We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked this hotel less than 24 hours before traveling and had no time to read any reviews which is something we usually do before booking any holiday. On arrival at Madeira we were told that as the coach could not get to the hotel reception the luggage would in a separate van and be waiting for us at reception. As my wife has a problem walking very far we were a bit concerned at first but we had no need to be, the walk from the coach was only about 30 yards up at hill and then about 50 yards on the flat to the hotel entrance and then up a very short slope to reception led all the way by our very good rep Alex. The luggage was already there waiting for us. We had a room with a sea view on the 5th floor which was large modern and very clean. The room had a balcony with 2 chairs and a small table with great views over the rooftops to the sea straight in front, looking to the left we could see the port about 1000 meters away with the cruise ships anchored there. The hotel had seven floors and on the roof there is an excellent terrace with a Jacuzzi and sun loungers affording great views over the area and an honesty bar you just take what is on offer and complete the form provided and place it the locked box for payment later. The food was really very good both at breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was the usual buffet, Cooked meats cheeses, fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, bacon eggs fried,scrambled or boiled and fresh omelettes,Hash browns, mushrooms and beans one day fried bread another day french toast, and for the health conscious there was also porridge! which i did have with honey before the bacon and eggs. Diner was different every night we were there but we only stayed a week so if it was a weekly menu or not i do not know. The quality of the food was always good as was the choice. There was a different theme every night so there was a good variety of dishes, even on Friday night when fish of varies types Salmon and Sabre fish just to mention 2 was the predominant food, which i am not keen on there was still turkey or gammon and pineapple which along with selection of salads and vegetables was very good not forgetting the soup and the usual selection of breads. Deserts were also very good with a good choice of cakes fruit jelly and ice cream, followed by cheese and biscuits. As this was half board all drinks were to pay for, normally you just order what you want and sign for it. The drinks in the hotel were not badly priced and were of good quality. We did not take part in any of the day time activities in the hotel which were organised by the two young ladies from Thompson s but did seem to be well organised. In the evening the entertainment was quit good, Provided again by the two young ladies and the resident duo called the players who where excellent and very professional. The staff at this hotel were excellent and very friendly and certain knew many of the guests from their previous visits. The hotel is on a hill but only about 50 meters from a bus stop which will take to the center of Funchal which takes about 10 minutes to get there the fare is 1.90 euros each way but you can get tickets from reception which cost 1.80 each way and a time table. This is an Adults only hotel and the majority of our fellow guest,s were elderly but very good company. The hotel is in a quite part of Funchal but there are bars and restaurants in easy walking distance The white house pub is about 300 meters away and was popular with many people we spoke to. The walk to the Lido takes about 20 minutes at a steady pace and there is a promenade with bars and restaurants there, but it down hill most of the way. A taxi from Funchal center costs about 6 euros.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are best and a bit bigger than the inland rooms which may be over the service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    612
    166
    41
    13
See reviews for
56
1,524
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for a week at the start of November. We had never been to Madeira and we wondered if it was the right choice. Well it was wonderful. A fantastic 4 star hotel, probably worth 4+ or with a few extras it could be 5 star. The staff are brilliant, the hotel is spotless and the food is very good quality. We paid for a sea view and it was well worth it, the views are fantastic. We watched the cruise ships coming in and the activities of Funchal. It is on a hill which you must be aware of if you find walking difficult. To overcome it there is a bus stop outside and taxis are plentiful. The weather was lovely so we used the open-top, hop on and off bus, The yellow line ticket lasts 48 hours and follows 2 routes giving you a lot of the area to see, A bus stop is near the hotel.when coming back. We enjoyed half board and as the food was very good we only had a light lunch when we were out. We used the White House pub down the road a few days, a very good pub. The entertainment team and Paula from Thomsons are excellent. Some of the best entertainment we have enjoyed. We did Tai Chi or Pilates most mornings, fantastic in the sunken garden under a blue sky.
I could carry on telling you about our holiday but suffice to say everything was great. If you choose Madeira seriously consider the Savoy Garden.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at the Savoy Gardens this November. Because it was our honeymoon and I had alerted both Thomson and the hotel (and provided proof - quite right!), they kindly upgraded us, and provided some sparkling wine and a fruit platter in our room - we couldn't have been more thrilled!

The rooms aren't ready when you arrive at the hotel, but of course the hotel is at the mercy of the incoming and outgoing flights, so this is never going to change. We just chilled out with a drink at the bar, but there were some getting a bit snippy about it. I find getting stressed for something so trivial when you START your holiday really does start your relaxation off on the back foot, so why worry?

Very well equipped rooms. They provide towels for your bath/shower, as well as spares in the wardrobe for any swimming/hot tub needs. There's a safe you program yourself. A fridge. A hairdryer. A hospitality tray (remember - only one lot per week - take your own, we did - there's also a supermarket close by and that fridge I mentioned) A HUGE bed. A huge room. Everything you need in a hotel room, basically. Even a good selection of English channels should you so desire. There was a spa and a hairdresser, but we didn't use these. There was also a room showing proper British TV (a few were watching Strictly), but that isn't for us either. There's also a games room and an outdoor games section, where I got whipped at giant draughts. That'll be the last time I help him! The hot tub up on the roof is wonderful, and the honesty bar a nice touch (for anyone not as honest as everyone else - there is CCTV)

The rooms at the back do have small balconies, but how much time do you spend on your balcony? We were in a seaview room with it's bigger balconies, and did enjoy the balcony somewhat, but enjoyed the rooftop loungers and the poolside loungers, and the island even more.

So, to the staff. The wonderful, fabulous, hard working and hospitable staff. The divine, happy, probably underpaid, smiley, helpful, immaculate, overworked staff. From housekeeping to Chef, to waiters, to bar staff, to night porters to reception. You are all brilliant. Special thanks to a few members who made our holiday more than memorable - Luis and Gregorio, in the restaurant (as well as Baptiste and the ever smiling Joao), Carlos, Mathilde and another older gentleman whose name escapes me (sorry) in the bar, and the lovely ladies (and especially the gentleman - sorry about continually pinching your corkscrew and forgetting to bring it back!!!!) on reception. Our housekeeper also did a fabulous job. All the staff were always smiley, always helpful, and always asking how your day was etc. The best team. The hotel is lucky to have them, and we cannot thank you all (the ones not named too!!) enough. Thank you thank you.

The swimming pool is cold. In fact, it is "squeal like an 8 year old girl" freezing, but in 25 degree November heat, it is also refreshing (once you're in!). It was also like a private pool as so few people go in, so that was a bonus.

I'm not a fan of buffets in any way shape or form, but I really could have done another week of the buffets here, quite happily. You sanitise your hands before breakfast and dinner, but I liked this - it is a buffet after all, and I have seen some people's ideas of hygiene, so this was a great idea!.You could always find something to tickle your fancy (or a few somethings!), and there was PLENTY of choice. The themed nights were something we both dreaded, but they were just themes of food, and very well executed, no singing and dancing or anything "themey". Breakfast was much the same choice-wise - very good. The omelette Chef in a morning was a delight, and his omelettes were perfection. well done to the entire kitchen team.

So - in summary - excellent hotel, no problems, and wonderful staff.

Madeira itself is very hilly. I cannot stress this enough. But this is a geographical thing, and if you don't like it, don't go! We walked almost everywhere but after one particularly interesting day we got a TukTuk from the marina to the hotel. It was brilliant and I have to admit to reverting to that 8 year old girl I mentioned earlier!

There are loads of things to do in Madeira. I would shy away from the Thomson excursions, these were hugely overpriced compared to what we got in town (there's a great place just behind Reid's Palace which does most of them, or a place in the Lido area - go down the hill and turn right from the hotel). The Thomson reps do their job very well, upselling them at the welcome meeting "it's all insured and you get a complimentary drink", but I'd rather have a 50% reduction and the insurance thanks all the same. I'm sure the Thomson excursions are great, I didn't go on any, so can't comment, but they were massively overpriced.

Paula the rep works incredibly hard and does a very good job. I overheard her dealing with a "complaint" and she handled it incredibly well, with good grace. Frankly the complainer really needed to take a look at themselves, but I guess that's what you get sometimes. Paula, take more than one day off, please, it is deserved! The rest of the team were all happy and smiley and willing to help. We tested the entertainment on one night, but it isn't really our thing so we left quite quickly. Not because of the calibre of the entertainment, just because it doesn't really float our boat.

The absolute highlight is - NO CHILDREN. No offence to parents/families/kids, but we don't have any, aren't having any, and like a nice peaceful time. It also meant the pool was almost a private pool for us, but it was also nice and quiet, which was just lovely.

If you like a holiday away from children and noise, and appreciate a hard working team in a beautiful environment - this is the place for you. If you like a whinge and a moan, just leave them alone and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: We spent an evening with friends in one of the suites, and these were lovely, with a lounge and a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bigjuicygrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Savoy Gardens for a week on 11th - 19th November and had a wonderful holiday. The staff were very friendly and helpful the hotel itself is immaculately clean. The views from our room were amazing and although we were on a steep hill there were regular buses and taxis to take you into into the town centre. All the good things mentioned by others are true and more. This is a great hotel and we will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in November 2013 and absolutely loved it.

Hotel was spotlessly clean everywhere we went (even the outside toilets by the pool). We used the pool once but was FREEZING so none of that for us. A lot of people did use the pool though. There is an honesty bar (no cash - just write what drinks you had down on the pad!), Jacuzzi (very nice) & Rooftop Terrace. Lovely up there with incredible views. There were 3 bars and they were excellent although very, very expensive. No complaints by us though as was to be expected and still cheaper than having a drink in England!! The evening entertainment room was a little dark and musky but great fun and all of the staff are really friendly. The Thomson Entertainment Team were great (Laura, Teri (who started the same day that we arrived) & The Players Duo. The girls were fantastic, welcoming and sang incredibly well. The Players Duo are one off the best live twosomes that I have heard. Enough said!! We ate in the restaurant everyday. Yes, you are directed to use some hand sanitizer when you first enter but what's the problem with that? Can only be a good thing in our opinion. Food was good, varied and warm. The lamb was especially good. Good selection for breakfast with a live chef station for freshly cooked omlettes every morning, Again, no complaints here.

We stayed in Suite 707. WOW!! It was huge. Fresh Fruit and Madeira Wine on arrival. Seperate Living Room Area and enormous balcony. Spotlessly clean all week without fail. One of the most comfortable rooms we have stayed in. I cannot recommend this room enough if you have the choice!! There is a free fridge in the room so I would recommend popping down to the supermarket for a few beers, milk etc. Also free safe in the room.

We use the spa for a special offer massage and it was very good (albeit somewhat brief). Very relaxing all the same.

There is a TV and Internet room for those that wish (free of charge) but there is free WIFI throughout the hotel so we didn't use this. Cards, games etc available from Reception plus there is a large games area outside where activities were run (happy to announce that I am now The World Madeiran French Boules Champion!). Daily quizzes etc ran by the girls. Great fun if they could get enough people to play. The team do not push people into taking part in anything. All very laid back. You are given a sheet on arrival telling you what's on and you just turn up if you want to take part.

Madeira itself is beautiful but VERY STEEP!! Be warned!! We got about ok but was hard going in the midday sun. We walked along The Lido and into Funchal. Fantastic sites along the way with shops, cafes & bars aplenty. We went on one of the Jeep Adventure Tours. Amazing value at 35 Euros each. I would personally choose these over the Thomson Tours as they are a lot more personal. Pick up a leaflet from Paula (Rep) on arrival. She can book these tours for you too.

In summary, we cannot fault this hotel. It was wonderful and best of all........................NO KIDS!!!!

Room Tip: If you can try and get Suite 707. It was superb. Any of the front facing (sea view) rooms will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt_Wyatt_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We chose this hotel a little at random but were attracted by the idea of a Couples hotel where there would not be young families with children (no offence meant to any young families with children but we like a peaceful hotel). Thomson's transfer arrangements from the airport could have been improved, but the hotel was fine.
Our room was spacious and comfortable (although the large double bed had been created by putting two singles together so that there was a slight ridge in the centre which one sometimes encountered unexpectedly turning over in the middle of the night. We had a side room with a pleasant view over Funchal. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, with a small additional charge for resupply which is fair enough. There was also a charge for bathrobes which I found slightly irritating.
We chose to go half board, which turned out to be a good decision. There are no restaurants very close to the hotel, all involve a short walk at least. The meals themselves were very good. The breakfast buffet was copious and varied, and the evening buffet changed each evening. The food was freshly prepared and the staff very efficiently and unobtrusively cleared away and replenished. There was a good selection of Portuguese wines (much underrated in my opinion), and we particularly enjoyed the Colombo red from Madeira itself.
There are the usual entertainments, exercise classes, quizzes, music in the evenings, none of which particularly interested us.
There are regular buses into Funchal town. Anyone with walking difficulties should be aware, however, that the streets to walk down to the main road are uncomfortably steep.
All in all a good hotel and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel 4th November for a week, we had a great room side sea view,
food was brilliant, staff all helpful. We had great weather about 22 degrees each day, we
went with Thomson Holidays, they were very helpful, we did two full days trips and a
half day, they were all value for money.

Room Tip: 412, corner room side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing