We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Dorisol Florasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorisol Florasol
Ranked #52 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived on the 16th.September for a 21 night stay on a haif board basis not knowing what to expect as we had read mixed revues on various web sites.However we were quite pleased to find that the room we were allocated on the second floor was very ciean and well furnished with
comfortable twin beds,plenty of drawer space,dressing table and two nice chairs.We had a small kitchenette and fridge and as we like to make a cup of tea in the morning we asked for an electric kettle which was brought immediately to our room.The bathroom was ideal with a four piece suite,over bath shower and plenty of hot water was always available.Towels could be changed at any time when requested.The rooms were cleaned daily by very efficient maids.
The air conditioning worked very efficiently which was very pleasing.
We asked for an ironing board and iron which once again was supplied immediately.
The resaurant was very clean and pleasant and you were able to dine inside or out on the roof terrace.The meals were buffet style.some very nice salad items and varying kinds of meats and fish from day to day.Always fresh fruit salad daily.
At breakfast there was an excellent choice of fresh breads and the usual continental items,and some very nice fruit juices and coffee.
The swimmig pool was on the same floor as the restaurant and the recreation area.plenty of sunbeds and towels available from reception.
The hotel is located in a pleasant area overlooking the sea.There is a good supermarket and lots of restaurants nearby.Next to the hotel entrance is a travel agency where island excursions can be booked but if you wish to go into town,the hotel runs a free courtesy bus which goes every hour except 1pm
Considering that the Floriana is a 3 star hotel we were very satisfied with our stay and thought it was good value for money.
.

Room Tip: ask for a room with air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goron58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    148
    118
    36
    29
See reviews for
92
182
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked a twin room, half board for 2 adults. We were on the 2nd floor overlooking the road (which lucky for us was closed) so noise wasn't too bad. The room smelt musty when we arrived & the furniture was a throw back to the 70's. The beds were very uncomfortable & we had to ask for different mattresses, due to no other rooms available. We were given toppers (1 adult & 1 child - we are 2 adults in the room??) Breakfast was ok if you like cheese, ham, boiled egg, scrambled eggs, Frankfurt type sausage and beans or mushrooms every day - no good if you have a problem with cholesterol. Dinner was no better...actually it was a buffet each evening that was not fit for service. We had to spend more money to go out & get food. The younger restaurant staff of the hotel were very helpful, however there is one older staff member who I thought was the manager (he wasn't) he was very rude & miserable and definitely should not be in such a customer facing role! Never have I been to a hotel so disorganised!! We had to ask for towels to use by the pool each day & for 4 of those days we were told there were none even though the hotel was half empty! This hotel is NOT 3*.....I give it 0*

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5 (or higher) floor Check your bed - is it comfortable? Don't stay half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sharshei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorisolHotels, Gerente at Dorisol Florasol, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
It’s with a feeling of sadness that we verify that your stay at our hotel was not as you desired. We will check what happened during your stay to correct the flaws detected.

Regarding the breakfast and dinner, we are making some changes in the menu in a way of trying pleasing the majority of our guests. At the time of your stay, our hotel occupancy was around 90%, and because of that the towels from the pool suffered a small rupture of stock.
Thank you for your comment and we will use it to help correct the flaws detected.

Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

If you are expecting a 3 star hotel experience then this is probably not the hotel for you; however if you expect a comfortable bed, reasonable breakfast buffet, adequate bathroom facilities and don't want to pay much more than the price of a youth hostel then you will enjoy your stay.
On the plus side, our room was a decent size and had a great view of the sea, the kitchen facilities were basic but we managed to cook a few meals here to save money.
However there were a few negatives:
no hot water for the first 24hours - hotel did their best to sort this
no air conditioning in the room, leaving the windows open kept the room cool but meant we heard a lot of outside noise
bathroom was rather shabby and had no ventilation or extractor fan

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovakia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were in big corner room on 9th floor with amazing view.
Daily trips shop, restaurant, shopping, car rental, near the hotel.
Especialy big thanks goes to man-receptionist.
Madeira is a beautiful piece of land on the World.

Room Tip: corner rooms on higher floors with amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and found it much improved this time. My studio was very comfortable with adequate cooking facilities - although I didn't use them much! The breakfasts were superb - excellent choice, lovely bread, hot and cold options and decent orange juice! I was on the 5th floor so easy access to restaurant and pool and high enough to avoid the noise of traffic. The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Noreenfogarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Unfortunately we stayed for two weeks . Arrived given second room floor sea view . Terrible smell needs updating toilets seat broken. Complained at once given room along corridor same smell doors opened to road couldn't here ourselves think. Complained to be given tenth floor room it was outdated but much improved again the noise 24hr a day was enough to keep you awake traffic noise and a 24hr running piece of equipment opposite the hotel which did not help. Due to no air conditioning you need the door opened for fresh air and you suffer the noise. Having booked bed and breakfast it did not get better the food was not good so was the service at the table it was help yourself tables were not cleaned after others so it was spot the cleanest one to eat at. I could go on . I made the mistake of booking through low cost holidays and there is no rep. They gave us wrong flight times so we missed our flight and there emergency help response was they would not pay for another flight but when you return off Hol put a complaint in so I saw no point in complaint to be told the same. Avoid this hotel and low cost holidays go at your peril .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dupont600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The Florasol may be a little in need of updating but it offers a very good value break. The rooms are spotless, the bed comfortable and the location ideal. The hotel is on a very busy road and therefore there is traffic noise but it didnt disturb our sleep. The pool is raised above the road level and has lovely views and plenty of sunbeds. We had bed and breakfast and found the breakfast selection very good, there were cereals, yogurt, fruit, different breads and cakes, cheese, ham, tomatoes, eggs also most days bacon, sausages, mushrooms etc.. The only minor problem was that occasionally the cups and plates would run out and there would be a wait until these were restocked. The bar prices were very high though, almost twice the price of a bar down the road. The rooms were well equipped, we had a two ring cooker and a microwave (no kettle though) a fridge, radio and tv with about 4 English speaking channels. For the price we paid we were very pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter but we weren't disturbed by the noise on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunandseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#83 of 86 in Funchal
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#65 of 86 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#69 of 86 in Funchal
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
569 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#46 of 86 in Funchal
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Florasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Florasol

Property: Dorisol Florasol
Address: Estrada Monumental 306, Funchal, Madeira 9004-538, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Florasol 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the promenade, with great views over the ocean. Studio and 1 bedroom apartments with balcony and fully equipped kitchenette. Gardens, outdoor pool and spa. Free wifi in public areas. Restaurante/bar. Shuttle bus to city center. There are studios and 1 bedroom apartments with capacity of up to 4 people, a fully equipped kitchenette or kitchen, private balconies and cable TV. Free parking with limited places. Our hotel is ideal for active clients looking for self-catering, who want to fully explore and enjoy Madeira, on affordable holidays without abdicating the comfort of a hotel located in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorisol Florasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Florasol Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Florasol Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing