We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shambolic....very disappointing management attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dorisol Florasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dorisol Florasol
Ranked #55 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shambolic....very disappointing management attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We recently stayed here, but never again. We’re insisting on compensation of a full refund.
I’m not prepared to mention to many positives about this hotel, as they’re easily negated by the negatives.
We had the unfortunate company of an under 13s national girls basketball team staying at the same time, pretty much unsupervised, who, “every night” thought it was ok to run up and down the corridors banging and crashing doors until the early hours, one night until 02:45. Plus the screaming and shouting whenever they were around the pool area. Also, there was also only one lift working in this 12 floor hotel for the whole duration of our stay.
We complained formally to the manager about the noise, and the response we received was “what can I do?” “well, how about asking them to behave themselves or leave”

This was definitely not relaxing holiday. The location is also not particularly good, about 30-40 mins walk to the main town, and very little to do locally in the evening.

Room Tip: Good size rooms. Kitchens inadequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AndyJoe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    138
    114
    36
    28
See reviews for
92
167
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Good location and reasonably priced.
Room clean but the bed need to be replaced, when lay down it sinks in the middle.
Breakfast has good selection, dinner not so great though, but for 10 Euros.....
Unfortunaly we also had the experience with the same basket ball group.
But all in all not too bad a stay for what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacauFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Just come back from staying at the Dorisol, room very clean and lots of draws for clothes. Maid service everyday and towels changed as many times as you wanted. Hotel provides towels for the pool area, just need to ask.
Good for a basic cheap holiday - only bad points are - Air con.did not work and if you have rooms 206, 207 etc.beware of lots of local traffic all day and night, also not a good view.
Did not use the pool or hotel serv ices due to a rather large basket ball team staying there the same week, lots of large loud teenagers!.
We were very lucky and were able to use another Hotel's across the road, infact we went there everyday.
The sister hotel provides more and you are able to use this hotel if you want too, we did go there for one afternoon, all ok if you don't mind a steep hill to walk, not really suitable for older people.
Hotel does provide a bus service into town and back..
However not put off and we are planning our next visit to this lovely island, but not this hotel again, there are lots of others to choose from and we did view a couple while there..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorstuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

If this is a 3star Hotel then there are many 1star hotels that need upgrading to 4star!

Shabby rooms, unpleasent smells from ageing sewage plumbing, kitchen poorly equipped & no air-con.

With the abundance of fresh fruit available on the island it was with great surprise that we were presented with tinned fruit every morning (2wks) for breakfast however there was a great selection of several different kinds of bread to fill yourself up on!
Occasionally if your really lucky there might have been some cake left over from the previous night also served!
If you fancied a hot breakfast you did have a choice of HARD boiled eggs(suitable for playing tennis with) or hotdog sausages & some sloppy yellow stuff I think might have been scambled eggs.

Staff were present, but hardly approchable or of friendly nature.

So you want to hear about the good stuff I guess:

Pool area recently refurbished (probably within last 2yrs) which looks NICE
(but often not cleaned/tidied daily & pool un-heated.)

Yep.................that's the good stuff.

Will only pass this hotel onway to another hotel as will never set foot in there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pluto006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The Florisol Dorisol is located in a decent part of Funchal with plenty of restaurants around and not as far from the "beach" as we feared. The rooms were decent - we had a sea view and thankfully the pool was decent too. The breakfasts offered were spot-on and we had no complaints with the package we got. What surprised and delighted us were the staff. The room cleaner (Rita) made our room sparkle every day and nothing was too much trouble and when she wasn't cleaning rooms she was dressed very smartly looking after guests in the restaurant at breakfast time. What became clear that this hotel had some brilliant staff and it was obviously well managed and the level of cleanliness put other hotels I have stayed at, to shame. We had one meal at the restaurant and he food was fine but nothing to set the world alight - however saying that the service was excellent.
The only downside was that amongst all the shiny 4 star hotels, it was evident that the outside needs a good lick of paint. However we were more than satisfied with the hotel - but like I said the staff made the difference.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swattsitallabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Dorisol Florasol Hotel. we have had a lovely time and stayed in a 1 bed apartment with a sea view room No. 803.
The Hotel is located about 2k from the centre of Funchal in the Lido area. It was a nice place to be, not right in the centre of everything but close enough to shops and restaurants if required.

The Hotel Itself is a little bit dated but was spotlessly clean. The reception and restaurant areas had been renovated and modernised recently and looked very nice.

The apartment was very large with a large bedroom with two 3ft beds pushed together and a balcony with a sea view and a view of the pool area. There was a second large room with a dining table and chairs a single bed and a daybed as we were half board we just used this as a second bedroom it also had a balcony overlooking the sea and pool area. We also had a bathroom and small kitchen with a microwave, coffee maker, toaster and 2 ring hob. The kitchen and bathrooms were very dated looking and tiled with dark blue tiles but our cleaner kept them spotless throughout our stay. ( My sister stayed on the 10th floor and was not quite so impressed with her cleaner) I found the room quiet and did not get disturbed by people in the corridor outside as the apartment had a hallway between the bedrooms and the corridor. The only noise was from the road as the patio doors were not very soundproof.

We stayed half board and had a buffet breakfast every morning with rolls, cake, fruit, cereal, scrambled egg, boiled egg, ham, cheese, toast and croissants. tea coffee and juice was available. In the evening we had a four course meal mainly waiter service, occasionally buffet salad to start. Usually a fish salad starter, then soup, then a fish dish, a meat dish and a choice of desserts. Small Pepsi was 1.50E and beer was 2.00E, a large bottle of still water was 2.50E and a bottle of house red wine was 6.00E. We enjoyed the food but if you have fussy eaters it may be best to eat out as there were no burgers and chips etc.

The pool was lovely and looked quite new, there were plenty of sun loungers and quite a few umbrellas. The temperature was just right with a nice sea breeze to cool you off a bit. There was a play area for kids with a playhouse and some large floor puzzles etc and a table tennis table. On the 3rd floor there was a games room with a snooker table and a table football game.

The internet connection for the hotel worked well in the reception and restaurant area, it was not strong enough signal to work in the rooms but on the balcony we picked up an unsecured network from a hotel down the road so could use the laptop when we wanted.

We paid £714 for a 4 person apartment for 1 week half board, we booked transfers through resort hoppa about £58 for 8 people return by private minibus and flights through easyjet, stansted - funchal £389 so about £280 per person for a lovely week.

We found the prices in the supermarket (50m from hotel) very reasonable 1.99E for the same wine that was 6E in the hotel. The walk to the seafront was only about 300m but steep. We walked up to the other Dorisol Hotels which were further up the hills but didn't use the facilities there as we had all we needed at the Florasol.

The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly they were always on the go. One did comment that they had cut back on staff this year so it was a bit more hectic than previously

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysticmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Sunny Island
Level Contributor
159 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed here with my mother in May 2009, we had a one bedroom apartment. From the door of the apartment there was a smal entrance hall, one side was the bathroom and the twin bedroom (small baloncy with table and 2 chairs), the other side was the kitchen (small but ok) and a living dinning room with a sofa bed settee and another balcony, again with 2 chairs and a table. We had a vew of the pool and Atlantic ocean. The hotel was clean, although the apartment could do with being refurbished, lighter coloured tiles in the kitchen and bathroom would help improve things. This hotel is part of a chain, the other hotels in the chain are on the road behind and up a steep hill. This hotel though is on the flat, the bus going to Maderia Forum (shopping) stops outside the hotel and across the road you take the bus into Funchal city. The hotel runs its own courtsey bus several times a day. Within a few minutes walk there is a Pingo Doce supermarket (there is a cafe there where you can get reasonable priced meals, you plate up what you want and its weighed and you are charged appropriately), also in the supermarket there are sandwiches/cakes for takeaway all reasonable prices. The post office is nearby and they speak English, when you go in you take a ticket and wait for your number to come up. There are several restaurants within walking distance of this hotel (within 5 minutes walk), I can highly recommend the Chancellor (which is almost next door), if you stick with their tourist menus, they are very good value and you won't go hungry. There is a restaurant that I would throughly recommend and we used to eat there often, its called Larreira (fire), its on Rue Valentin I think the road is called. Ok out of the hotel entrance turn left and carry on walking straight, there are a couple of restaurants on the main road, one called Tokos or something like that and has a large flower display, the road where Larreira is on is almost opposite that restuarant. it's the first one that you come to (not the one with the parrots), downstairs they specialise in fish and upstairs is an open kitchen (chicken their speciality). We stayed at the dorisol as although I was living in Funchal I was taken seriously ill and ended up with 10 days in hospital there and when i came out, I had to be in an area free of dust, the apartment that i was renting was having major building works. I choose this hotel because of the cost and the location. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I didn't use the pool as I was there just to rest until I was well enough to fly home.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quillingartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#84 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#63 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#71 of 87 in Funchal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
Raga Madeira Muthu Hotel
#45 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Florasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Florasol

Property: Dorisol Florasol
Address: Estrada Monumental 306, Funchal, Madeira 9004-538, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Florasol 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the promenade, with great views over the ocean. Studio and 1 bedroom apartments with balcony and fully equipped kitchenette. Gardens, outdoor pool and spa. Free wifi in public areas. Restaurante/bar. Shuttle bus to city center. There are studios and 1 bedroom apartments with capacity of up to 4 people, a fully equipped kitchenette or kitchen, private balconies and cable TV. Free parking with limited places. Our hotel is ideal for active clients looking for self-catering, who want to fully explore and enjoy Madeira, on affordable holidays without abdicating the comfort of a hotel located in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Florasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Florasol Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing