We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gorgulho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gorgulho
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Cheshunt, Herts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value for money!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The Hotel Gorgulho is in a good location, easy access to the centre of Funchal via foot or bus, staff who are both friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.

Yes, perhaps the hotel is stuck in a 70s timewarp with regard to architecture and the menu for breakfast could do with a bit of revision but, for a cheap cheerful holiday, it was more than fine. We both felt that we had value for money and would stay there again. It's nowhere near as luxurious as its neighbours but I am sure that it would have cost a lot more to have stayed at the surrounding hotels!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peruvian_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    81
    107
    52
    55
See reviews for
50
162
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

First the good points. The location is near lots of restaurants, shops and buses to the town centre. There is also a nice promenade to walk along at night. Considering the price we paid, the food was pretty good even if the choice wasn't great. The view from our balcony was also nice.

Now for the bad points. The whole hotel smelt musty, especially the rooms and it looks like a concrete bunker from the outside. If only they painted the bare concrete it would look a whole lot better. But that's the main theme, minimum maintenance and zero modernisation. We would have put up with all this if we could get a decent night's sleep. The mattress was as hard as a board, the pillows were extremely lumpy and there's no heating. On top of that the lack of double glazing meant we could hear everything going on outside. In the end they did lend us a oil heater for the room but it didn't make up for the rest.

So after 4 days at 'Gorguhell' as we ended up calling it, we moved to another hotel because it was spoiling our holiday so much. We ended up at the Pestana Miramar which was more expensive but like heaven after what we had put up with.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc66Chelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

The Hotel Gorgulho is certainly a striking hotel and stands out from the other plush palaces in Funchal, 10 stories high, concrete and decorated with blue and white tiles. Some will hate it, but personally we loved the retro style. Inside, the place could do with renovation, but it is clean and functional and made a perfect and practical base for our trip to Madeira.

The rooms are a reasonable size. We stayed on the top floor, overlooking the bay - highly recommended for a fantastic view of New Year fireworks - and well away from any traffic noise. We slept like proverbial logs. Our room came with a somewhat dated but really very useful kitchenette - double hob, fridge, sink - and a supply of pans, crockery and cutlery. Yes, it probably could do with a refresh, but it was great to be able to make hot drinks, chill cold ones and have somewhere to store food for a quick bite.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and largely left us to our own devices.

The hotel is convenient for Funchal - about 30 minutes walking, buses on the high street. There was plenty of parking onsite (we hired a car) which was free. A good base for exploring the island and not needing to worry about where to park the car on our return. Plenty of restaurants within very easy walking distance and Pingo Doce (the supermarket) just round the corner.

On the downside, the pool area needs a good repaint - maybe they will do this in the summer. It is certainly looking worse for wear. It didn't bother us too much as we were out and about, but a visitor intending to sunbathe and swim may well have been disappointed.

All in all, a good value hotel. If you like your hotels 5*, blemish free and luxury, then this is not for you, but if you want practical, clean, friendly... then you won't go wrong with the Gorgulho.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

hotel just off main road .quite a good location .lots of food places in easy walking distance . supermarkets 1-down the road 1-on the main street a little way along .
the main road is a little busy and with no double glazing it could be quite noisy .
the hotel was kept clean and tidy . the breakfast had a wide choice but was the same every day . In the shopping mall opposite was a sightseeing tour shop , they were offering tours without the meals , at a very reasonable prices .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wallbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

In line with other reviews this hotel is excellent value - and a bonus if you like retro decor!

The hotel is large and welcoming and well placed near the lido coastal walk, and 20 mins walk or 5 min bus ride from central funchal. I found it excellent value for what we got.

The cleanliness of the hotel was very good. Room was cleaned to a very high standard daily and towels / linen replaced daily also. The rooms come with cable tv which was good when crashing out to watch a film etc...

We stayed bed and breakfast. The selection was the usual cooked breakfast / continenatal and fruit selection with various drinks - overral a good selection for a 3*. I have an extremely delicate stomach and had no issues with it all week.

The outside of the hotel itself is easily the ugliest building on the island. The decor is also very retro. That being said it is well placed and you cant see it when looking out!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariner_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We had a lovely time here in Madeira - quiet (if on sea side of hotel), room fine and clean if old fashioned, balcony with amazing views,retro building which we liked -see pictures.
Go on the red sightseeing bus just outside hotel, walk out of hotel and 100 yards to your left is nice Indian and Italian restaurants.
Pool area nice and clean all in all peaceful time - breakfats not great but good price for holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crookser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

Gorgulho is very much a three star hotel, but about thirty years out of date. Room was clean and reasonably comfortable. The food was really short on choice and not good value, so my recommendation is go for room only!!.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ned_frubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#62 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.1 mi away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#42 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#56 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#43 of 87 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorgulho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorgulho

Property: Hotel Gorgulho
Address: Rua do Gorgulho, 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorgulho 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Gorgulho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgulho Hotel Funchal
Hotel Gorgulho Madeira/Funchal
Gorgulho Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing