We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”
Review of Dorisol Florasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorisol Florasol
Ranked #51 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Florasol may be a little in need of updating but it offers a very good value break. The rooms are spotless, the bed comfortable and the location ideal. The hotel is on a very busy road and therefore there is traffic noise but it didnt disturb our sleep. The pool is raised above the road level and has lovely views and plenty of sunbeds. We had bed and breakfast and found the breakfast selection very good, there were cereals, yogurt, fruit, different breads and cakes, cheese, ham, tomatoes, eggs also most days bacon, sausages, mushrooms etc.. The only minor problem was that occasionally the cups and plates would run out and there would be a wait until these were restocked. The bar prices were very high though, almost twice the price of a bar down the road. The rooms were well equipped, we had a two ring cooker and a microwave (no kettle though) a fridge, radio and tv with about 4 English speaking channels. For the price we paid we were very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter but we weren't disturbed by the noise on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We as a family stayed here in August 2012, I sent an email requesting rooms on higher floors three weeks before we were to arrive as i had seen previous, my request was ignored. We were given rooms on 1st floor, just above the busy main road, rooms were dark, furniture was dark and old, bed spread was torn and not ironed,and all three rooms smelt!!!!
I went down stairs straight away, where the male receptionist pretended there were no other rooms, the manager came and gave us rooms on 4th and 5th floor, the rooms were better and bigger. I was upset that I had to request the room changes (as i don't like complaining) and that they try to let these horrible rooms out in the first place.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is one of the better 3 star hotels we have used, it was exceptionally clean and the staff were always ready to help and give advice. Bearing in mind that this is a 3 star, the décor was a bit dated and the bathroom would benefit from updating although it was always kept clean. The studio room was spacious and well furnished, the kitchen area was adequate and had the requisite amount of cutlery, crockery and pots and pans. The location is great for restaurants and walking into the Lido area and although it was a main road we were on the 6th floor and there wasn't an issue with traffic noise. The pool area was well kept and had plenty of loungers and the pool itself was kept very clean. The restaurant meals are not the best although the buffet breakfast was good. There is a free curtsey bus at regular intervals that drops off and picks up at the port area of Funchal. As we used this hotel as a base for a walking holiday we didn't use the facilities very much but, all in all this is a very good value for money hotel and we would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are spacious and have sea views. Ask for a room above the 5th floor to avoid traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhillipB417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The room decoration was old and ugly though the room was ok clean. Beds were old and not nice to sleep in and there were disturbing noice from bars outside at the weekends. Breakfast was too simple and there were eg canned fruits, bad coffee and poor quality food. Outside pool was also very cold and though they informed about wifi, the truth was that it worked only in the lobby (when there was not too much other users). Service was mostly nice and friendly but I definitely wouldn´t pick this place again because I value sleeping and breakfast when staying in a hotel. (No fitness center or spa.)

Room Tip: I think higher floors could have less noise from bars outside at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Elina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We spent 9 nights at the Florasol in February and will not hesitate to use this hotel again. The 5th floor room was a little tired, but spotlessly clean. Nice view of the sea from the balcony with sun until about 3pm. Breakfast buffet was superb, one of the best choices I have seen (and I've seen a few), even had bacon and eggs one morning! The staff were friendly and very helpful. It is easy to find fault, but at the price it represented excellent value and is a very well appointed 3 star.

Room Tip: If you want a decent sea view from your balcony ask for a room on the East side as the West gets the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenRand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were on the 10th floor and what we thought was to a sea view. It was only just that after a stretch over the balcony. Not what I had hoped for.The studio room had plenty of space but the furnishings seemed old and needy re vamping. The kitchen area carried a fridge, microwave, and two hot electric rings. No kettle or toaster. No air conditioning, just windows and balcony doors. Thus letting in traffic noises and neirbourhood BARKING Dogs until very late.The doors and windows also rattled when the wind blew. The good points are that the reception staff and cleaners were always very helpful.The location was ok as there were plenty of food outlets handy. A lovely island and superb weather. Will visit again but not to the Florasol.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Arrived in Funchal 3 hours late thanks to Sata Airways any dropped to Dorisol Florasol Hotel 1st hotel has fab location walking distance to a lot bars restruants etc. Room in hotel bad design no air con in26 degrees no ventilation in bedroom or bathroom. Had to leave window open which led to mosquito attack! Staff were nice and friendly and breakfast was average. Also got occasional smell of sewage in bathroom. Room had sea view but that was it. Overall could not recommend this hotel. Apart from breakfast did not dine at hotel except lunch one day which was average. Asked for bottle of water at reception one night @11pm was told could not be supplied. Was promised tea and coffee at early check out time on morning of departure never arrived. Just avoid

Room Tip: On my experience could not advise anyone to pick this hotel never mind a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank philip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#80 of 88 in Funchal
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#73 of 88 in Funchal
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#86 of 88 in Funchal
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
0.6 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 88 in Funchal
328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 88 in Funchal
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Florasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Florasol

Address: Estrada Monumental 306, Funchal, Madeira 9004-538, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#30 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £40 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Florasol 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the promenade, with great views over the ocean. Studio and 1 bedroom apartments with balcony and fully equipped kitchenette. Gardens, outdoor pool and spa. Free wifi in public areas. Restaurante/bar. Shuttle bus to city center. There are studios and 1 bedroom apartments with capacity of up to 4 people, a fully equipped kitchenette or kitchen, private balconies and cable TV. Free parking with limited places. Our hotel is ideal for active clients looking for self-catering, who want to fully explore and enjoy Madeira, on affordable holidays without abdicating the comfort of a hotel located in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorisol Florasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Florasol Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing