We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Savoy Gardens Hotel in Funchal at the end of May for one week. The staff are very helpful and informative. The bedroom was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom. and the food very good. We booked this hotel after reading the reviews. Sitting in the jacuzzi was lovely and the views from the roof terrace are great. The entertainment was good with Sarah and Matt a singing duo with guitar who gave a variety of song styles. Karl and Beth also had great singing voices. We played putting and boules. There are other activities but we went out everyday so did not experience them. The Western trip was excellent which we booked through Hayley our rep. That was a lovely day with a 3 course meal included. The cable car trip to Monte was also very good quite exciting as it is so high up and then a separate cable car trip to the Botanical Gardens. The Latin Show at the Casino was also a good night. We found the people of Madeira very friendly and everywhere is so clean and tidy and the price of drinks is very reasonable cheaper than England. The Presidents Garden is definately worth a visit and is free. We booked this Thomson holiday through Holiday Hypermarket and had a mountain view room as it was quite a bit cheaper . Overall excellent holiday all round.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms would be better but if finances are tight then a mountain view room would be cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    622
    167
    45
    13
See reviews for
59
1,552
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at the Savoy Gardens in Funchal for 7 nights at the end of May this year.
The whole experience from beginning to end was very enjoyable. The view from the roof top terrace is stunning. Also loads of sun loungers up there so you can sunbathe away from the pool area if you wish, which makes it a little more private. The jacuzzi was also a bonus! All the meals in the restaurant were first class with loads of choice and the quality of the food was excellent. There was so much food to choose from. Dinner at night consisted of various salad dishes and rice, soup, main course comprised choice of meat/fish dishes with good selection of vegetables, then choice of 4-5 desserts and cheese/biscuits. Breakfast was equally as good. No good if you're on a diet!!

Hotel facilities very good. Good size swimming pool and area to relax/sunbathe. Towels were provided. Plenty of areas to relax inside or outside of hotel. Games room, TV lounge, Entertainment every evening which was very good and varied. Enjoyed the quiz nights that the Thomson team organised. Special thanks to Hayley our rep, and Matt & Sarah the resident singing duo in the hotel.

All hotel staff and Thomson reps were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Can recommend the various organised trips around the island. The journey via cable car to Monte was very good. Madeira is a beautiful island. A perfect holiday for us. Will be recommending this hotel to all our family and friends and hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EricaD284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed at the Savoy Gardens Hotel for a week in May. The hotel gets top marks from me for the spacious bedroom (the bed was absolutely massive!) and bathroom. A very clean and comfortable hotel throughout. All staff were very attentive, efficient, polite and friendly. In the restaurant the food was very well-presented and of excellent quality.

The only drawback to this hotel is the very steep incline that has to be climbed to reach the entrance so you do need to be reasonably fit!

The hotel is a good 30 minutes at least walk into the centre of Funchal but there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. Taxi prices were pretty reasonable.

Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to get a room with with a sea view - the views are wonderful and the rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank foxterrier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Very good hotel but situated about half an hour's walk from Funchal & the walk back involves quite a long climb. Although there are buses & taxis available. Nowhere just around the hotel to stroll out on an evening. Also the hotel is advertised as having tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms but that consists of a complimentary tray of 2 sachets each of coffee, tea, milk & sugar. After that you have to pay if you want the tray topped up. Bit mean I thought.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible as the other side is not very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jan956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

From our arrival at the hotel our stay was excellent. All the staff were very attentive and were always on hand to assist and always made time to talk. The hotel was extremely clean throughout. The facilities first class especially the roof top sun area (with jacuzzi) the view of Funchal was breath taking. The evening entertainment was acceptable albeit a bit repetitive. The waiters and waitresses were always cheerful. We stayed on the forth floor and used the lift quite a lot which was very quick. Our room was very comfortable and it was so nice to have a carpeted floor rather than cold tiles. Our bed was enormous! The buffet food was very varied and there was usually a theme each night e.g. Flavours of Madeira / Italy. Breakfast was good too my husband particularly enjoyed the omelettes which were prepared with his favourite ingredients. We would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel or indeed Madeira itself and cannot wait for a return trip

Room Tip: Opt for sea view and a higher room if possible as the view you will get is breath taking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mollibobbins38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just spent a week in May 2012 at the Savoy Gardens in funchal - our one mistake was not to spend a fortnight there. it was wonderful. Lovely large room with a balcony and sea view, Delicious food in the restaurant - it is said to be like "Cruising on land" and the evening buffets were based on a different country each night. The entertainment team were so friendly and good at their jobs.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JENNYScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here for a week in May. We had a a sea facing room on the sixth floor - the views were great.The bedroom was as good as you can get for a holiday hotel with a four star rating, lots af space and all the additions expected like sattellite TV etc. The main restaurant is buffet style offering a different "theme" each evening with a good selection of quality dishes. For a hotel of this standard we found the wine list to have a reasonable selection of Portuegese wines all at very reasonable prices - you cannot complain of a house wine at e14 (£11.50)!
All the staff were proffesionals through from reception to the restraurant
The big bonus is no screaming kids nor their obnoxious parents
This is an hotel we would strongly recommend to friends
However there are always a downside - the steep approach, this hotel is not on the flat

Room Tip: High up sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GordonYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing