We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Duas Torres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duas Torres
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Lovely hotel, views are amazing. Good location. The resturant was good and the staff were really helpful

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westonmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    129
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
55
174
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Yes the hotel is tired but for value for money cannot be beaten. We paid just under £30 a night (the view alone was worth that) Rooms basic but clean, staff not overly friendly but they do their job well. Free mini bus into town if you want , it's about 40 mins quick walk though very pleasant if you take your time and stop for a drink along the way. Madeira Forum opposite with lots of shops,places to eat and a supermarket. Pool bar serves very good priced snacks and drinks, large beer 2e. This was our 2nd visit to Duas Torres but it won't be our last.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This was our seventh trip to Madeira and having stayed previously in 4 star hotels we were not sure what to expect but were very pleasantly surprised.
We had a room with a sea and pool view and plenty of space. Self catering facilities were a little basic but we eat out every evening so did not really matter. Walls were a bit thin and any noisy neighbours were not welcome.
The bar and restaurant were 4 star standard and the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms were cleaned daily and linens changed. We used the bus from the airport and it stops right outside the door, very useful.
We would certainly not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnimpLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

All was perfect,I do recommend !
The worse was have to come back home!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLoius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Despite paying less for a week that some nearby hotels charge for a night, a better deal would have been hard, if not impossible to find. Being an old volcano sticking out of the Atlantic, you can travel in two directions on Madeira - up or down. The inclines from many of the other seafront hotels were horrendous, but at Duas Torres it was a gentle 50 metre slope. The air conditioned rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels were provided every day and the beds were made every day. The poolside bar was one of the cheapest places around to eat - and drink - and the staff were just brilliant, smiling, polite and helpful and there was a computer with free internet access. And if that wasn't enough, there was a courtesy bus to take you into - and bring you back from - the centre of town every day (three out, two in). The views from the ample balconies are stunning, there's a shopping mall and supermarket opposite and loads of places to eat and drink nearby, as well as the hotel's own quality restaurant. The airport bus even stops right outside! Negatives? Half of one. No electric kettle, so the morning tea or coffee took a little longer than expected. So you just have to sit in the sun and wait for electric hob to heat up. Shame that.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgtiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

just got back from 5 nights at the duas torres, some good some bad

bad points,

hotel staff totally clueless to any information you might need, they didnt even know 1st dec was bank holiday grr. shower didnt fit on wall so had to shower holding head with 1 hand and it came out extremly slowly, so difficult to shower. fridge came on and off all night very loud and woke us up, accommodation very basic, they wont exchange currency which was a pain !!!


good points

we had a balcony with lovely views of the sea. hotel was across the road from a lovely shopping centre sadly for my hubby who hates shopping lol. room was fairly clean. location ok but not within walking distance of town, but they run a free mini bus weekdays for a few hours a day. ideal if you want budget accommodation, apt was a decent size with a tv, fridge, 2 ring burner. towels werent changed regularly

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — broken showe and noisey fridge
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Duas Torres.
We specifically booked a budget holiday just to have a look at Madiera, with a view to maybe be going back and if we did, going a bit more up market. We discovered that we loved Madiera and there is really no need to go more up market.

Even though this was a very basic hotel the whole place was absolutley spotless. We had a great sea view from our room and a small kitchen area with the usual two hobs, microwave and fridge. Ideal for cups of tea and snacks. It also has a small pool with nice views directly over the sea.

The hotel location is about a 40 minutes walk into Funchal. There is a courtesy bus which runs about every hour until 5pm, but not weekends. The normal island bus stop is right outside and it cost about 2 euros each way to the centre.
The hotel staff were OK not overly friendly but pleasant.
There are restaurants within walking distance and a small new modern mall directly opposite with a food court and a big supermarket.

The old town and wondering around Funchal was great, but we preffered our location as it was quieter and quite flat.
Just to note. The walk into Funchal from the more centrel hotels had some quite steep hills which became more lethal after the rain. Unfortunatley we had a lot of rain, but it stayed warm and didn't spoil the holiday.

If you need to book a trip Strawberry tours seem the best. We did go on the cable car to Monte. It cost 14 euros each and gives you a great view of the island. On the downside it costs another 10 euros each to visit the gardens at the top. We worked it out to be almost £50 for 2 overall, a bit of a rip off. Hence no garden visit for us.

We will defianltey go back, maybe when the euro rate improves as it is not cheap, but well worth a visit.
We used the airport bus which also stops outside the hotel. It only costs 5 euros one way each and takes about 40 mins. But only runs about every 2 hours so if you have to get a taxi it will cost you approx 35 euros.

  • Liked — how clean it was
  • Disliked — Reception staff not particulary friendly or helpful
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joerad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#13 of 86 in Funchal
1,130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#57 of 86 in Funchal
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duas Torres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duas Torres

Property: Duas Torres
Address: Estrada Monumental 239, Funchal, Madeira 9004-536, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#31 Family Hotel in Funchal
#37 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#40 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duas Torres 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duas Torres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duas Torres Funchal
Duas Torres Hotel Funchal
Duas Torres Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing