We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“birthday holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

we enjoyed our stay at this hotel staff all very friendly and all spoke very good english. the entertainment on an evening was very good by the four resident thompsons staff. food was excellent and plenty of choice

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It is particularly nice to know that you chose to stay at Savoy Gardens Hotel for your birthday. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future
Warm wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    622
    167
    45
    13
See reviews for
59
1,552
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (880)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here in June the weather was perfect for us, the view from the hotel fantastic, the service second to none, the entertainment was excellent, especially Lisa and Dom ( think that was their names, but all the staff were really helpful, the meals were great and no kids....wonderful, excursions that we went on aided by the great weather were well worth doing, but you maybe could have got them cheaper if you shopped around, but we both agree we'll be back....sooooooooon I hope lol

Room Tip: Best views from sea facing rooms, we were on the 7th floor, which was great but no balcony to sit ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alangdavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Savoy Gardens Hotel last June. We very much appreciate your kind words and please know that we will share these with all the team here.
We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
With best wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to Madeira for the first time in June for two weeks. At the end of the stay, we could have stayed another week! The town of Funchal is undergoing major reconstruction following the flooding of a few years ago. It has gardens and plenty of attractions. The works will be complete in 2015. It is welcoming with an excellent climate.

The Savoy Gardens ia a boutique hotel, without the exra price. It is quite small with plenty of facilities, unlike larger sites where you pay for facilities that you will never use.

The staff are ultra professional, helpful and welcoming. The flight from Gatwick was early and with the 35 minutes transfer from the airport, we arrived around noon - a good time for an early lunch in the bar and around the pool area, before the rooms were available from 2pm.

We had a sea view on the 4th floor with great views of the harbour. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and good facilities. Everything was spotless.The balcony was secluded.

The buffet meals were excellent in a spacious restaurant, but beware of the steps if sitting at the lower level. The food was good with the following days menu displayed. If you feel like a change at the evening, there are good restaurants close to the hotel, particularly a Madeiran Restaurant called 'Ca Te Esperor', with an excellent menu and service just 5 minutes walk away; and just slightly further away, an Indian restaurant called 'The Delhi'.

Funchal town centre and the old town is just 30 minutes walk away . The walk back is somewhat longer as it is - Up Hill; and Funchal does HILLS! Excellent for the heart muscles, but if you want to take it a bit easier, there are plenty of Taxis. There is a bus service just outside the hotel but it is not that reguar [35minutes - 1 hour] so you need to plan with the help of the excellent hotel staff.

The major attraction of Funchal is the climate; the major attraction of the hotel is - the staff.

We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view with a high floor - preferably the 6th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Savoy Gardens Hotel. We consistently aim to offer "Savoy" renowned levels of hospitality and we were delighted that you found the staff to be both professional and welcoming.
We do hope to welcome you back again for another memorable stay with us.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely sea view from our room which was very comfortable good size bed and a good size room.food in the restaurant was very good plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal.Hotel kept very clean staff are very nice.Thomson rep Paula very good and knowledgeable .Entertainment was very good Lisa Don Adele and Steven work very hard.Funchal is a very beautiful town with lots of lovely gardens good walks and lovely restaurants and bars.Lovely hot tub on the 7th floor with great views and nice sun loungers

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank patricia55Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your charming review of The Savoy Gardens Hotel. We consistently strive to maintain our high levels of service and were particularly pleased to read that you found everything to your liking.
We will be pleased to pass on your lovely feedback to the team here and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My review is going to be a bit lengthy, but it is certainly honest.
Hotel - great rooms with an excellent sea view. A high room is definitely recommended. All amenities worked fine - although €13 for a movie is slightly excessive! Room service was good, however. It once did we smell bleach or polish so I'm guessing they literally just make the bed. On arrival you are greeted with a full tea tray - this however is not replenished for free and I feel that when staying for 2 weeks this should be included.
The staff are friendly and the waiters/bar men were on a whole great. Drinks are rather expensive - a bottle of wine in the hotel costs around €13, yet walk to the shop 5 minutes away and the same bottle is €4!! The rep - Paula was knowledgable of the area, but only on the Thomson tours which are strongly pushed. These were a lot more expensive than other companies so we only booked one trip (catamaran) through her and the rest independently. The entertainment team were great. At times cheesy, but never a dull moment (sometimes laughing at them not with them). I have to say adele is AMAZING and way too talented to only be singing in a hotel.
Food - this was a massive issue for us. Breakfast was, yes, repetitive, but mainly not too bad. Dinner however was NOT acceptable in a 4* hotel. Over cooked pre frozen slop is the best way to describe it. Dining out is a massive part of our holiday and it got to the point where we dreaded dinner. There is a lot of variety and different themed nights, but each had the same blandness and horrible consistency. To say one of the reps used to be chef in a fancy place, I would have thought this would have been improved. We ended up eating out half of the evenings which is unacceptable having paid for half board.
Funchal and indeed Madeira itself are highly recommended. I wouldn't go for the weather as it's cloudy a lot, still warm, but I would highly recommend tours and trips. We would stay in another hotel if we were to return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Doolallylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guests
Thank you for sharing your experiences and views of your recent stay with us. We do value our guests' comments and their concerns are of great importance to us, so please rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in order to ensure that our service is constantly kept to the highest level meeting our guests’ expectations and needs at all times.
Once again thank you for taking time to review The Savoy Gardens Hotel and we are very sorry that you did not find your experiences as enjoyable as other reviewers have.
We do hope you will visit us in the future as we would be honoured to serve you again and to provide you with an overall positive experience, similar to those guests who have commented previously.
Warm wishes and Muito Obrigado !
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I booked a weeks stay here with Thomson. On arrival we were asked to wait about an hour and a half for our room and our bags stayed outside of the hotel. This was ok and we didn't mind sitting and relaxing by the pool.
Room:
When we got to our room we found that it was clean, modern and very comfortable which was great. We had a mountain view on the fifth floor which was ok. Good air conditioning and a nice radio in the bathroom! There were some faults with the room though.... hairdryer - kept over heating after a few minutes so drying my hair took forever. The hotel specifies that you cannot use any heated electrical appliances, e.g. hair straighteners! Towels cannot be dried on the balcony even on the chairs!
Restaurant/Bar:
We had booked our holiday pretty late on and hadn't realised that the hotel specified that men should wear trousers rather than smart shorts to go for dinner. When I questioned this (politely) at reception, simply wanting to know if this was every night I was abruptly told by the Thomson rep that this is advertised in the brochure and I should have known, then told to go the market to buy trousers! Which left me speechless!!! The manageress was also there and joined the rep in telling me to go to the market! Fortunately my husband had one pair with him but the whole experience of being rejected from the dining room and then the conversation at reception left me feeling that I regretted booking my holiday here. What was then unfair was the number of women wearing very short shorts to dinner and this is acceptable! Beyond our clothing incident, the dining room was comfortable and the food was nice with a good variety of options, unfortunately we only ate in for four nights out of seven even though we had paid for half board as the bar also requires men to wear trousers so we preferred to go out! Breakfast again was ok, but we got a bit fed up of 'British' breakfasts (baked beans, fried eggs) after a couple of days. We only saw the entertainment once, which was ok (the staff are talented) if not a little depressing with the choice of songs.
Pool:
The pool area was fine, comfortable sunbeds which are plentiful. At times the pool was busy but everyone appeared to get a lounger. The pool was cold so normally empty! Ball games are not permitted yet a rep came around trying to set some ball games up....
Location:
Anywhere in Madeira is within a stones throw of a big hill as is the hotel. There is a bus stop down one hill and taxis can be called for. However if like us you like a relaxing walk then this hotel is not for you! A walk into Funchal is down a few steep hills and takes between 25 and 40 minutes depending on where you want to be. It is the return journey that is a struggle, up many steep hills so certainly not relaxing. After three days of walking up and down the hills, even downhill hurt our calves! There are a number of bars around the hotel, one being Qasbah which is on the sea front about 15 minutes walk away in the Lido area. Would recommend having a drink here.
This review is not in anyway saying that the hotel is terrible because it is not, simply some experiences stopped this holiday being as relaxing as we would like it to have been.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be better than a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hull_jolly_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. While it is heartening to read that you liked the Savoy Garden Hotel, we were very sorry to learn that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us.
With regard to the dress code in our restaurant and bars, we do endeavour to maintain the expected high standards for this type of hotel and encourage "Smart Causal" especially at dinner time and in the evening in the bars. In general, our guests wish above all to conform to this rule and we were sorry that you were not made aware of this prior to your arrival. We do thank you for your positive comments in regards to the good food options on offer in the dining room, the room cleanliness and comfort as well as our spacious pool areas.
We sincerely hope that this incident will not deter you from returning to the Savoy Gardens Hotel as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
With warm regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely Hotel clean, food, great staff the entertainment was fine. Adele was great she can really sing (opera night is really recommended)We used the local bus to get to Monte Palace so we could stay a bit longer as last year we went on the trip and we were having to rush.We had a wonderful holiday and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view and and mountain view Fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1JenTheHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acorreia, Manager at Sensimar Savoy Gardens, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Savoy Gardens on your return visit to Madeira. We do appreciate your preference and were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again, so much so that you are now planning a return visit next year. With this in mind, we all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay.
Best regards and Muito Obrigado !
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing