We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation: Can highly recommend it”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Bedroom.
Bedroom
Bedroom.
The bedroom balcony.
Small and quaint bedroom suitable for a child until 12 years old.
Bathroom with shower.
Bathroom.
Bathroom with Shower
Bathroom.
Reading area and sitting nook.
Reading and relaxing corner.
Reading area and stairs.
Washing/drying machine and dishwasher.
Microwave/oven, kettle, fridge, toaster...
Balcony of the apartment
Cable tv, free Wifi, dvd.
Balcony
Balcony with city & sea view.
Watch tower of Palácio de São Lourenço.
City centre.
Benches in Avenida Arriaga.
An edemic species from the Laurissilva, known as pride of Madeira.
An inhabitant of Laurissilva.
Ponta de São Lourenço, the eastern point of the Island.
A few minutes before sunrise in the mountain track between Pico do Arieiro and Pico Ruivo.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mick_Butl...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation: Can highly recommend it”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Where do we start? The apartment was easy to find and Viktor and Berta were waiting to meet us. They were gracious and charming, and set us at ease immediately. A lovely welcome pack awaited us, and the nearest supermarket was literally just across the road.
As many have said previously, the apartment lacks nothing, being extremely well equipped and very comfortable. Breakfast on the balcony was a delight.
We were centrally located in Funchal Old Town being only 2 or 3 mins stroll from the harbour and only 10 mins walk to Rua Santa Maria with dozens of wonderful restaurants and atmosphere.
Can highly recommend visiting the Municipal Gardens (5 mins stroll away) and try a glass of Vinho Branco sitting outside the Ritz!
We cannot recommend this apartment highly enough: it was truly a great find.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshineg...
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just a quick review to compliment Berta and her husband on a lovely, clean, well equipped centrally located apartment.

We have just returned from a 10 night stay. The apartment has everything you would need in a holiday let.

The sun arrives on the rear balcony at around 8am and stays until 12., when it moves round to the front terrace where we have spent many afternoons until early evening enjoying the sun.

Berta and her husband who met us on arrival where extremely helpful and lovely people. They gave us their tel numbers just in case we needed them but we didn't at all as the apartment has everything needed.

The bakery is 25 mts away and the huge supermarket is on the ground floor of the shopping mall in the same building.

Having booked many apartments over the years, I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Funchal who would rather have an independent holiday,

Thanks again Berta
Tanya & Marc x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill519
Funchal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunny, spacious and ideally located”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is our ideal location. It's in the centre near to the sea-front, all the amenities and our favourite restaurants. The apartment is roomy, light, very comfortable with lots of personal touches from the owner and a balcony which is sunny for most of the day. It was absolutely ideal for us and we hope to return again next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennyNort...
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great apartment, good location”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We spent an enjoyable week in this lovely apartment which is on two floors.
Great location with good restaurants and coffee shops close by. Shopping centre with supermarket in basement, two minutes away. The apartment was immaculate and really well equipped. Comfortable bed with lots of lovely soft pillows. Although in a central location was very quiet at night. The balcony caught the sun most of the day. Airport bus stop close by. Berta very friendly and left her phone number with us in case we needed anything. A lovely welcome pack of wine, local cheese, butter and traditional biscuits. Would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetp282
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvellous location”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely three weeks break , in Berta and husbands apartment. There was everything you could wish to have, very well equipped, plenty of everything, lovely soft towels , maid service .and delightful owners.
The apartment is in a prime position,, right in the hub of thing,, but ones you are in your little home you are in a world of you own.
We hope to have a return trip . Our daughter in the same apartment now.
Many thanks . Janet Turner

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraEd...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Central, quiet, comfortable, sunny”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
6
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Berta's apartment for a week in the middle of January. Berta was waiting at the flat to let us in and show us round. We had a set of keys each, which is unusual and very good - makes staying there much easier.

We spent a lot of time on the balcony off the living room, which has two deckchairs and a table with two comfortable chairs with padded cushions. The sun hits the balcony most of the day, and falls behind the hill around 5.30pm at this time of year which is great, as we were able to sit out any time of day. Too chilly when the sun goes in though - reminds me of a nice Scottish summer's day!

I would echo other reviewers' positive comments about the apartment - comfy bed, comfy living room, nice decor etc. Amazingly quiet at night, especially considering you are right in the centre. I'm not sure I could stay for a month, as others have, as there is no oven and only two rings and we like to eat in a lot, but absolutely fine for a week or two. Great to have basics such as dishwasher tablets etc provided, very thoughtful.

We took the airport bus there and back, and the apartment is situated a short stroll from the bus stops. Coming from the airport you get off at Avenido do Mar, simple. Returning is more tricky because the airport bus website does not have a clear map. However, the stop to go to is even closer than the one where you got off. It is on Rua Dr Brito Camara, at the other side of La Vie shopping centre (can't miss the shopping centre, it is one minute walk from the apartment). The stop is outside the pharmacy. The bus goes up round the roundabout, then down the opposite side of the road to the sea front, Avenido do Mar. Don't worry if it is five minutes late - ours was!

We would certainly return to this apartment, and would highly recommend it to others - especially for a bit of January sun!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super little apartment in great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed a 5 night stay, our first visit to Madeira; the apartment was perfectly located for us and furnished very well. Comfortable bed, kitchen very usable with lots of items over and above the ‘standard' rental apartment ( right down to cling film, large selection of crockery and cutlery etc).
Owners Berta & Victor and their son Pedro were amazing. Organised taxi transfers, carried our bags up and down the stairs, very conscientious, helpful hosts. The welcome pack of water, butter, cheese & milk even included gluten free biscuits for me - so thoughtful of Berta!
Would have been a full 5 stars were it not for:
Tricky situation with not much hot water ( not enough to wash my hair or shower one person after another).
If you're tall ( as we are) showering involves doing the limbo as does walking downstairs ( to avoid smacking forehead) and the small single room really really has restricted headroom ( and no door)
But really, these are small things not to overshadow how great this apartment is!
It's location is great, it's clean, well equipped and the owners are super helpful.
As an aside, the lift wasn't working when we were there ( owners did let us know Before we arrived so it wasn't a surprise). The stairs are cream marble and twist around the lift shaft. Abt 50 of them. Just for information. Owners are doing their very best to have lift working again asap.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing