We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duas Torres”
Review of Duas Torres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duas Torres
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Staff very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of space for two people in these apartments with a separate living area and, in my case, a new shower room, very clean. My balcony had a fantastic panaramic view of the Atlantic, great to eat breakfast whilst listening to the waves crashing against the rocks just below. Rooms are cleaned every day, this is a bonus as it is not always the case in self-catering rentals. The lift is very efficient. I didn't try the restaurant but it has a good à la carte menu with 10% reduction for clients of the hotel. The bus stop is just outside and over the road is the Forum Madeira -- excellent place to go on a rainy day, great shops (excellent supermarket with fantastic fish) and cinema with films in original version. This hotel is very well located,(it can be an advantage to be slightly out of town) and represents very good value for money. The only downside is the soundproofing between the floors, I was often woken up by the early-risers upstairs apparently dragging their furniture around without any consideration for their neighbours. Don't be put off by this as it seems to be a problem common to most hotels. I would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit this beautiful island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are very close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beryl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

I got a room just above a swimming pool and bar, what was sometimes noisy in the night. Room was clean and basic, tv, airconditioned. I expected a safe box for some of my staff, but this was too small, suitable just for money and documents. Hotel is well placed just oposite to the shoping mall, bus station in front of the hotel. I have paid for a half board choosing from two possibilities, what was not the best. Service was good and fast. Mostly a food I got outside was better comparing to the hotel. Generally this is a good place to stay. Madeira is a nice island to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pajuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

The food was good food 10% discount for hotel guests. The hotel was basic but in beautiful surroundings - for a hotel on a budget and much cheaper than most surrounding Madeira hotels it was an excellent deal. Pool clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francoisejannick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The hotel is always immaculately clean and the studios are well laid out. There is a double bed room, bathroom and living room with a balcony. The kitchen is simple but clean and well enogh equipped for simple cooking. The Forum madeirs shopping centre is about 2 minutes walk across the road with a wide range of shops and eating places and with a Pingo Doce supermarket in the lower ground floor. All rooms ending in 5, 6, ans 7 have spectacular sea views facing both East and west. The receptionist are friendly and helpful, and the cleaners are thorough.The Restaurant O Classico, attached to the hotel does very good food with excellent service. There is a 10% discount for residents. There is a good pool with a cafe which serves really good snack lunces. The pork with wine and vinegar is delicious! This was aor 4th Visit and we will return!

Room Tip: Upper floors ending in 5, 6 or 7 have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oldwols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

What a delightful trip, from the moment the Airport Bus dropped us off (virtually outside) to when it picked us up four days later.

The Apartment had a bedroom, bathroom, living room and kitchenette. Ideal for breakfasts and keeping out drinks cold in the Fridge! Lovely Balcony where we could watch the sun go down in the evening, and the Staff just couldn't have been more helpful.Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I've stayed there with my partner for 4 nights. The price was fair. The accomodations was clean. The room service and staff was nice. The swimming pool has a fantastic view.
We had a kichenette. very nice to cook some litle things.
Only annoyence was the noise and the smell in the toilets in the morning.

Room Tip: Get rooms wiht sea-side or not exposed to the road, quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What Can I say.....just returned a couple of days ago and we had the worst possible stay possible, the hotel room was on the 7th Floor and was dirty and very, very basic. Went to check out but the Manager/Owner was away on his holiday and the Receptionist said to complain but would not refund any money as paid for the room in advance, Big Mistake. The receptionist agreed that all our complaints were justified and that the other tower block had been sold off privately and so the remaining hotel block is kept clean by 3 subcontracted maids who do their best but no other maintenance is carried out. The rugs on the floor in the bedroom and lounge were brown with dirt and we asked that be removed, the toilet fixtures are falling off the wall or broken (toilet holder and sink shelf) glasses in cupboard were cracked and we asked for new glasses, the windows in the bedroom and bathroom have not been cleaned for months or years, disgusting. The floors are tiled on all floors and the noise is incredible from other floors above especially if the persons wear stilettos until the early hours of the morning, so no sleep for two nights and the beds, geez they are hard and very uncomfortable. The positive point is the restaurant which is privately owned and fantastic, good enough for Alberto Jardim (President) then you get the picture, try the steaks and the homemade chocolate and peanut ice cream is to die for. The other plus is the location, try the Lido down below, buy a family ticket for € 15.00 which allows 10 visits and you can top up the card at any time, the card is valid for 15 years, so you can use the following visit, the originial Lido was destroyed suring the 2010 storms, witnessed that first hand, talk of repairs but later in the year. If you like Portuguese food then try the restaurant above and outside the Shopping Forum on the corner, lots to try and chefs specials in the evening like Cabrita etc and lots of picks at lunch time such as Tripe, Carapau, Caraccois and some food for the English, should your stomach prefer it. Another bug bear is the internet, Wi-Fi in the reception only and if you forget your laptop then you can use the one computer which costs € 1.00 for 15 minutes, they charge for everything at this dump, cheeky buggers. For the same price you can stay in Machico at the Dom Pedro and get breakfast thrown in aswell, huge mistake and a disgrace Duas Torres, close down and refurbish or demolish and get Pestana to build a proper hotel!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: HIgher up to avoid noise from above. Facing Funchal gets morning sun and Facing Camera do Lobos gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.2 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#18 of 88 in Funchal
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#56 of 88 in Funchal
143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#45 of 88 in Funchal
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 88 in Funchal
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Torres

Address: Estrada Monumental 239, Funchal, Madeira 9004-536, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#38 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £40 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duas Torres 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duas Torres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duas Torres Funchal
Duas Torres Hotel Funchal
Duas Torres Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing