We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent 14 days at the Savoy Garden in November 2011.
Glorious views over Funchal from our balcony and rooftop terrace - which operated a courtesy bar with snacks. The large swimming pool, with a plethora of sunbeds, was spotless.
The facilities were excellent and staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The dining room was spacious with a variety of courses to suit all. Each night the food was themed.
There was public transport within 200 metres of the Savoy.
Going down for buses was no problem but the hotel was situated at the top of a steep hill, and the journey home in the heat could prove tiring.
Excursion buses were unable to park at hotel which necessitated a short 50 metre walk to the nearest junction.
The hotel operated a cashless system, which might have induced one to spend very liberally BUT one could settle bills at any time to prevent them mounting. We were glad to do this!
We would certainly return to this hotel.
Advice to proprietors - a courtesy bus would be a most welcome addition to the facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra2ArgyllUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,640 - 1,646 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

overall a good hotel. food was good and staff very helpful and pleasant. rooms were well furnished and equipped with free fridge and safety deposit, although on an incline found a pub and a cafe nearby for a beer and coffee a bit cheaper than hotel. MOUNTAIN VIEW. i was in room no.218 and had to crane my neck to see the mountans which were hidden from view by three derelict buildings. the balcony was the size of a bathroom and got no sun . thomson are quick to charge extra for sea views should consider discounting this room and the ones directly above as they are isolated and cut off from the remainder of the hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This Hotel is very Good. Staff friendly and very obliging, hotel facilities also good and well maintained.

If you are looking to stay in Madeira, you should seriously consider the Savoy Gardens. Whilst its a little way away from the center of Funchal, it is served with a very good bus service from right outside the Hotel to the Center (take a #24 bus) at June 2012 each trip costs just €1.25
I have visited Madeira for more than 20 years, and over the last 4 years I have stayed at Savoy Gardens.
Prior to visiting the Savoy Gardens, my wife and I stayed at the 'Classics Savoy Hotel' - but this Hotel no longer exist, but some of the staff from this Hotel are now at the Savoy Gardens. I understand that the future plans of the Savoy is to re-build on the old Classic Savoy site. However, alternatively you should also consider the Royal Savoy Hotel, all part of the Savoy Resort Group.
If you need to contact the Savoy Group direct, I am sure you will receive very good attention.

Room Tip: Naturally rooms at the front of the Hotel and the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I returned home on 18th June after two weeks at this couples hotel. What a lovely hotel it is and we had expected it to be a bit like a holiday home for senior citizens but none of that - the age range was from quite young to older people and there were a few foreign languages being spoken too. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.

We would recommend paying the extra for a sea view and put in a request for a higher floor to get good sea views. We were on the 5th floor.
Our air conditioned room was large with a 6ft 3ins wide bed. There was also a sofa which could be converted into a bed, two chairs and a table, (as there were on the balcony), free use of an electronic safe, free use of a fridge and plenty of storage space. Take your own tea and coffee as it is only complimentary for the first day but you can use the cups and kettle which are left in the room. The bathroom was large with the usual facilities - the shower being over the bath. Pool towels are also provided free of charge.

Everywhere was quiet because all rooms and corridors are carpeted, so no ladies high heels clicking on floors above, etc.

The range of food was very good indeed, with much choice to be had. The hot food was always hot. However, we did find on a couple of occasions the range of vegetables were a bit limited for some hot meals. Overall there was something to satisfy all people in our opinion. No complaints from us about the food.
For an island that grows cherries there was never one to be seen at any meal, which would have been nice as a dessert on occasions.

The hotel`s resident guitar player and singer did a good job entertaining and other day and evening events are available although we prefer to do our own thing mainly. Table tennis, darts, pool, French boule, a small putting area, golf drive and shuffle-board are all available.
The swimming pool is kept spotlessly clean and there were always free sunloungers to be found, so no having to book them with towels.
The roof terrace on the 7th floor has a free jaccuzi, sunloungers and sunbeds but there are no sunshades to be had, so be warned about spending too long in the sun unless you are very well protected with a high factor sunscreen.
The spa centre is excellent. We both had full body aromatherapy relaxing massages - the best we have ever had and we have had quite a few in recent years. Well worth the money @ E102 for the two of us.

The only slightly negative comment we could make is the steepness of the roads around the hotel. Going out is easy as it is all downhill but the return can be very exercising, especially for the infirm or unhealthy. My wife and I love walking and for the first few days we even found it a little exercising especially with the hot sun overhead. Be aware but, of course, taxis are always available. The bus stops very close to the hotel too in both directions.

To summarise - a lovely, clean, well kept hotel worth it`s 4 stars. We recommend it to all couples!

Room Tip: Sea views are best from floors above level 3. Road noise is almost negligible with the balcony door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roger_PBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Spent a week at Savoy Gardens and enjoyed all it had to offer. Rooms good,food good and staff all very friendly and helpful. Most of the guests were as has been said before around our age group (over 60s) so younger couples do not expect disco nights etc. We had a Junior Suite for three adults and was spacious enough for three adults. The double rooms are also very spacious and are perfectly ample for two adults.
The entertainment was very low key but perfectly suitable for our age group.
The roof top terrace is an excellent alternative to laying around the swimming pool and has a hot tub which was very nice.

The only negative point I have to make is the location of the hotel. This is not for the unfit or elderly as the walk up to hotel from town or on arrival is very steep. Okay for walking into town however we mostly caught the bus back and a taxi on a few occassions.

All in all a great hotel and would certainly consider a re visit but for the location.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and on as high a floor as possible. There are 7 floors and we were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank abmack43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed for a week in June and wished it was for 2 weeks! The room was great, spacious and well appointed and would recommend you get a sea view which we had, nice touches were the carpet, huge bed and fridge which you can use for your own things without charge. The rest of the hotel was very clean and all the staff friendly and helpful. The food was very good, it's buffet breakfast and dinner but the quality and choice was second to none. Pool area was great and never had any problem getting a sunbed. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Book a sea view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank slinkully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed, great location with very friendly staff. Really good entertainment each night especially Beth who has been in the westend. Spa was great highly recommend nail or a massage with Maria. The highlight and hidden secret was the luxury of the roof terrace and hot tub!!!! Would return in a flash. The only thing missing is a gym, everything else perfect and we are not easy to please.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#21 of 88 in Funchal
2,667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing