We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountainous walks and friendly people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mountainous walks and friendly people”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My husband and myself had a weeks holiday at this hotel end May beginning June 2009. It had just been refurnished and designated a Thomson Gold Hotel at the beginning of May. It was beautiful, large rooms with a small balcony and fabulous uninterrupted sea views from the front of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel had entertainment each evening which was very inclusive of audience participation. There was a pub down the road that was pretty good too but you had to negotiate the hill back to the hotel on return - and sometimes you just didn't feel like it after mountaineering the streets of Funchal. Food was fairly good though there could have been a little more main course choice in the evening. All the commual areas were really well presented and there was a Spa in the basement area which was really good. If you like swimming the pool was a very decent size and there was always room on the sunbeds. If you go join Clare's orientation trip on your first day to get the hang of things it was well worth it - and it was free. Beauttiful weather with a lovely breeze all the time. We also met loads of friendly people. Fabulous hotel and fabulous holiday Selma and Bill

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newagetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    659
    177
    50
    18
See reviews for
71
1,653
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The room was very spacious and clean. The staff at this hotel were exceptional, they were always very helpful and the waiting staff worked hard but always had a smile and time to speak to us. They even made time to help us along with their language.
There was plenty going on within the hotel entertainment wise (but we were always out and about exploring the Island) so can't really comment on this.
There was plenty of sitting areas around the hotel, the best bit for us was the roof top it was always a quite spot to sit and relax.
The location was very easy to get to and was central really for travelling around the Island but was situated on a steep hill and was quite a walk up to it (a lot of older people would walk down to the sea front but would get a Taxi back). It was a lovely walk into Funchal town centre though once you got onto the flat front.
We have no negative thoughts on this hotel and would return again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We have just enjoyed a weeks stay at the Savoy Gardens. What a lovely hotel. The room was large and spotlessly clean with an enormous double bed. There was a good variety of food at breakfast and dinner, so good in fact that we have both arrived home carrying a few extra pounds !
We did not try out the swimming pool but did notice that it was cleaned everyday by a lovely young man who was very helpful on the one day that it rained, advising us not to drive too fast and to avoid the mountain roads as heavy rain can cause rock falls.
This was our first holiday in Madeira so we were not sure what to expect. We hired a car for 4 days so we could explore the island at our leisure, but car hire is not necessary if you don't like driving abroad as the buses are good and there are plenty of coach operators offering excursions.
Every member of staff at the Savoy Gardens that we came across during our stay were friendly and helpful, this includes the Thompson reps John and Hayley !
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toodlypeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

We stayed here for a 4 night break in January. The hotel is immaculate, comfortable and well presented. We had booked 2 mountain view rooms - but were given sea views. Ther are lots of restaurants near the hotel offering excellent value.
The only downside to the hotel that we found extremely irritating was "tea and coffee making facilities provided" - yes- but only the first day coffee sachets are free - after that it is €5 per day. It seems shortsighted to cause grief for such a little thing.
But that apart, a lovely place to stay (next time we will take a pot of coffee)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Coffee making facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flodizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Reading some of the other reviews, like some others, I was not sure what I would find. What I found was a hotel that was spottlessly clean and tidy and staff that could not do enough for us. The hotel is owned by the Savoy Resorts group and the standard is way up to their expectations.
Upon arrival the receptionist gave us a map of the resort pointing out places of interest and giving information about the hotel. When unpacking my wife found that there was not enough hangers for all the clothes that she had taken, no surprise there! A visit to the reception and we were immediately given 10 hangers. The security safe in room could not be set and I mentioned it as we were discovering what the hotel had to offer. A senior member of staff went straight to our room to re-set the code.
We were only bed and breakfast and found the morning buffet had a varied choice of 'English breakfast', fresh fruit, cereals, rolls/bread, juices, coffee and a selection of teas. You were really spoilt for choice.
We found all the staff, the reception, maintenance, bar, security, chambermaids, dining room and the pool attendant friendly and helpful. They would always smile and acknowledge us.
The pool area is kept spotless with sun loungers and sun shades, the hotel also supply beach towels for the pool which are changed daily. The pool is heated to 24/25c.
The hotel is situated close to many restaurants and walking distance to the Lido. It is a short walk to the main road where regular buses take you 10minutes into the old town. This is not a hotel for those with walking difficulties as it is on the second road level from the main road, with access to each level a very, very steep walk. This is the only down point I could find, which is really not the fault of the hotel.
If you are fit it is worth staying at the Hotel Savoy Gardens.

  • Liked — The hotel felt welcoming and was kept clean and tiday
  • Disliked — The steep walk up to the hotel.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 777Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Thankfully we only spent one night in this hotel...It is nicely decorated and very clean and contemporary. BUT the first problem we encountered was with the air conditioning that didn't work. We called down, someone came up, pressed a few switches and all was well. No iron or ironing board and bath towels teeny. The food at the pool bar was very nice though, much better than the Royal Savoy and we didn't mind paying what we did for the food. The swimming was no way in a million years heated. It was freezing, it was very hot in Funchal last week so getting in the pool should be refreshing but it was like being stabbed all over by 50 knives!

We had another problem with our air conditioning, it would only stay on for 30 seconds and would only pump out warm air. My partner phoned reception once, twice, three times and still not one came, he went down to demand we change rooms (I wasn't very well), he was told how to fix the air con and came back up to the room, 5 mins later an engineer comes in who could not speak one word of english, now we wouldn't expect them to be fluent in english, but if you work in hotels, English is kind of a necessity, at least basic. We couldn't explain to him what was wrong, and he couldn't explain to us what to do, so he just pointed and walked out, he never came back, we tried to fix it ourselves but just settled with cool/warm air for the rest of the night.
Plus side is the breakfast was very nice, walking distance (though up some killer hills) to some abolsutely lovely restaurants, one we would definitely recommend is Casa Madierian, best meal we've ever had.

  • Liked — Bath
  • Disliked — busy road and building works
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alison28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Petherton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Have just returned from a one week stay at the Savoy Gardens 15 - 22 September 2008.

The Good
Savoy Gardens has been refurbished to a high standard by the Savoy Group. The public areas including the pool area are spotless as was our bedroom and bathroom. The hotel has been styled in a contemporary fashion, the bedrooms (all with efficient but at times noisy aircon) are spacious and well insulated against noise, with ample storage, flat screen tv with channels in a number of languages, and a fridge (mini bar if required) for storage of water etc. A room safe (unsecured) is also available at no extra charge.There is a bath with shower over, WC, large sink and bidet and fm radio. Towels are provided in the room for use by the heated outdoor swimming pool which has sun loungers and parasols.

The Bad
Whilst touting itself as a four star hotel there is no concerige service or coutesy transport provided. The bedroom had no ironing/pressing facility and the only provision was paying a premium for items to be pressed and waiting 24hrs whilst the items are sent to the Royal Savoy. Robes were not provided and it was a challenge obtaining tea and coffee facilities for use in the room - a cracked cup was not replaced for the duration of my stay. Towels were thin and small. Breakfast was buffet style, only UHT milk availabe for cereal and hot drinks. Evening meal at 22 Euros was disappointing and over priced. Poolside drinks and snacks were expensive in comparision to local bars and restaurants.

The Ugly
Construction noise from the adjacent plot on weekdays made a snooze by the pool impossible as did, at times, the constant traffic noise from the busy road at the front of the hotel. No late check out or change of room is available as the hotel is always full!?!?

Overall we enjoyed out stay at the hotel, the negatives I have outlined did not spoil out time in Madeira but are facts for you to consider if choosing the Savoy Gardens.

There was no evidence of facilites for children at the hotel.

  • Liked — Clean and contemporary styled hotel in a good location.
  • Disliked — Building noise and inability of the staff to say 'of course, no problem'
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank C0rnish_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 86 in Funchal
2,274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing