We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but off town....”
Review of Quinta Mirabela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Mirabela
Ranked #49 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but off town....”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, with excellent view on Funchal. However, situated on hill quite difficult to reach, if you do not have a car. If you want to dine and drink in town in the evening, and do not want to walk ( nearly impossible) or do not want to wait for the bus, you need a taxi...! Overall nice...! But next time We would recommend a self catering in down town, as sometimes cheaper, especially if you only need a place to sleep..!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank André H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    63
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
16
183
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

we visited this hotel for 5 nights at the end of march on half board basis. on arrival the reception staff were welcoming and helpfu and gave us a glass of bubbly while booking in, and because it was our 40th wedding anniversary on the following day had fruit and champagne waiting in our room which was a very nice gesture.
The room had wonderful views over the harbour and was well presented. the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and had a spacious and yet intimate feel .
my wife is a coeliac and the chef/waiting staff ensured she was able to enjoy our evening dinner all 5 nights without keep having to check if she could eat the various courses. She also had plenty of choice at breakfast including gluten free bread, so well done for this as some hotels in the U.K fail dismally on these points.
i would recommend the quinta mirabela very highly for the way they look after their guests and do all they can to ensure your stay is completely stress free.
the only downside of our visit was it rained on 4 of the 5 days but unfortunately this was the one thing beyond the control of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on floor 1 have private balcony and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A nice place, with a stunning view on Funchal and the sea !
Rooms are particularly pleasurable, and the staff is very hospitable.
The car park is just close to the hotel.
You will like the wellbeing of the spa after a day's discovery in Madeira !
Menu at the restaurant is really succulent and served with courtesy.
However, the breakfast could be better: the fruit juices, the bread, and the croissants are "industrial", and not in coherence with the rest of the services.
Double beds are two juxtaposed single beds, with sheets tucked in the middle, with the consequences you can imagine on the tourist's fecundity...
A little snag: a dog, near the hotel, barks every nights !
Cost places this hotel in the upmarket offer, but the service is up to it !
Don't forget to rent a car to make the most of your stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the last floor, to take advantage of the view on Funchal and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_34_au_soleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a fabulous five nights at this hotel. It was lovely from start to finish. Having been fleeced at the airport by the hire car company, and a scary close encounter with a tobagon on the way to the hotel. We walked into the calm tranquillity of the hotel reception to be meeted with a warm welcome and glass of fizz.
The rooms are a tiny bit on the small side but the views just take your breath away. All of the rooms have an incredible sea view which takes on the whole pf funchal.
The spa facilities are great. We had a great massage which made a fab end to the trip and helped ease the aching limbs from walking doqn the hill into town.
The afternoon tea was another high point and excellent value with again a fab back drop.
Breakfast was generous and of a high quality with lovely omelettes.
A lovely property in an amazing location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank essexlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbighshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a week at the Mirabella WOW !
Not a single complaint
It was just perfect
Fab breakfast beautiful table linen and bed linen
Jacuzzi and spa including sauna and Turkish bath spot on
Free wifi in bar and reception
Handy bus to town and great poncho on crossroads at bottom of hill where the sledges stop

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea but not all have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDenbighshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is approx. halfway up a steep hill towards Monte and is definitely not for the faint-hearted tourist who enjoys ambling around, people-watching. You need a hire car, good street map, or plenty of money for taxi trips.

The hotel is modern, clean, quirky (you walk through a mirror to get to some of the bedrooms!) and very well staffed. Restaurant is excellent, atmosphere relaxed yet smart, and the staff are keen to please. Bedroom was a good size and looked out over the swimming pool (not in use in Feb!)

Beware the temperamental card machine on checking out - we were charged twice for our 2 night stay, necessitating a special visit up there and several emails to get the refund. Could be because of the poor wifi connections.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the city far below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARWEJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for five nights and was awarded super service from all staff. After the initial disapointment of how small the room are we enjoyed our stay. Due to the step hill all around funchal the hotel can be a little isoltaed. But eh hotel bus - for free - helps a lot. When there are free wifi all over - as there soon will be according to the manager - it's truely a five star hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlemmingH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 mi away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 86 in Funchal
901 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Mirabela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Mirabela

Property: Quinta Mirabela
Address: Caminho do Monte 105-107, Funchal, Madeira 9050-288, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#44 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Mirabela 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Mirabela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Mirabela Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Hotel Funchal
Quinta Mirabela Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing