Palácio de São Lourenço.
Benches in Avenida Arriaga.
An edemic species from the Laurissilva, known as pride of Madeira.
Ponta de São Lourenço, the eastern point of the Island.
A few minutes before sunrise in the mountain track between Pico do Arieiro and Pico Ruivo.
An inhabitant of Laurissilva.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
exchanges
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Little to add from previous comments. Very close to the drop-off from the airport bus and other buses. There was a problem with the wifi which Pedro fixed brilliantly within 24 hours. The hot water (as the file notes explains) isn't massive. But that is a tiny thing in what has to be the most brilliantly situated flat in Funchal with such good restaurants and cafe so close. And it's a special feeling to sit on the terrace with a morning cup of coffee and feel the city waking up. The style of decor and thought that has gone into it is so noticeable. We have such happy memories of being there and am totally confident that others will feel the same. It's amazing that something so lovely so close to everything is not only in a quiet neighbourhood but less than 100 metres from Funchal's shopping piazza.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rjm4jmag
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A "home" in Funchal.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I reviewed this property last year after my first visit, but since then I've been back and cannot speak highly enough about the property or the warmth and generosity of the owners. It really does feel like going "home". My flight back to the UK was cancelled due to bad weather and completely unprompted, I was texted with an offer of staying overnight at the apartment and met at the airport with the key. This was much more appealing than an airline arranged hotel. I eventually decided to stay on for another couple of days as the apartment was free but I was not charged for the first additional night... a genuine offer of help rather than a business opportunity. Thank you Berta and Pedro! What a refreshing change to deal with people who care about their guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeBA2
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment for two in the centre of Funchal”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment was very clean and well equipped with everything one could need - including a welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, wine and biscuits! also Berta was there to welcome us. We really enjoyed our stay - on our last visit to Madeira we stayed in a top class hotel outside of Funchal, and this time wanted to be in the centre. It was far far better - there is so much to see and do and having a base to go back to at any time made it a much more restful holiday. We shall certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location of the apartment, on the top floor with balcony + lift & central Funchal.
Liked least: some noise from building works in daytime, but mostly we were out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAKJK
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way....”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

.... and it's not often you can say that without having one niggle or another. But this apartment truly met all our expectations, everything provided and in a superb location for exploring Funchal, a bustling but not crowded city. It was a pleasure to deal with Berta and Pedro, and receive Berta's smiling welcome when we arrived. We loved our stay, and can honestly recommend this apartment - clean and comfortable, well appointed, and perfectly situated. We will no doubt come back one day, and hopefully enjoy another stay and see the great results from the seafront refurbishment underway.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, well appointed, and perfectly situated.
Liked least: No negatives.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AigintaF
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome apartment”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A lot of good words were said about this apartment and owner Mrs.Berta Helena. And everything is 100 % true!! Super clean, cozy, bright, sunny apartment with all utensils and kitchen equipment. Excellent location. We enjoyed our stay every day - sitting on the balcony with coffee in the morning and glass of wine(from welcome pack :) )in the evening. Thanks a lot!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Everything as advertised with lots of nice little touches. Welcome pack of wine, butter, cheese, cookies, etc. was very welcome. Excellent location and a handy supermarket across the road. Would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail644
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean, quiet apartment in superb central location”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Superb location: close to the marina, a five minutes walk to Funchal centre - and with restaurants, bars and supermarket on the doorstep. Third floor apartment with sunny balcony in a quiet, traffic free side street. Comfortable, well equipped and very clean. Berta and Pedro are a delight to deal with and couldn't be more helpful. We were delighted to find a complimentary bottle of wine and other treats on our arrival. Fantastic value for money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$76
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing