We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed food reviews, poor staff”
Review of Alfama Restaurant

Alfama Restaurant
Reserve with
Alfama Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 692 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$41
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Discover the flavours of Portuguese cuisine, a mouth-watering taste of the most appetizing dishes.Buffet breakfast • à la carte or set menu lunch and dinner • served inside and on the terrace next to the garden* Seating: 106 Opening times: 07.30 to 10.30, 12.30 to 15.00 and 19.00 to 21.30 (sunday open only for breakfast)* Weather permitting
Reviewed 28 February 2014

One very bad meal and one good meal, combined with all round poor service made this a restaurant we won't visit again.

1  Thank DumDum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Everything. Food, service and surroundings. A great place to relax and enjoy lunch. Time just stands still.

1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Dined here twice for dinner.

First time I had Scabbard fish as I'd not had it for a few years.Much as I remembered it,it was okay.Wife chose the Tuna steak(it was beautifully cooked)

2nd time of dining we both had the Tuna,it was as good as the first time.Would certainly recommend this choice(in fact we both had it again for lunch)can't remember the last time we'd had such a superb tasting fish dish.Chef and kitchen have a winner on their hands here?

Staff very pleasant and service as one would expect of a 4 star hotel.

Do try it if you are staying in hotel or nearby

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shroppiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Alfama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear client,

First of all thank you for being our cliente at Alfama restaurante. Secondly also thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your thoughts about your gastronomic experiences in our place and happy to know that overall you have enjoyed it.

We sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Brilliant staff - excellent food served to the table - unhurried - quieter than some of the other restaurants - our favourite. Just a pity they close on Sundays and Mondays, but the staff are so good they deserve their days off.

1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Alfama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear client,

Thank you so much for the “Simply the best!” review about Alfama restaurant. So rewarding to know that you had a positive dining experience and took good impression of our staff.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado,



. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staff were very good and friendly and the food was excellent. The only shame was that the restaurant is closed Sunday and Monday.

1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Alfama Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Client,

Just a short note to thank you for your feedback about Alfama and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it. Thank you also for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.

Regarding the closing days I have taken good note of it but please understand that we do have other gastronomic options within the Vila Porto Mare that can be a good alternative.

We will always be pleased to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfama Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alfama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing