We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in a hotel”
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We booked a trip to Madeira at the ultimate last minute but were relieved to find Quinta Mirabela was our first stop. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel at home with a glass of wine and delivery to our room. The staff are impressive with their ability to jump between languages and still make you feel important and appreciated. Once we got into our room, we were delighted with the size of it and the little touches like nicely presented bathrobes and pillows across the spacious bed. All of the rooms seem to have great views down to Funchal and the setting is amazing with loads of quiet reading and sitting places to hide in.
The pool area is lovely once you get used to the squeal of people sliding down the hill on toboggans and no longer feel the need to jump up and spy on them. Although the pool is quite cold, it's a much needed respite from the sun when it's blazing. We also used the jacuzzi which was a nice way to warm up before returning to your room. If you want to use the sauna or turkish bath just call reception 10 minutes beforehand so they can turn it on.
The breakfasts were another delicious treat with fresh coffee and hot milk as well as your choice of eggs - I had a delicious omelette each morning before my fresh fruit and yoghurt. Dinners were also great, I recommend the bread pudding and chocolate fondant for dessert - they were moreish!
The hotel can also organise a rental car at a cheaper price than we found elsewhere on the island. They are very helpful at giving you information to explore the area and the island.
We initially booked for 2 nights but extended our stay another night and after exploring more of the island, we returned for our final couple of nights because we felt so at home here.
Thanks to Ricardo and all of the staff who made our holiday fabulous.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happilytravelled11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We looked forward to this holiday for months and we were delighted with our choice of hotel. The Management were very welcoming, and responded immediately and effectively to the few minor problems we encountered.
Quinta Mirabela is in an excellent location between Funchal and Monte, and the toboggans will even drop you off at the front door! The superior room we stayed in had a panoramic view of the city. The room was well equipped and decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping was perfect. Separate pool towels were provided, and we were encouraged to take these to the beach as well.
The Hotel has a twice-daily courtesy bus service to Funchal, as the walk up from the town is strictly for the very fit and taxis cost about €15 one way. The Tropical Gardens at Monte Palace are extensive and well worth a visit. The door-to-door round-trip by courtesy bus to Funchal, cable car to the gardens at Monte, and toboggan run home, is great fun.
The Hotel has a Rosso Pomodoro restaurant and the special dishes we tried were delicious, however the less expensive items were disappointing, and the time between courses was sometimes unacceptably long.
There is a large private car park, and having a car is recommended for getting around the island but, be warned, the roads are VERY steep and the parking spaces on the street are TINY (even for a Ford Fiesta!)
We found Quinta Mirabela to be a wonderful base for exploring Madeira, and would warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lagomorphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our one week holiday in May. I travelled together with my mother and was looking for something quiet and classy. This place met all our expectations as it was very clean, with extremly pleasant and helpful staff and delicious food. The late afternoon/evening views over Funchal from the terrace were unforgettable. I'd recommend it to anyone and would definitely return to it if in Madeira again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaDeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This Quinta is a real treat; wonderful service and facilities at very reasonable prices. The room was quite small but very comfortable, the food was excellent and the views spectacular over Funchal. The hotel is on a steep hill and the tobogan run can be seen from the terrace. There is a hotel bus which takes you into Funchal or you can use the public bus, the bus stop is a short walk from the hotel. There are plenty of taxis about too. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessielilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We spent two nights in May at this lovely hotel. The view over the city from our room and the wonderful terrace below was breathtaking.. Lovely pool although it was too chilly to swim. Our room and bathroom were excellent: quiet, spacious and beautifully decorated. Excellent breakfast and friendly service. Adjacent free parking is a plus as a car is a necessity. Very convenient to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WEWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

What an experience: Warm welcome, great staff,big well furnished room and amazing marble bathroom. Exceptionaly amazing view over Funchal harbour and city.Very good breakfast with "prosecco" and warm dishes on simple demand.Free internet in the Business Room. Big wellness with sauna, Turkish bath,relax room and whirlpool. Fitness room.Design all around. Beautiful sitting areas inside and outside. Good Pool.Free parking.TIP: Madeira's hotspot tobogans passing in the street 'Caminho do Monte'.
A dream to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

This hotel is very modern and classy. We were given a glass of champagne on our arrival, which made us feel very welcomed. The staff was friendly, they booked us a levada walk and gave some tips about nightlife in Funchal. I especially want to say thanks to the restaurant workers - you made our stay perfect with excellent service and friendly attitudes. We ate at the hotel restaurant every night, because we were usually too tired to go anywhere else after our long days of walking around, and because the food was great. The rooms were beautiful, with a nice terrace and bathroom. We used the spa and the gym frequently. When I noticed the jacuzzi wasn't working properly it was fixed right away. The location was in a good place, not too far away from Monte and only a few kilometres down to the city center. We definitely worked up a sweat climbing a steep road, but it was totally ok. The bus stop is actually quite near, so one can take a bus to the town. I recommend this hotel especially to the couples, it is really romantic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-elisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#15 of 88 in Funchal
2,330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 88 in Funchal
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#60 of 88 in Funchal
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#45 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £67 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing