We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #50 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Mt. Pleasant, SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We spent two nights in May at this lovely hotel. The view over the city from our room and the wonderful terrace below was breathtaking.. Lovely pool although it was too chilly to swim. Our room and bathroom were excellent: quiet, spacious and beautifully decorated. Excellent breakfast and friendly service. Adjacent free parking is a plus as a car is a necessity. Very convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    63
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
16
181
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menen, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

What an experience: Warm welcome, great staff,big well furnished room and amazing marble bathroom. Exceptionaly amazing view over Funchal harbour and city.Very good breakfast with "prosecco" and warm dishes on simple demand.Free internet in the Business Room. Big wellness with sauna, Turkish bath,relax room and whirlpool. Fitness room.Design all around. Beautiful sitting areas inside and outside. Good Pool.Free parking.TIP: Madeira's hotspot tobogans passing in the street 'Caminho do Monte'.
A dream to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hotel is very modern and classy. We were given a glass of champagne on our arrival, which made us feel very welcomed. The staff was friendly, they booked us a levada walk and gave some tips about nightlife in Funchal. I especially want to say thanks to the restaurant workers - you made our stay perfect with excellent service and friendly attitudes. We ate at the hotel restaurant every night, because we were usually too tired to go anywhere else after our long days of walking around, and because the food was great. The rooms were beautiful, with a nice terrace and bathroom. We used the spa and the gym frequently. When I noticed the jacuzzi wasn't working properly it was fixed right away. The location was in a good place, not too far away from Monte and only a few kilometres down to the city center. We definitely worked up a sweat climbing a steep road, but it was totally ok. The bus stop is actually quite near, so one can take a bus to the town. I recommend this hotel especially to the couples, it is really romantic.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e-elisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Sorry for the delay but I'm a new kid on Trip Adviser........
I'm not sure what attracted me to the Quinta Mirabela - maybe I liked the pictures and description! 'Small is beautiful', said Schumacher. I like that.
I certainly knew that I did not want the bizz of the Hotel Zone west of Funchal (from previous experience) as I came to Madeira to chill - based on the hotel's reviews at the time and I am fastidious.
Ok - the hotel's located high above the city in, or near, the 'village' of Monte with spectacular views over the city and port. All rooms have this view. Room Service was excellent. Breakfast was adequate enough for me but might disappoint others who expect 'more'. A la carte dining was excellent - with the chef's 'theme' nights, al fresco, a joy. Overall, the staff were wonderful - multilingual, attentive and caring towards visitors' needs at all times - from Reception to dining room to domestic services - and, as usual, I was on first name terms! That's my way.
It's not 'that' long a (downhill) walk to the city but it does tax the joints! Uphill? .. No comment - another matter - and that's why I hired a car which added to the fun.
I came here to be pampered and I was not disappointed. For those who need 'entertained', Funchal is but a taxi ride away!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnyRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Set on a hill, with spectacular views over Fuchal. Only 24 rooms all with bay views. This is the quietest hotel we have ever stayed in. Staff at the hotel are some of the best we have had, everything was well catered for. Be prepared to use taxis, hire a car or use the local bus service (which is very efficent and cheap - get a pass at the bus station). Food at the hotel is good, especially the breakfast. Waiters have a good sense of humour and are always pleased to help. Due to the position of the hotel there were no children staying at the hotel. Most people were young couples or middle aged. There were very few English staying at the hotel. The Spa facilities were good and free as was the gym. Only downside is the relatively small pool for the keen swimmer, however the position and view compensates for the size. if you want a quiet, hassle free holiday select this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y_monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

its my secound time in Quinta Mirabela. and my opinion stays the same. its a lovelly cottage locatted bettween the hussle of the city and the forest above. with a superb views over the bays and city, with a private free parking lot. the interior is trendy and sofisticated. they have a gym, outdoor pool and a hamman, jacuzzi and sauna. a Lovely garden with white sheets garden bed hiddens between very old trees and flowers. theres a restaurant and bar with a arabic style interior garden. the rooms are spacious and sofisticated very queen size beds, some of them with small balconies facing the bay, there´s a minibar but it was empty (no even a bottle of water...). the breakfirts is good with goog variety, but for a 5 star acomodation it could be better... the staff are nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Just arrived from Madeira and had the greatest experience with Quinta da Mirabela.

It is a small, perfectly located hotel in the Monte - Funchal, from where you have this great view of the bay. At night it feels like you are in the top of a skyscraper and can see all the lights and boats coming in the city.

It was easy to get to the hotel, following the hotel manager's directions, but I advise you to rent a car of get a taxi, as the hotel is located on a very stiff hill. Taxi from the airport is 25€ and you can get a rental car for around 20€.

The rooms are big, full of light and the decoration is modern. The breakfast is good, with enough variety and quality products.

The most positive aspect of my experience was most definitely the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and nice! We were upgraded from a standard to a superior room with balcony, free of charge. They also gave us free internet access and were always ready to respond to our needs.

It isn't hard to find flaws in any hotel. Quinta da Mirabela isn't perfect, but I consider it to be a top option for those who want to explore the island but also have quiet place to go back too.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JorgeAbreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#59 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,100 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Property: Quinta Mirabela
Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing