We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad start/good ending.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bad start/good ending.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We went for a weeks thomson holiday to this hotel in July 2012. On arrival at the hotel we were struck by the beautiful spotlessly clean environment and were told by reception that our room would be ready in 10 minutes. After 10 minutes we were told it would be 20 minutes after 20 minutes we were told another 20 minutes. This went on for an hour and a half by which time we were a little peeved as we had been up since 4.30 in the morning and wanted a rest and to freshen up. HOWEVER when we went to our room we were not dissapointed, it was a large pool and sea view room and had a spacious bathroom. In general the hotel was beautiful with lovely facilities, in particular the roof terrace which was very romantic with hot tub and views over Funchal. The staff were pleasant but not particularly engaged, they left this more to the holiday reps. Apart from one waitor who each night gave me a new Portugese word to learn. The food was very good, but for me dissapointing. When i go to a country I really like to eat food from that region. This hotel offered a different theme each night so it was Italian food one night, oriental another etc. All of the food was good quality with lovely salads for starters but if you didnt like salad you were a little skuppered for the first course. When I read previous reviews I was expecting to really struggle with the hills as I am not particularly fit but the walk from the bus was such a short one Im sure even the laziest person could manage it. However Madeira is a very hilly place and in a alot of places has cobbled streets so if you are uncertain on your feet it may not be the place for your holiday. So in summary, the holiday started badly but it did get better and i would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms were bigger than the ones facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth1499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    614
    166
    41
    13
See reviews for
57
1,529
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We went in June for 2 weeks to this hotel, mainly because it is classed as a couples only hotel. no children allowed. This is great especially around the pool, the pool is not deep, and is large enough for all guests with plenty of sunbeds.Well, until some guests insist on being total pains and leaving their towels in place all day even though they are elsewhere. these were ignorant, selfish English people by the way!
A good place to stay, nice restaurant with a variety of choice as we went half board, and is operated on a serve yourself basis, the tables are close together, and you will either like the fact that you are able to converse with your neighbour, or hate it because of the loss of privacy. Food was acceptable at all times. We did venture out to the nearby Lido area where there are some very good restaurants, our favourite being La Bamba, great Italian food at good prices too with great attentive service

The rooms are well laid out, good bathroom facilities and a TV for those that need it, but a good facility on this is that you can keep up to date with your online bill
Rooms are clean and well looked after, fresh towels when you need them and pool towels are also supplied if required. Hair drier and lots of electric sockets for your gadgets

Reception staff are very helpful, more than the holiday rep we had. They arranged for taxis and tickets for various events for us, nothing was a problem to them
Top tip, buy your water from reception in a plastic bottle, its a lot cheaper than the glass bottles from the bar or restaurant.
This hotel, like most in Funchal is built on a hill, some of the other guests struggled a bit to get up and down to the Lido area. Taxis are reasonable, but be prepared for some steep walking if you are not used to it
The plus side is that the views are very good overlooking the sea and parts of Funchal, there is a rooftop sun area, with a jaccuzi and sun beds, there is also an honesty bar, to save you going all the way down to the ground floor for drinks and snacks etc

We rate this hotel highly, its not the best, but its a long from being the worst

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view of the sea, rooms at the back have hill view. We had room 212 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and i just arrived back from 'Savoy gardens'. Spent 14 nights at hotel, Room 107. Hotel very good, but needs a little tlc, outside of hotel faded pink needs repaint. Staff are excellent in all areas, reception, bars and restaurant for helpfulness, freindlyness and knowledge. Room spotlessly cleaned every day, beds double/ double size, axceptionally comfortable. Pool area immaculate, plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Rooftop jaccuzi and sunbed area and honesty bar very good but no parasols. Buffet for all meals superb (only downer, fried eggs at brekfast not always cooked fully). Different themed meals each night, weekly. Games area needs a lot of tlc, eg. Putting area needs new surface, golf nets need new mats. Evening entertainment very good, although we didn't see it every night. Paid for sea-view room got 1st floor but views still good. Advise ask for high floor, but views of mountains from rear of hotel seemed spectacular from roof. Would not hesitate to recommend hotel to all. Would deffinatley return. One word of warning the hotel sits on a steep hill, so not recommended for the less mobile of us. The Madeiran island is exceptionally beautiful and the people are probably the freindliest we have come across. Buses stop within 200 metres of hotel, down a short but steep hill, to Funchal. (Recommend a walk around the old town). Cable cars to Monte and Botanical gardens superb , watch out for the cost of the wicker sledge ride back to Funchal, 15 euros each, we didn't bother, Paid for return trip on cable car.

Room Tip: Book a high sea view room or ask for a high mountain view room (not guaranteed). Balconies on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveb999Birmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We went to the Savoy Gardens 18th June for a week. The fact that we arrived midday ment that we had to wait about 40mins for our rooms to be ready, as did everybody else that was arriving at the same time from various airports. Not the hotel's fault, but not a good start. The pool area was extremely quiet. When we wound the clicking parasol up, people looked up to see who was causing the din. However we love the peace and the fact that there were plenty of sunbeds to choose from (although not very comfy), and the pool was lovely. There is an activities area: putting green, boules, giant chess, etc. Activities room: table tennis, pool table, etc., free to use, which we happily did, but it would have been nice if animation could provide day time team activities to liven things up. The view from the roof top is spectacular and on Saturday evening, we went up to watched the fireworks with our glasses of wine.
We didn't pay for a sea-view but had a high enough room to enjoy the mountains and activities area. Make sure you don't take a low floor if you don't pay for a sea-view, they have a huge screen in front of their balcony. Our room was spacious and modern. The bed was big enough for three! We even got a radio in the bathroom. However we couldn't get the gist of using the air-con till later in the week. We realized when we pushed the patio doors closed in order for the air-con to work, we were unknowingly opening it on the otherside!
We found the food very good quality, enough choice, hygiene standards high, lovely dining area, delicious desserts, and a good idea to have hand sterilizer at the entrance.
We aren't into hotel evening entertainment, so can't comment on that. There is a really good pub down the road that we went into every night with good drinks, food, entertainment, service and ambience called the 'Hole in One', plus other places. However its a killer walking steeply back up to the hotel at night though it isn't that far away.
We cannot fault the staff; bar, reception, cleaners, all were extremely hard working, polite, attentive.
The only grudge we had is not with the hotel, but with Thomsons trips being so expensive. We used the travel agents outside being much cheaper. The trips were the same and they collected us outside the hotel, just that the vehicles used where not as modern. However Thomsons do a free trip around the old town which, if you like art, will enjoy the commissioned doors all individually designed. (see pics)
All in all a deservedly 4 star hotel that provided us with a lovely relaxing time.

Room Tip: Choose high floor if facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doobblugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We spent 14 days at the Savoy Garden in November 2011.
Glorious views over Funchal from our balcony and rooftop terrace - which operated a courtesy bar with snacks. The large swimming pool, with a plethora of sunbeds, was spotless.
The facilities were excellent and staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The dining room was spacious with a variety of courses to suit all. Each night the food was themed.
There was public transport within 200 metres of the Savoy.
Going down for buses was no problem but the hotel was situated at the top of a steep hill, and the journey home in the heat could prove tiring.
Excursion buses were unable to park at hotel which necessitated a short 50 metre walk to the nearest junction.
The hotel operated a cashless system, which might have induced one to spend very liberally BUT one could settle bills at any time to prevent them mounting. We were glad to do this!
We would certainly return to this hotel.
Advice to proprietors - a courtesy bus would be a most welcome addition to the facilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra2ArgyllUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

overall a good hotel. food was good and staff very helpful and pleasant. rooms were well furnished and equipped with free fridge and safety deposit, although on an incline found a pub and a cafe nearby for a beer and coffee a bit cheaper than hotel. MOUNTAIN VIEW. i was in room no.218 and had to crane my neck to see the mountans which were hidden from view by three derelict buildings. the balcony was the size of a bathroom and got no sun . thomson are quick to charge extra for sea views should consider discounting this room and the ones directly above as they are isolated and cut off from the remainder of the hotel

Room Tip: avoid room 218
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.W. UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

This Hotel is very Good. Staff friendly and very obliging, hotel facilities also good and well maintained.

If you are looking to stay in Madeira, you should seriously consider the Savoy Gardens. Whilst its a little way away from the center of Funchal, it is served with a very good bus service from right outside the Hotel to the Center (take a #24 bus) at June 2012 each trip costs just €1.25
I have visited Madeira for more than 20 years, and over the last 4 years I have stayed at Savoy Gardens.
Prior to visiting the Savoy Gardens, my wife and I stayed at the 'Classics Savoy Hotel' - but this Hotel no longer exist, but some of the staff from this Hotel are now at the Savoy Gardens. I understand that the future plans of the Savoy is to re-build on the old Classic Savoy site. However, alternatively you should also consider the Royal Savoy Hotel, all part of the Savoy Resort Group.
If you need to contact the Savoy Group direct, I am sure you will receive very good attention.

Room Tip: Naturally rooms at the front of the Hotel and the higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hector-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing