We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Duas Torres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duas Torres
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This was our seventh trip to Madeira and having stayed previously in 4 star hotels we were not sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised.
We had a room with a sea and pool view and plenty of space. Self catering facilities were a little basic but we eat out every evening so did not really matter. Walls were a bit thin and any noisy neighbours were not welcome.
The bar and restaurant were 4 star standard and the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily and linens changed. We used the bus from the airport and it stops right outside the door, very useful.
We would certainly not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnimpLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

All was perfect,I do recommend !
The worse was have to come back home!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeLoius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Despite paying less for a week that some nearby hotels charge for a night, a better deal would have been hard, if not impossible to find. Being an old volcano sticking out of the Atlantic, you can travel in two directions on Madeira - up or down. The inclines from many of the other seafront hotels were horrendous, but at Duas Torres it was a gentle 50 metre slope. The air conditioned rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels were provided every day and the beds were made every day. The poolside bar was one of the cheapest places around to eat - and drink - and the staff were just brilliant, smiling, polite and helpful and there was a computer with free internet access. And if that wasn't enough, there was a courtesy bus to take you into - and bring you back from - the centre of town every day (three out, two in). The views from the ample balconies are stunning, there's a shopping mall and supermarket opposite and loads of places to eat and drink nearby, as well as the hotel's own quality restaurant. The airport bus even stops right outside! Negatives? Half of one. No electric kettle, so the morning tea or coffee took a little longer than expected. So you just have to sit in the sun and wait for electric hob to heat up. Shame that.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgtiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

just got back from 5 nights at the duas torres, some good some bad

bad points,

hotel staff totally clueless to any information you might need, they didnt even know 1st dec was bank holiday grr. shower didnt fit on wall so had to shower holding head with 1 hand and it came out extremly slowly, so difficult to shower. fridge came on and off all night very loud and woke us up, accommodation very basic, they wont exchange currency which was a pain !!!


good points

we had a balcony with lovely views of the sea. hotel was across the road from a lovely shopping centre sadly for my hubby who hates shopping lol. room was fairly clean. location ok but not within walking distance of town, but they run a free mini bus weekdays for a few hours a day. ideal if you want budget accommodation, apt was a decent size with a tv, fridge, 2 ring burner. towels werent changed regularly

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elliemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Duas Torres.
We specifically booked a budget holiday just to have a look at Madiera, with a view to maybe be going back and if we did, going a bit more up market. We discovered that we loved Madiera and there is really no need to go more up market.

Even though this was a very basic hotel the whole place was absolutley spotless. We had a great sea view from our room and a small kitchen area with the usual two hobs, microwave and fridge. Ideal for cups of tea and snacks. It also has a small pool with nice views directly over the sea.

The hotel location is about a 40 minutes walk into Funchal. There is a courtesy bus which runs about every hour until 5pm, but not weekends. The normal island bus stop is right outside and it cost about 2 euros each way to the centre.
The hotel staff were OK not overly friendly but pleasant.
There are restaurants within walking distance and a small new modern mall directly opposite with a food court and a big supermarket.

The old town and wondering around Funchal was great, but we preffered our location as it was quieter and quite flat.
Just to note. The walk into Funchal from the more centrel hotels had some quite steep hills which became more lethal after the rain. Unfortunatley we had a lot of rain, but it stayed warm and didn't spoil the holiday.

If you need to book a trip Strawberry tours seem the best. We did go on the cable car to Monte. It cost 14 euros each and gives you a great view of the island. On the downside it costs another 10 euros each to visit the gardens at the top. We worked it out to be almost £50 for 2 overall, a bit of a rip off. Hence no garden visit for us.

We will defianltey go back, maybe when the euro rate improves as it is not cheap, but well worth a visit.
We used the airport bus which also stops outside the hotel. It only costs 5 euros one way each and takes about 40 mins. But only runs about every 2 hours so if you have to get a taxi it will cost you approx 35 euros.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

This hotel is great value. The building itself is fairly old but has obviously been refurbished in the last year to a good standard. Room was clean and very spacious, like an apartment with a kitchen, sofa, dining table etc and a long balcony outside with a fantastic sea view. It is worth asking for a sea view when you book if possible as one side of the hotel does face the car park. The hotel is in the 'tourist town' but you can get a free bus from the hotel at certain times of the day or a public bus (about every 10 minutes) from just outside the hotel into funchal port and the old town. I would guess to walk in would take around 40 minutes or so and it is mostly downhill going into town.You can also get an aerobus from the same bus stop outside the hotel when you travel back to the airport which cost us 5 Euro each-much cheaper than a taxi.
There is a shopping centre opposite the hotel with a supermarket, bakery and chemist etc, and plenty of restaurants nearby although they are more expensive than in the centre of funchal. Some of them do have great sea views though.
There is a nice, clean swimming pool at the hotel-again with a great sea view! The restaurant is open for all meals and there is also a cocktail bar and a handy snack bar by the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank j142016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Just had a 2 week stay at this rather dated but value for money hotel, located some distance from Funchal centre.
The room was large, in fact a suite, with small separate bedroom, had a great view of the sea, nothing much else, maybe the odd ship or boat. The hotel had a good sized pool, clean and reasonably well maintained. Pool towels were provided. The room was clean, kitchenette was adequate, don't expect to cook an elaborate meal in it, but anyway your on holiday........the bathroom had all the essentials, including a bidet but no small bottles of complementary toiletries, so either bring you own or pop across the road to the super sized shopping centre, open all hours.
Breakfast is also basic but for the 50 euro a night B&B you can't really expect much else, if you get tired of the boiled eggs, plastic ham and cheese give yourself a treat and pop into the cafe/bakery across the road and grab a great cup of coffee and some lovely pastries instead!!
Don't expect too much from this hotel, even after 10days they were still asking for our room number at breakfast! Use as a base, not really a place to lounge about in.The communal rooms are limited and a little shabby. The free bus to town, bus stop and taxi rank just outside, are a bonus, but make the effort to walk into town, there is a lovely walk along the coast with plenty of watering places to stop at.
The hotel restaurant is actually okay, frequented by the locals, try the covers, a selection of tapas type dishes, followed by duck in rice..... Best fish we had was at the little place on the way to the tunnel going along the coastal path, away from Funchal, lots of steps down too and up from it. Simple fish dishes,done well at a fair price.

If you want a real experience, thats just fabulous, book a table on the balcony at Villa Cipriani, a Reid's restaurant on Estrada Monumental, be prepared to spend some serious money but it was by far the best meal we had out.

You get what you pay for here, a good sized room, and if you aren't looking over the car park you must have a sea view of some sort, we had a great view.

Madeira is a lovely island, with balmy weather, good for walking, lots of lovely gardens, if you don't want to drive on the twisty roads hire a taxi for the day and explore, there are several set routes around the island, haggle and get a good price. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foodytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
5.4 mi away
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
4.1 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#31 of 88 in Funchal
411 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#69 of 88 in Funchal
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#27 of 88 in Funchal
1,049 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
529 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 88 in Funchal
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Torres

Address: Estrada Monumental 239, Funchal, Madeira 9004-536, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £49 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duas Torres 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duas Torres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duas Torres Funchal
Duas Torres Hotel Funchal
Duas Torres Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing